$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

3 stars
View map of 345 Meeting St., Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
102 reviews
Charleston weekend

My only complaint was that the drink machine on my floor (second) was not kept full and it took my... See full review

  • American Cruise Couple
  • Dec 2, 2014
Great place

I recommend this hotel-great placer to stay nice Would recommend this to anyone going tot he area See full review

  • cj walker
  • Nov 17, 2014
Charleston business hotel with swimming pool near major tourist sites
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District is the only antebellum hotel in the area and was restored from an 1860 railroad warehouse. This Charleston hotel is a short walk from the Charleston museum and the visitor center. Guests enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning, or if pressed for time, they can grab a take-out breakfast Monday through Friday. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District. Swim some laps in the outdoor swimming pool or get a workout in the fitness center.

 

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Easy walking distance to many attractions
  • Free hot breakfast or takeout breakfast in a bag
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Rooms
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel features 170 rooms on five floors, with elevators. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Rooms have either two queen beds or one king. King bed "studies" are larger than regular king rooms and also include a sofa bed. Regular rooms with king beds include recliners. Some queen rooms offer microwaves at additional cost. All guest rooms at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel have coffee makers, iron/ironing board, Waterpik showerheads, free high-speed wireless Internet access and lapdesks.

 

Features
Guest at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning. The hotel boasts a concierge desk, outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and the largest garden courtyard in the historic district. Guest rooms offer Free high-speed wireless Internet access. On-site parking is available (fees apply). The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel staff arranges for babysitting service, children's activities, cribs and roll-away beds (fees may apply).

 

Dining
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel serves a free hot breakfast every morning. Monday through Friday, the hotel offers free "On The Run" breakfast bags for those in a hurry. Many restaurants are in the vicinity, including seafood, regional American and barbeque.

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy and print services (fees apply)
  • Two computers
  • One 400-square-foot meeting room and hospitality suite

Policies and fees
No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.9 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.2 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.2 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.8 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 10.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 102
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delta Force
Business
Stokesdale NC
Jul 4, 2014

Great location, excellent staff

Located near the heart of Historic Charleston, this hotel is affordable and friendly. The staff was cheerful, helpful and engaged. I never had to wait for service at the counter, and they helped me know how to navigate Charleston. The breakfast was excellent, again serviced by caring staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate at Toast of Charleston and TBonz. Both restaurants were reasonable with excellent food. Our Horse wagon tour with Deep South tours was fun and informative. We love history, and they delivered.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pudden
Business
Augusta, GA
Dec 28, 2013

Courteous and Clean

The hotel staff was very courteous and gave us great information on great places to eat, shop, and visit in the historic district in Charleston. The room was extremely comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay at this Hampton Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyHubby
Business
South Carolina
Aug 26, 2013

Decent stay

Great location. Well maintained place, stocked breakfast buffet. Little disappointed that pool opened at 10 am even though it said 8 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScottBob
Business
Southwestern PA
Jul 9, 2013

Our first visit to Charleston

We were very pleased with our stay at this Hampton Inn. Although we did not like having to pay for parking, it was nice to have an indoor parking garage next door. The staff at the hotel was very pleasant, particularly the doormen. It was very convenient to the visitor's center, but a distance from the downtown area if we walked. The free breakfast was quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Good Girl from Gastonia
Business
Gastonia, NC
Jul 9, 2013

Waiting for the wedding!

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Historic Charleston because we were in town for my nephew's wedding. The staff was friendly and helpful when asked about directions to local attractions. We visited several local restaurants and the City Market. There is more to do and easy access from the hotel. Check in was quick and easy. The room was beautiful and clean. We will certainly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mama chip
Business
webster, ny
Apr 8, 2013

southern hospitality

The staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The courtyard and pool were wonderful as was the breakfast buffet in the morning. We will most definitely return to this charming hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizzy Happy Traveler
Business
Annapolis, MD
May 15, 2012

Love Hampton Inns

We have stayed at this location numerous times and are always been extremely satisfied. The service is great and the hotel location is ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HLynn
Business
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Very nice hotel

Awesome FREE breakfast!! Pool was nice but no hot tub. Location on the edge of all the historic stuff, we did a lot of walking. Room very nice and bathroom large. Beds very comfy. Enjoyed our stay there and would totally recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruja
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Location

Wonderful clean hotel. Breakfast was great. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruja
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Great

Great location. Free breakfast was plentiful and very good. Great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top