$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

3 stars
345 Meeting St., Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
94 reviews
loved it!

We Could walk everywhere !! it was nice! to was clean !!! enjoyed! See full review

  • Sunshineking
  • Feb 1, 2014
Surprisingly Extraordinary

In town to propose to my girlfriend, I booked a room here as a surprise to go along with the ring,... See full review

  • Chef Buddy
  • Dec 26, 2013
Charleston business hotel with swimming pool near major tourist sites
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District is the only antebellum hotel in the area and was restored from an 1860 railroad warehouse. This Charleston hotel is a short walk from the Charleston museum and the visitor center. Guests enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning, or if pressed for time, they can grab a take-out breakfast Monday through Friday. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District. Swim some laps in the outdoor swimming pool or get a workout in the fitness center.

 

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Easy walking distance to many attractions
  • Free hot breakfast or takeout breakfast in a bag
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Rooms
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel features 170 rooms on five floors, with elevators. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Rooms have either two queen beds or one king. King bed "studies" are larger than regular king rooms and also include a sofa bed. Regular rooms with king beds include recliners. Some queen rooms offer microwaves at additional cost. All guest rooms at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel have coffee makers, iron/ironing board, Waterpik showerheads, free high-speed wireless Internet access and lapdesks.

 

Features
Guest at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning. The hotel boasts a concierge desk, outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and the largest garden courtyard in the historic district. Guest rooms offer Free high-speed wireless Internet access. On-site parking is available (fees apply). The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel staff arranges for babysitting service, children's activities, cribs and roll-away beds (fees may apply).

 

Dining
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel serves a free hot breakfast every morning. Monday through Friday, the hotel offers free "On The Run" breakfast bags for those in a hurry. Many restaurants are in the vicinity, including seafood, regional American and barbeque.

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy and print services (fees apply)
  • Two computers
  • One 400-square-foot meeting room and hospitality suite

Policies and fees
No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.9 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.2 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.2 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.8 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 10.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Mar 14, 2011

Good and not so good

The location of the hotel was wonderful for shopping and walking, but when we arrived they had us booked in a smoking room which I had not requested. We were given another room, but that room's HVAC was not working properly. Something was wrong with the thermostat. It was never adjusted so we didn't sleep well due either night. The breakfast they served was a full meal and was good. So good and bad......but I don't think I would recommend it to a friend. Definitely not what I expected for the price of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes and always bring a sweater or jacket in the early spring.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Aug 13, 2009

Not what we expected

This hotel overall did not meet our expectations of a typical Hampton Inn. We have in the past had wonderful experiences at every Hampton Inn that we have stayed at, but this was one exception. Upon arrival, the hotel staff informed us that parking cost $12 per day in the city garage, which we did not know about prior to our booking. In addition, the music hall next door can take up all of the spots in said garage if there is a concert and you are stuck paying $12 and you MIGHT get a spot. Finally, when the housekeeping staff left our room they left the door unlocked and OPEN all day while my wife and I were out in Charleston. To be fair, I will say that the hotel was clean and the amenities were adequate, but the parking and leaving my room open were completely unacceptable and deal breakers for us. We will look elsewhere for a hotel when we return to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 21, 2010

Terrible beginning

We realized we would be arriving earlier than expected so we called ahead to request early check in. The conversation over the phone indicated this would not be a problem. We would arrive in about an hour and our room would be ready. What happened when we checked in left us speechless. We checked in with the person that stated early arrival would not be a problem over the phone. Well, things changed a bit once we got there. We were told in the rudest tone I can remember that "we did not call an hour ago" and that "you spoke with me and the room is not ready". Part of this was true, we called about 55 minutes prior to arriving. My wife works with high school children for a living and cannot remember having a tone taken like this with her. The room would not be ready within 5 minutes and we were told "it would be ready during normal check in time, about 1 more hour". When we returned 5 hours later to check in, a new shift was working. When I stated my name, he proceeded to look at his co-worker and smirk. At this point, I may have been a bit paranoid. Regardless, I will never go back to this hotel and will contact Hampton directly regarding the attitude of this staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a fairly long walk to Market Street (about 15 minutes). This is where the bulk of the nightlife is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
newlywedmale
Business
North Carolina
Aug 15, 2011

Good, but could be better

Overall, the hotel was pretty good. However there were a few things that could've been improved. First of all, when we got there, we found that the cable was out on the tv, not that we were going to hang out in the room much, but when we would, it would've been nice to have something besides HGTV in static. We informed the desk staff and they wrote down our room number but by the end of our trip 4 days later, it was still out. Second, you have to pay for the parking deck and if you don't secure yourself a spot, there's a likelihood that you won't get one if you come back too late. Lastly, the breakfast was much to be desired. While there were the usual bagels and waffles, the only meat was turkey sausage, which could've been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Aug 8, 2011

Great location

The location of the hotel is nearly ideal, however, for the price I thought the room was small. Also, the room was on the 5th (top) floor at one end and the elevators were at the opposite end (good distanced to "lug" bags since the hotel was very busy and there was only two luugage dolleys that I saw).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coast Resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zapzek
Business
Latham, NY
Sep 28, 2010

Perfect location near great restaurants

Great walking city and hotel was in a great location. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Excellent that breakfast is included with your stay. If you want to go to the beach you will need a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rested retiree.
Business
Chicago.Il
Aug 27, 2009

Location,location.Next to visitor center

utilized the visitor's center, across from the hotel to schedule tours. The downtown trolly/public transportation was 5 steps from the hotel door as well. Once we parked the car in the lot ajacent to the hotel we did have to move it unless we wanted too. The free hot breakfast was plentiful and filling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many casual and fine dining eateries were within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jan 28, 2011

No room at the convention hotel.

Had a convention at another hotel that was sold out. This hotel was close and priced well. Breakfast was as exciting as you would expect from a hotel. Bedding was nice. Bathroom was up-to-date. Satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ponte Vedra, FL
Oct 14, 2009

Less than expected from Hampton

Staff was very good. Location was great. Website said nothing about parking, which turned out to cost $12 per night. Had to try every socket in the room before I found one that worked for the coffee maker. I think management should visit a Quality Inn for guidance on how to put out a good hot/cold breakfast. This one dissappointed. If time allowed, I would have skipped their breakfast and gone somewhere and paid for a decent one. On the plus side, coffee was available in the lobby all the time and was good; the paid parking facility was adjacent to the property and covered with 24 hour attendants. Some restaurants close by were excellent, esp "Coast", and Italian home made ice-cream next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Floridag
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 22, 2014

Helpful staff resolved problems

When booking, I didn't check smoking vs non smoking and accidentally selected a smoking room. While the room was clean and well presented, I could not stay in the room due to the smoke smell and there were no other rooms available. They helped find alternate accommodations next door at the Embassy Suites (not recommended) and provided a full refund. I could not be more pleased with staff. Hotel is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top