$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

3 stars
View map of 301 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
128 reviews
Weekend Away

Awesome hotel in a PERFECT location. If you stay here (even if you don't), be sure to head to the... See full review

  • Zachary F.
  • Feb 13, 2015
just very romantic and informative with great Hotel.

The first moment we arrived, the staff was so friendly and helpful. Great view at top in the... See full review

  • Ahmet T.
  • Dec 30, 2014
The Holiday Inn Charleston – Riverview hotel is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the historic district. Guests enjoy an outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and free parking. Kids eat free when accompanied by a paying adult at the full-service restaurant on the Holiday Inn Charleston – Riverview hotel's top floor. Business guests make use of the free high-speed wireless Internet access and two meeting rooms.

 

 

Dining
The Harborview restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hot breakfast and lunch buffets are on the menu, and there is a Sunday afternoon brunch. Children 12 and under eat free with a paying adult. Guests at the Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview also enjoy the High Spirits Lounge. Room service is available from morning until late evening.

 

Rooms
The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel features 178 rooms (including four accessible) and four suites on 14 floors. Smoking is permitted in some rooms. Rooms with views of the Ashley River and historic Charleston area are available upon request. Some connecting rooms are available. All accommodations include coffee makers, iron/ironing board and hairdryers. Suites boast king beds, wet bars, kitchenettes, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel is FEMA-approved for government travelers.

 

Property features
The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel provides a free scheduled shuttle to the historic district. Outdoor parking is free. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool (seasonal) and all rooms have free high-speed wireless Internet access. The Holiday Inn Charleston - Riverview hotel provides a fitness center and guest laundry facilities.

 

Highlights
  • Full-service restaurant
  • Free parking, shuttle to downtown historic district
  • Fitness center
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Nearby attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Garden (12.2 mi/19.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 80 people
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • 24-hour business center with computer, fax, copier and Internet access

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.8 mi/19 km)
  • Adjacent to U.S. 17
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Policies
No pets (service animals allowed).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Theater99: 1.9 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 2.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Theater99: 1.9 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 2.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 2.1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 2.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 2.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 7.3 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 9.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 12.9 mi

Dining

Harborview Restaurant and Lounge
The Harborview Restaurant and Lounge offers fine dining and lighter fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Bring your kids and enjoy a delicious meal while overlooking the river. Kids 12 and under eat free with paying adult! Open 6:30am to 11:00am, 11:30
Waffle House
American Breakfast
Harborview Lounge
The Harborview Lounge is located on top floor of hotel and has spectacular panoramic views of the city of Charleston.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 30, 2008

Charleston Visit

The Holiday Inn Riverview sucked! They were doing construction work until 9pm the night my wife and I arrived. We had a busy day downtown, and came back to the room, and they were busy pounding nails, making all kinds of racket. My wife and I were very disappointed with our stay. I would not recommend this joint to anyone traveling. The only bright spot was the lounge, we were able to drink at a reasonable price and get drunk so we could ignore the rest of the visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba Gumps has great seafood.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 21, 2007

convenient to highway

This was my first and last stay at this Holiday Inn. Room size (lack of) aside, the room, carpet, seats and bedcovers were damp the whole stay. There's mold all over the ceiling and walls and to top it all off we had a problem with our bathroom light-it wouldn't come on, it would come on, it wouldn't come on, etc. After, going down to the desk and informing them of the problem, they said maintenence would be right up. We waited in the room for over two hours and no one showed up. I informed the desk again and they said they were sorry, they had told maintenence the wrong room. It was time to go to bed now.So we took showers in the dark, for two days. Nothing was done to help us out. Everyone said they were sorry, but nothing was done-no compensation as the cards in the room says, no new room, nothing. I have had better stays and better service at $40 hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jean Freemont
Business
Savannah, Georgia
Jul 9, 2011

Do not stay here.

