$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

3 stars
301 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
132 reviews
20th anniversary

I informed them this would be for our 20th anniversary and asked for a room with a view. Well... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 24, 2014
Beach 2013

I lived in Charleston SC for many years and always thought it would be nice to stay at this hotel.... See full review

  • Delightful Danny
  • Jun 19, 2013
Charleston hotel overlooking Ashley River with free shuttle to sites
The Holiday Inn Charleston – Riverview hotel is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the historic district. Guests enjoy an outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and free parking. Kids eat free when accompanied by a paying adult at the full-service restaurant on the Holiday Inn Charleston – Riverview hotel's top floor. Business guests make use of the free high-speed wireless Internet access and two meeting rooms.

 

 

Highlights
  • Full-service restaurant
  • Free parking, shuttle to downtown historic district
  • Fitness center
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Rooms
The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel features 178 rooms (including four accessible) and four suites on 14 floors. Smoking is permitted in some rooms. Rooms with views of the Ashley River and historic Charleston area are available upon request. Some connecting rooms are available. All accommodations include coffee makers, iron/ironing board and hairdryers. Suites boast king beds, wet bars, kitchenettes, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel is FEMA-approved for government travelers.

 

Features
The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel provides a free scheduled shuttle to the historic district. Outdoor parking is free. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool (seasonal) and all rooms have free high-speed wireless Internet access. The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel provides a fitness center and guest laundry facilities.

 

Dining
The Harborview restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hot breakfast and lunch buffets are on the menu, and there is a Sunday afternoon brunch. Children 12 and under eat free with a paying adult. Guests at the Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview also enjoy the High Spirits Lounge. Room service is available from morning until late evening.

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.8 mi/19 km)
  • Adjacent to U.S. 17
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Garden (12.2 mi/19.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 80 people
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • 24-hour business center with computer, fax, copier and Internet access

 

Policies and fees
No pets (service animals allowed).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Theater99: 1.9 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 2.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Theater99: 1.9 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 2.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 2.1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 2.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 2.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 7.3 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 9.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 12.9 mi

Dining

Harborview Restaurant and Lounge
The Harborview Restaurant and Lounge offers fine dining and lighter fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Bring your kids and enjoy a delicious meal while overlooking the river. Kids 12 and under eat free with paying adult! Open 6:30am to 11:00am, 11:30
Waffle House
American Breakfast
Harborview Restaurant & Lounge
The newly renovated Harborview Restaurant & Lounge has been refurnished with new cloth and leather lounge chairs. We've mounted 4 new 40-plus inch flat screen TVs to catch your favorite team or even check the forecast, or you could peek out the window and

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 30, 2008

Charleston Visit

The Holiday Inn Riverview sucked! They were doing construction work until 9pm the night my wife and I arrived. We had a busy day downtown, and came back to the room, and they were busy pounding nails, making all kinds of racket. My wife and I were very disappointed with our stay. I would not recommend this joint to anyone traveling. The only bright spot was the lounge, we were able to drink at a reasonable price and get drunk so we could ignore the rest of the visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba Gumps has great seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 21, 2007

convenient to highway

This was my first and last stay at this Holiday Inn. Room size (lack of) aside, the room, carpet, seats and bedcovers were damp the whole stay. There's mold all over the ceiling and walls and to top it all off we had a problem with our bathroom light-it wouldn't come on, it would come on, it wouldn't come on, etc. After, going down to the desk and informing them of the problem, they said maintenence would be right up. We waited in the room for over two hours and no one showed up. I informed the desk again and they said they were sorry, they had told maintenence the wrong room. It was time to go to bed now.So we took showers in the dark, for two days. Nothing was done to help us out. Everyone said they were sorry, but nothing was done-no compensation as the cards in the room says, no new room, nothing. I have had better stays and better service at $40 hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jean Freemont
Business
Savannah, Georgia
Jul 9, 2011

Do not stay here.

