$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

3 stars
301 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
127 reviews
20th anniversary

I informed them this would be for our 20th anniversary and asked for a room with a view. Well... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 24, 2014
Beach 2013

I lived in Charleston SC for many years and always thought it would be nice to stay at this hotel.... See full review

  • Delightful Danny
  • Jun 19, 2013
Charleston hotel overlooking Ashley River with free shuttle to sites
The Holiday Inn Charleston – Riverview hotel is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the historic district. Guests enjoy an outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and free parking. Kids eat free when accompanied by a paying adult at the full-service restaurant on the Holiday Inn Charleston – Riverview hotel's top floor. Business guests make use of the free high-speed wireless Internet access and two meeting rooms.

 

 

Highlights
  • Full-service restaurant
  • Free parking, shuttle to downtown historic district
  • Fitness center
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Rooms
The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel features 178 rooms (including four accessible) and four suites on 14 floors. Smoking is permitted in some rooms. Rooms with views of the Ashley River and historic Charleston area are available upon request. Some connecting rooms are available. All accommodations include coffee makers, iron/ironing board and hairdryers. Suites boast king beds, wet bars, kitchenettes, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel is FEMA-approved for government travelers.

 

Features
The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel provides a free scheduled shuttle to the historic district. Outdoor parking is free. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool (seasonal) and all rooms have free high-speed wireless Internet access. The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel provides a fitness center and guest laundry facilities.

 

Dining
The Harborview restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hot breakfast and lunch buffets are on the menu, and there is a Sunday afternoon brunch. Children 12 and under eat free with a paying adult. Guests at the Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview also enjoy the High Spirits Lounge. Room service is available from morning until late evening.

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.8 mi/19 km)
  • Adjacent to U.S. 17
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Garden (12.2 mi/19.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 80 people
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • 24-hour business center with computer, fax, copier and Internet access

 

Policies and fees
No pets (service animals allowed).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7813 -79.9647
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 12.00, MI; Myrtle Beach Metropolitan, (MYR), 119.00, MI; Savannah International Airport, (SAV), 109.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Theater99: 1.9 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 2.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Theater99: 1.9 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 2.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 2.1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 2.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 2.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 7.3 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 9.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 12.9 mi

Dining

Harborview Restaurant and Lounge
The Harborview Restaurant and Lounge offers fine dining and lighter fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Bring your kids and enjoy a delicious meal while overlooking the river. Kids 12 and under eat free with paying adult! Open 6:30am to 11:00am, 11:30
Waffle House
American Breakfast
Harborview Restaurant & Lounge
The newly renovated Harborview Restaurant & Lounge has been refurnished with new cloth and leather lounge chairs. We've mounted 4 new 40-plus inch flat screen TVs to catch your favorite team or even check the forecast, or you could peek out the window and

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 127
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
westraveler
Sioux Falls, SD
Oct 9, 2012

Easy to spot, easy to access

The circular 14 story building is easy to spot as one approaches Charleston. Access to the interstate is not difficult. The rooms are small because of the shape of the building. The air conditioning was somewhat noisy. There was a plumbing problem in my room which was reported in the morning and again in the afternoon before it was taken care of. The hotel offers a free shuttle to downtown Charleston which is a plus. One does not have to deal with narrow streets and lack of available parking. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emmkenn
va beach
Aug 21, 2012

I would go back

Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, they followed up on every aspect of their service with a phone call, only problem was there was no safe in the room, other than that, it was brilliant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roberta from PA
Pa
Mar 2, 2012

Seightseeing Trip

Wanted to avoid high downtown prices. yet have a nice room. This hotel fit the bill. Location was convenient to downtown, plantations and beach. The view of the water was nice. The shuttle and free parking were good perks. Staff were friendly, room was pleasant and clean. Restaurant was ok, but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York and Ann Arbor
Apr 16, 2011

Holiday Inn Riverview

We most enjoyed eating in the hotel dining room - we were tired after house-hunting every day - they had an excellent view of the Ashley River, little white boats, the buildings across, etc. Just lovely. That was the best part of the hotel. Beds were very comfortable; room large. Maid didn't come until very late one day; we were out 9-3 and still not cleaned. I took a nap, then called them at 5 and it finally got done. The wait staff in the restaurant seemed rather inexperienced and a bit awkward, but they gave us a free breakfast the last day so can't complain! :-) We also had trouble with the phone; one of their managers was very attentive helping us, even coming to the room to check on things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madelon, the traveler
Sherman Oaks, Calif
Oct 25, 2010

What a great staff, and location.

When I went to the front desk, such a fast and great late night check in. They gave me a wonderful resturant for dinner and breakfast to eat at. They both we unreal. All in all I really enjoyed my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Glass Onion for dinner. Three Little Birds for brerakfast.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apex7z
Galveston, TX
Sep 5, 2009

Excellent hotel for the price.

The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, and truly went above and beyond to make me feel welcome. The free shuttle that runs every two hours into downtown is a convenient money-saver. The bed was very comfortable and well-stocked with a variety of pillows, and the room was decently clean. Other than serving sub-par cheesecake, this hotel perfectly met my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 1, 2007

Accommodations Suited Need

My Niece was getting married at the Citadel in Charleston, South Carolina, with a reception afterwards at the Charleston Marina. I booked a room at the Holiday Inn-Charleston Riverview to be close to the reception and so that I did not have to drive far after having consumed alcohol. The hotel was adequate for my needs and I did not use the dining or other amenities offered. The staff had my reservations and check-in went smoothly. A staff member provided directions and a map on how to get from the hotel to the wedding location. I have stayed in hotels all over the United States and this one was no better or worse than others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Historic Charleston, South Carolina The Citadel Medical University of South Carolina Charleston Air Force Base Charleston Naval Base

Back to menu Return to top

Change search