$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

3 stars
View map of 301 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveTheCarGuy
Couples
Savannah, GA
Jan 28, 2014

Great Stay

We were in town to see our favorite band. The rooms are nice and clean with comfortable beds. Not all rooms face the river, so be sure and ask, if that's important to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Before the show, we ate at the Riverview Restaurant, which has a great view of the river and Charleston skyline. The prime rib and the ribs were excellent.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wayfarer30
Friends
Charlotte, NC
Jan 20, 2014

Great Views, Good amenities, but not "downtown walkable"

Stayed for a few nights in late December 2013 with friends. The river views from the rooftop restaurant looking towards downtown Charleston are spectacular, especially around sun rise and sun set. Full slate of amenities available, including washer/dryer accessible via the lobby and a fairly robust fitness center featuring some weight machines and two treadmills. There is an adjacent outdoor pool (closed in the winter). In terms of location, the hotel is over a bridge and not really walkable to downtown. There is a shuttle which runs every two hours to take guests into downtown. Be in the lobby at least 10 minutes prior to scheduled departure to secure a seat, as each trip can get crowded and late arrivers will have to wait for another pickup. One another thing to note for those arriving by car is that taking a left out of the hotel heading away from downtown can be tricky, as there is a no left turn sign at the access where you initially entered the hotel parking lot upon arrival. To exit left, there is an access at the other end of the parking lot away from the hotel. To sum up, if you value views and amenities over location, this is your place; if you want a hotel from which you can walk to and from downtown, look at other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Arrive early in lobby to secure spot in the shuttle which runs every two hours to downtown

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clindsay47
Couples
Charleston South Carolina
Dec 11, 2013

average

This hotel was alright for the money. Beds were very uncomfortable and didnt sleep well. Front desk staff was pleasant and location was okay. Would recommend for a night or two but not for a long stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tigerbrute
Couples
Pomaria, SC
Nov 11, 2013

Excellent hotel experience

The view from the bar and restaurant were extraordinary! Excellent observation area for the Ashley River and downtown Charleston. Easy and quick access to MUSC. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely nice. Dining experience at the restaurant also very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
petemccall
Couples
Roswell, GA
Oct 4, 2013

Set your expectations to Medium...OK but not great

The room just didn't feel that good when you walk in. Yes, it was clean but the facilities seemed old and used. The old style wall air conditioner didn't help though it did serve the purpose of white noise to block out the traffic. Staff was great, location was good if you need access to Johns Island; but if you only need access to Charleston, I'd look somewhere else. I didn't appreciate the fact that breakfast cost $10. For this level of hotel, you usually are provided a free breakfast. Overall, adequate, but I will look hard for a comparable deal at a Hampton Inn, Fairfield or Springhill brand before I settle for this one again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fun travler
Couples
Lancaster, SC 29720, USA
Oct 3, 2013

Nice!

Staff was super friendly and helpful. The room we had was extra nice and I got a great deal in advance on website. However the regular rate is a little much most of the time. This hotel does not offer any of the little extras you get at most of the chains. There is not coffee available all the time and breakfast is not included. We did eat breakfast at the hotel one morning the food was good but it does cost $10 per person. No complaints just passing along info. My husband go to Charleston almost every year, the people at hotel made it a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DistrictCDR
Couples
Chicago, IL
Oct 1, 2013

Sept2013 Review

Very positive. I would stay there again if I'm in Charleston, SC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ABML
Family
Raleigh, NC
Sep 23, 2013

Room was dirty

At first, our room didn't seem so bad. It smelled a bit, but that we could have lived with. But then the tub was clogged. When the maintenance guy came, he didn't come prepared, had to leave and come back. Then after he supposedly fixed it, if immediately clogged again (there was a problem with the stopper that we had to fix ourselves). Then there was a large black grease stain in the tub that no one ever came to fix. Then, to top it all off, there was blood on one of the comforters! Gross! They allowed us to switch rooms and the second was much better, but the experience was ruined by that point. The location was nice, but that's about the only great thing I can say about it :-/ I hate to give negative reviews, but we were truly disappointed with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charleston for the weeken
Couples
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 23, 2013

Great location, but missing that something special

The ladies at the front desk were very friendly (however, the hotel wouldn't allow us to order room service one night because of a wedding reception#, and I had a big problem with the lack of hot water and water pressure. I called this in, and while maintenance came to fix it, I just had to count on taking extra long showers because of the lack of water pressure. The room was plain and needed that extra "umph," and while I paid extra for a riverview, most of our view consisted of the parking lot #room 308). For the cost and location, it wasn't bad, but it isn't somewhere I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown is not far at all.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLESTON-RIVERVIEW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom and daughter stay
Family
Saratoga, NY
Aug 24, 2013

Exploring Charleston

Location was great as well as the rooftop restaurant. Rooms were clean, and staff helpful. The only negative was the shuttle. It only runs every 2 hrs and was over a half hour late picking up downtown. Such a busy place needs to have more frequent shuttle service. Overall, pleased and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top