$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

3 stars
345 Meeting St., Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
92 reviews
loved it!

We Could walk everywhere !! it was nice! to was clean !!! enjoyed! See full review

  • Sunshineking
  • Feb 1, 2014
Surprisingly Extraordinary

In town to propose to my girlfriend, I booked a room here as a surprise to go along with the ring,... See full review

  • Chef Buddy
  • Dec 26, 2013
Charleston business hotel with swimming pool near major tourist sites
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District is the only antebellum hotel in the area and was restored from an 1860 railroad warehouse. This Charleston hotel is a short walk from the Charleston museum and the visitor center. Guests enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning, or if pressed for time, they can grab a take-out breakfast Monday through Friday. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District. Swim some laps in the outdoor swimming pool or get a workout in the fitness center.

 

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Easy walking distance to many attractions
  • Free hot breakfast or takeout breakfast in a bag
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Rooms
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel features 170 rooms on five floors, with elevators. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Rooms have either two queen beds or one king. King bed "studies" are larger than regular king rooms and also include a sofa bed. Regular rooms with king beds include recliners. Some queen rooms offer microwaves at additional cost. All guest rooms at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel have coffee makers, iron/ironing board, Waterpik showerheads, free high-speed wireless Internet access and lapdesks.

 

Features
Guest at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning. The hotel boasts a concierge desk, outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and the largest garden courtyard in the historic district. Guest rooms offer Free high-speed wireless Internet access. On-site parking is available (fees apply). The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel staff arranges for babysitting service, children's activities, cribs and roll-away beds (fees may apply).

 

Dining
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel serves a free hot breakfast every morning. Monday through Friday, the hotel offers free "On The Run" breakfast bags for those in a hurry. Many restaurants are in the vicinity, including seafood, regional American and barbeque.

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy and print services (fees apply)
  • Two computers
  • One 400-square-foot meeting room and hospitality suite

Policies and fees
No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7886 -79.9361
Nearby airports
Charleston AFB/Intl Airport, (CHS), 12.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.9 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.2 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.2 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.8 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 10.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Good Girl from Gastonia
Gastonia, NC
Jul 9, 2013

Waiting for the wedding!

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Historic Charleston because we were in town for my nephew's wedding. The staff was friendly and helpful when asked about directions to local attractions. We visited several local restaurants and the City Market. There is more to do and easy access from the hotel. Check in was quick and easy. The room was beautiful and clean. We will certainly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rested retiree.
Business
Chicago.Il
Aug 27, 2009

Location,location.Next to visitor center

utilized the visitor's center, across from the hotel to schedule tours. The downtown trolly/public transportation was 5 steps from the hotel door as well. Once we parked the car in the lot ajacent to the hotel we did have to move it unless we wanted too. The free hot breakfast was plentiful and filling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many casual and fine dining eateries were within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glen74133
Business
Hope Mills, NC
Aug 24, 2009

Hampton Inn Charleston

This is an excellent Hotel and in a vary good location. Parking availible next door at reasonable rates. (Parking is poor to non-exsistent in most of down-town.) Vary good service with friendly and helpful staff. Excellent morning meal, with most anything you could want. In walking distence to all the attractions and Bus/Shuttle service right next door. (We took the bus!) COuldn't ask for better all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
Aug 16, 2009

Great Stay

The location of the hotel was great. There were shops, bars, and restuarants right when you walk out the door. And only about a 15 minute walk to the open Market. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go. The only time we had to drive was when we went to the beach. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast each morning was fantastic. The pool was great but not very big. The workout facility offered 3 different types of cardio machines. The only downfall is that parking costs $12 per day and no laundry services were offered except dry cleaning. We will definitely come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restuarants very nearby on King street and right next door to the hotel on St. John street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alamap
Business
Little River, SC
Aug 15, 2009

Great Weekend Spot

The staff was warm and friendly, also very helpful. The amenities were nice. I like staying at this Hotel because it is consistently good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Charleston can be very crowded and also very hot. Plan your activities ahead of time. Parking is generally available near most major attractions, but you must be willing to pay. Free parking is very limited to non existent. Hotel personnel are very knowledgeable and can guide you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Aug 13, 2009

Not what we expected

This hotel overall did not meet our expectations of a typical Hampton Inn. We have in the past had wonderful experiences at every Hampton Inn that we have stayed at, but this was one exception. Upon arrival, the hotel staff informed us that parking cost $12 per day in the city garage, which we did not know about prior to our booking. In addition, the music hall next door can take up all of the spots in said garage if there is a concert and you are stuck paying $12 and you MIGHT get a spot. Finally, when the housekeeping staff left our room they left the door unlocked and OPEN all day while my wife and I were out in Charleston. To be fair, I will say that the hotel was clean and the amenities were adequate, but the parking and leaving my room open were completely unacceptable and deal breakers for us. We will look elsewhere for a hotel when we return to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 6, 2009

Great Stay

friendly, courteous staff great free breakfast clean, comfortable, quiet room walking distance to most everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aliG
Business
Atlanta GA
Jul 1, 2009

Good Value for the price

The hotel is located near the trolly and visitors centers which makes it easy to plan and get around town. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Provides a complimentary breakfast. Staff is very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the trolly and it will take you right down to the Historic Market Place where there is lots of food and shopping as well as other site seeing adventure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
somerset, kentucky
Jun 28, 2009

Warm and friendly atmosphere

received a warm and friendly welcome room was very clean and inviting wish parking were included in the price of a night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Children's Museum is located directly across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Island NY
May 12, 2009

Attard graduation

We wanted to stay downtown Charleston because our son was graduating from the College of Charleston. This hotel was great for us because it was just a short few minute walk from the college and great restaurants. We spent 4 days in the city and didn't need a car. We had a fabulous time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved the food at Virginia's on King street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Apr 23, 2009

Central location

The staff was helpful, polite, and friendly. The beds were quite comfortable, the linens great quality. Loved the computer/business room. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Grill 225 was a great dining experience...fantastic filet!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top