$97 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

3 stars
301 SAVANNAH HWY, CHARLESTON, SC 29407
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
197 reviews
Beach 2013

I lived in Charleston SC for many years and always thought it would be nice to stay at this hotel.... See full review

  • Delightful Danny
  • Jun 19, 2013
It's the people that count

The HIRiverview as a structure needs some updating in in-room amenities as well as an updated... See full review

  • Charles from IL
  • May 27, 2014
Charleston hotel overlooking Ashley River with free shuttle to sites
The Holiday Inn Charleston – Riverview hotel is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the historic district. Guests enjoy an outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and free parking. Kids eat free when accompanied by a paying adult at the full-service restaurant on the Holiday Inn Charleston – Riverview hotel's top floor. Business guests make use of the free high-speed wireless Internet access and two meeting rooms.

 

 

Highlights
  • Full-service restaurant
  • Free parking, shuttle to downtown historic district
  • Fitness center
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Rooms
The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel features 178 rooms (including four accessible) and four suites on 14 floors. Smoking is permitted in some rooms. Rooms with views of the Ashley River and historic Charleston area are available upon request. Some connecting rooms are available. All accommodations include coffee makers, iron/ironing board and hairdryers. Suites boast king beds, wet bars, kitchenettes, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel is FEMA-approved for government travelers.

 

Features
The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel provides a free scheduled shuttle to the historic district. Outdoor parking is free. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool (seasonal) and all rooms have free high-speed wireless Internet access. The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel provides a fitness center and guest laundry facilities.

 

Dining
The Harborview restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hot breakfast and lunch buffets are on the menu, and there is a Sunday afternoon brunch. Children 12 and under eat free with a paying adult. Guests at the Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview also enjoy the High Spirits Lounge. Room service is available from morning until late evening.

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.8 mi/19 km)
  • Adjacent to U.S. 17
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Garden (12.2 mi/19.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 80 people
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • 24-hour business center with computer, fax, copier and Internet access

 

Policies and fees
No pets (service animals allowed).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7813 -79.9647
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 12.00, MI; Savannah International Airport, (SAV), 109.00, MI; Myrtle Beach Metropolitan, (MYR), 119.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Theater99: 1.9 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 2.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Theater99: 1.9 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 2.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 2.1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 2.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 2.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 7.3 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 9.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 12.9 mi

Dining

Harborview Restaurant and Lounge
The Harborview Restaurant and Lounge offers fine dining and lighter fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Bring your kids and enjoy a delicious meal while overlooking the river. Kids 12 and under eat free with paying adult! Open 6:30am to 11:00am, 11:30
Waffle House
American Breakfast
Harborview Restaurant & Lounge
The newly renovated Harborview Restaurant & Lounge has been refurnished with new cloth and leather lounge chairs. We've mounted 4 new 40-plus inch flat screen TVs to catch your favorite team or even check the forecast, or you could peek out the window and

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (197)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 197
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yellow nut
Business
shallotte, nc
Jul 19, 2013

disappointed

guess we expected something better with it being holiday inn but we were dissapointed very much. the wifi service didnt work, we had to go to service desk to get our key to work on the second day. vanity light was the only light switch to make light come on in the shower/toliet area which would shine in the bedroom area. we do not intend to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K in Atl
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Needs some work but staff friendly

The rooms look more rennovated in pictures. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is a little difficult for entry and leaving the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
godizgr8
Business
GA
Mar 6, 2012

Great View

The room was nice, the people were nice, the view was excellent and the food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JupiterTideAdam
Business
charlotte, NC
Mar 7, 2011

Best value!

My band The Jupiter Tide was playing a show at the music farm and I wanted to make sure I was in top form. This room was perfect. Everything was clean, the staff was more than accommodating, and my show was better because I was well rested. The guests next door were insanely noisy at 3am, but that's not the hotel's fault. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out the view from the rooftop restaurant!

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JupiterTideAdam
Business
charlotte, NC
Mar 7, 2011

Best value!

My band The Jupiter Tide was playing a show at the music farm and I wanted to make sure I was in top form. This room was perfect. Everything was clean, the staff was more than accommodating, and my show was better because I was well rested. The guests next door were insanely noisy at 3am, but that's not the hotel's fault. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out the view from the rooftop restaurant!

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 2, 2008

Great views

If you enjoy a great view of Charleston and the water the extra money spent for a room with a view is worth it. However if you can't afford the extra money, a trip up to the dinning room / bar area gives you all the views you will need. The hotel has its own shuttle which was very easy to use and was free. If I am back in the area again I will book my stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many attractions and dinner/lunch opps in a wide range of prices and food choices to suite everyone.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 1, 2008

Nice Veiw

I was overall very satisfied with this hotel'Its a great location with shuttle service to downtown.I was somewhat dissatisfied with the age of the hotel'the elevators are slow and the balcony door is closed for guest safety,it would have been nice to open it and let some air in.for the price it was well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Aug 20, 2007

convenient location

The riverview holiday inn was conveniently located to all I needed to do. I enjoyed the views from the dining room. The morning hostess was extremely accomodating. I would have liked a mini frig in the room. I had opted the first days not to have it cleaned as I did not feel it needed it every day. The nex day it was cleaned The next day the cleaning staff knocked on my door and I informed them that I would going out in about an hour, thinking the room would be cleaned after I left.To my surprise the room had not been touched. I opted not to say anything just got some clean towels from the main desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping on King street was great. Being close to the college where my daughter and I attended orientation was great.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Aug 20, 2007

convenient location

The riverview holiday inn was conveniently located to all I needed to do. I enjoyed the views from the dining room. The morning hostess was extremely accomodating. I would have liked a mini frig in the room. I had opted the first days not to have it cleaned as I did not feel it needed it every day. The nex day it was cleaned The next day the cleaning staff knocked on my door and I informed them that I would going out in about an hour, thinking the room would be cleaned after I left.To my surprise the room had not been touched. I opted not to say anything just got some clean towels from the main desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping on King street was great. Being close to the college where my daughter and I attended orientation was great.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
May 18, 2007

Nice Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, Charleston, SC was a nice hotel. The room was a good size and had iron and board with very nice amenities. The hotel was in a good location, close to the downtown area and yet far enough away from the traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top