First of all the Californing Dreaming restaurant and Holiday Inn on Savannah Hwy both came recomended to me. I was highly disappointed with both places. The salads were not that big or was it anything tasty or special. The steak my honey ordered was so dry it looked like it had died a thousands deaths before being placed on the plate. The Long Island Ice Tea had no alcohol in it. I was expecting something strong and relaxing to drink after a long car ride, but evidently that was not going to happen for me. The Holiday Inn which was very dirty. There was old soap left over in the bathroom and pubic hair all over the place. I wanted to throw up! I was grossed out.. It was very confusing trying to get up Lockwood drive and back toward down town. I suggest to future travels to find a place on King street. Best Western and other lower brand hotels on King Street were much nicer, better neighborhood and a tad less expensive. Live and learn I guess. Do not stay at the Holiday Inn..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

My sweetie and I love to walk. Find yourself a parking lot and leave your car there. We walked for hours and hours every day and went in and out of the little shops and bars. The dining in Charleston is wonderful. You can dine on King Street, Meeting Street or anywhere by City Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K in Atl
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Needs some work but staff friendly

The rooms look more rennovated in pictures. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is a little difficult for entry and leaving the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yellow nut
Business
shallotte, nc
Jul 19, 2013

disappointed

guess we expected something better with it being holiday inn but we were dissapointed very much. the wifi service didnt work, we had to go to service desk to get our key to work on the second day. vanity light was the only light switch to make light come on in the shower/toliet area which would shine in the bedroom area. we do not intend to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ABML
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 23, 2013

Room was dirty

At first, our room didn't seem so bad. It smelled a bit, but that we could have lived with. But then the tub was clogged. When the maintenance guy came, he didn't come prepared, had to leave and come back. Then after he supposedly fixed it, if immediately clogged again (there was a problem with the stopper that we had to fix ourselves). Then there was a large black grease stain in the tub that no one ever came to fix. Then, to top it all off, there was blood on one of the comforters! Gross! They allowed us to switch rooms and the second was much better, but the experience was ruined by that point. The location was nice, but that's about the only great thing I can say about it :-/ I hate to give negative reviews, but we were truly disappointed with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2008

Location for view

The room was barely adequate. No closet and only one suitcase stand--no room for clothes or to place suitcases. Minimum room to maneuver around sink, and in bathroom. Toilet ran and difficult to flush. Found bugs in room. Great view from balcony window, however, window was extremely dirty and obstructed view. The hotel shuttle was a nice amenity, however, there were long waits between pick-ups, so wasted time in long run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to shopping and dining and tourist sites; parking garages and street parking available but at a minimum;

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 20, 2007

Great Hotel Staff Minus the MOLD issue

The Holiday Inn Riverview staff was superior, yet the room was lacking. All of the staff I spoke with prior to and during my stay were extremely helpful and kind. It is a shame that the dedication towards the guest is not focused a tiny bit on the guest rooms. Charleston is very humid in the summer months, and the hotel permanently locked the sliding balcony doors in the rooms for this reason. Unfortunately, the lack of a bathroom vent fan and no where for the steam to escape during and after a shower, the wallpaper and armoire were spotted with black and green mold. The room always had a smell of mildew. Things only got worse when we went to the restaurant upstairs. The view was one of the best in the city. A local baseball stadium and the Citadel are nestled on the opposite side of the river, as well as a great view of the Cooper River bridge in the distance. The spectacular view from above was paired with an even worse smell than the guest rooms. I think the hotel could benefit from a breath of fresh air. Please do not misunderstand: There was an awful smell, but the staff was more accommodating then any 5 star hotel I've ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several spots about 5 minutes South on Highway 17. It is a short drive, but all the locals hang out at a few bars clustered around Magnolia Road. There is something for everyone, less the traffic of tourists.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BK LOW COUNTRY STYLE
Business
Reston, VA
May 2, 2014

Great value for the price!!

Staff was incredibly nice, very helpful, and offered opinions of great restaurants and sites around Charleston. Definitely knew there surroundings. The free shuttle to downtown is wonderful to have and we used it everyday. The view and happy hour at the restaurant are great as well. Overall very nice hotel for what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Apr 10, 2010

Weekend Stay

The room and the location were great. However, the food on the top floor restaurant was just poor and the staff was not eager to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The view from the Bar on the top of the hotel is worth the stay. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top