First of all the Californing Dreaming restaurant and Holiday Inn on Savannah Hwy both came recomended to me. I was highly disappointed with both places. The salads were not that big or was it anything tasty or special. The steak my honey ordered was so dry it looked like it had died a thousands deaths before being placed on the plate. The Long Island Ice Tea had no alcohol in it. I was expecting something strong and relaxing to drink after a long car ride, but evidently that was not going to happen for me. The Holiday Inn which was very dirty. There was old soap left over in the bathroom and pubic hair all over the place. I wanted to throw up! I was grossed out.. It was very confusing trying to get up Lockwood drive and back toward down town. I suggest to future travels to find a place on King street. Best Western and other lower brand hotels on King Street were much nicer, better neighborhood and a tad less expensive. Live and learn I guess. Do not stay at the Holiday Inn..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

My sweetie and I love to walk. Find yourself a parking lot and leave your car there. We walked for hours and hours every day and went in and out of the little shops and bars. The dining in Charleston is wonderful. You can dine on King Street, Meeting Street or anywhere by City Market.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yellow nut
Business
shallotte, nc
Jul 19, 2013

disappointed

guess we expected something better with it being holiday inn but we were dissapointed very much. the wifi service didnt work, we had to go to service desk to get our key to work on the second day. vanity light was the only light switch to make light come on in the shower/toliet area which would shine in the bedroom area. we do not intend to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ABML
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 23, 2013

Room was dirty

At first, our room didn't seem so bad. It smelled a bit, but that we could have lived with. But then the tub was clogged. When the maintenance guy came, he didn't come prepared, had to leave and come back. Then after he supposedly fixed it, if immediately clogged again (there was a problem with the stopper that we had to fix ourselves). Then there was a large black grease stain in the tub that no one ever came to fix. Then, to top it all off, there was blood on one of the comforters! Gross! They allowed us to switch rooms and the second was much better, but the experience was ruined by that point. The location was nice, but that's about the only great thing I can say about it :-/ I hate to give negative reviews, but we were truly disappointed with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2008

Location for view

The room was barely adequate. No closet and only one suitcase stand--no room for clothes or to place suitcases. Minimum room to maneuver around sink, and in bathroom. Toilet ran and difficult to flush. Found bugs in room. Great view from balcony window, however, window was extremely dirty and obstructed view. The hotel shuttle was a nice amenity, however, there were long waits between pick-ups, so wasted time in long run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to shopping and dining and tourist sites; parking garages and street parking available but at a minimum;

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 20, 2007

Great Hotel Staff Minus the MOLD issue

The Holiday Inn Riverview staff was superior, yet the room was lacking. All of the staff I spoke with prior to and during my stay were extremely helpful and kind. It is a shame that the dedication towards the guest is not focused a tiny bit on the guest rooms. Charleston is very humid in the summer months, and the hotel permanently locked the sliding balcony doors in the rooms for this reason. Unfortunately, the lack of a bathroom vent fan and no where for the steam to escape during and after a shower, the wallpaper and armoire were spotted with black and green mold. The room always had a smell of mildew. Things only got worse when we went to the restaurant upstairs. The view was one of the best in the city. A local baseball stadium and the Citadel are nestled on the opposite side of the river, as well as a great view of the Cooper River bridge in the distance. The spectacular view from above was paired with an even worse smell than the guest rooms. I think the hotel could benefit from a breath of fresh air. Please do not misunderstand: There was an awful smell, but the staff was more accommodating then any 5 star hotel I've ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several spots about 5 minutes South on Highway 17. It is a short drive, but all the locals hang out at a few bars clustered around Magnolia Road. There is something for everyone, less the traffic of tourists.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BK LOW COUNTRY STYLE
Business
Reston, VA
May 2, 2014

Great value for the price!!

Staff was incredibly nice, very helpful, and offered opinions of great restaurants and sites around Charleston. Definitely knew there surroundings. The free shuttle to downtown is wonderful to have and we used it everyday. The view and happy hour at the restaurant are great as well. Overall very nice hotel for what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
godizgr8
Business
GA
Mar 6, 2012

Great View

The room was nice, the people were nice, the view was excellent and the food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Lolo
Business
El Cerrito, CA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Charleston Review

The Hotel is isolated but the shuttle to the city is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Hominy Grill and Jestine's

Back to menu Return to top