Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

3 stars
345 Meeting St., Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
152 reviews
loved it!

We Could walk everywhere !! it was nice! to was clean !!! enjoyed! See full review

  • Sunshineking
  • Feb 1, 2014
Surprisingly Extraordinary

In town to propose to my girlfriend, I booked a room here as a surprise to go along with the ring,... See full review

  • Chef Buddy
  • Dec 26, 2013
Charleston business hotel with swimming pool near major tourist sites
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District is the only antebellum hotel in the area and was restored from an 1860 railroad warehouse. This Charleston hotel is a short walk from the Charleston museum and the visitor center. Guests enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning, or if pressed for time, they can grab a take-out breakfast Monday through Friday. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District. Swim some laps in the outdoor swimming pool or get a workout in the fitness center.

 

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Easy walking distance to many attractions
  • Free hot breakfast or takeout breakfast in a bag
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Rooms
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel features 170 rooms on five floors, with elevators. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Rooms have either two queen beds or one king. King bed "studies" are larger than regular king rooms and also include a sofa bed. Regular rooms with king beds include recliners. Some queen rooms offer microwaves at additional cost. All guest rooms at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel have coffee makers, iron/ironing board, Waterpik showerheads, free high-speed wireless Internet access and lapdesks.

 

Features
Guest at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning. The hotel boasts a concierge desk, outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and the largest garden courtyard in the historic district. Guest rooms offer Free high-speed wireless Internet access. On-site parking is available (fees apply). The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel staff arranges for babysitting service, children's activities, cribs and roll-away beds (fees may apply).

 

Dining
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel serves a free hot breakfast every morning. Monday through Friday, the hotel offers free "On The Run" breakfast bags for those in a hurry. Many restaurants are in the vicinity, including seafood, regional American and barbeque.

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy and print services (fees apply)
  • Two computers
  • One 400-square-foot meeting room and hospitality suite

Policies and fees
No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

32.7886 -79.9361
Nearby airports
Charleston AFB/Intl Airport, (CHS), 12.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.9 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.2 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.2 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.8 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 10.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul from Greenville
Greenville, SC
Jul 6, 2010

A great room!

It was a great room and much larger than we had expected. It was clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cru Cafe is the best for dinner. Hominy Grill is the best for brunch/breakfast. Kaminski's is the best for dessert.

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 21, 2010

Terrible beginning

We realized we would be arriving earlier than expected so we called ahead to request early check in. The conversation over the phone indicated this would not be a problem. We would arrive in about an hour and our room would be ready. What happened when we checked in left us speechless. We checked in with the person that stated early arrival would not be a problem over the phone. Well, things changed a bit once we got there. We were told in the rudest tone I can remember that "we did not call an hour ago" and that "you spoke with me and the room is not ready". Part of this was true, we called about 55 minutes prior to arriving. My wife works with high school children for a living and cannot remember having a tone taken like this with her. The room would not be ready within 5 minutes and we were told "it would be ready during normal check in time, about 1 more hour". When we returned 5 hours later to check in, a new shift was working. When I stated my name, he proceeded to look at his co-worker and smirk. At this point, I may have been a bit paranoid. Regardless, I will never go back to this hotel and will contact Hampton directly regarding the attitude of this staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a fairly long walk to Market Street (about 15 minutes). This is where the bulk of the nightlife is.

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 21, 2010

Terrible beginning

We realized we would be arriving earlier than expected so we called ahead to request early check in. The conversation over the phone indicated this would not be a problem. We would arrive in about an hour and our room would be ready. What happened when we checked in left us speechless. We checked in with the person that stated early arrival would not be a problem over the phone. Well, things changed a bit once we got there. We were told in the rudest tone I can remember that "we did not call an hour ago" and that "you spoke with me and the room is not ready". Part of this was true, we called about 55 minutes prior to arriving. My wife works with high school children for a living and cannot remember having a tone taken like this with her. The room would not be ready within 5 minutes and we were told "it would be ready during normal check in time, about 1 more hour". When we returned 5 hours later to check in, a new shift was working. When I stated my name, he proceeded to look at his co-worker and smirk. At this point, I may have been a bit paranoid. Regardless, I will never go back to this hotel and will contact Hampton directly regarding the attitude of this staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a fairly long walk to Market Street (about 15 minutes). This is where the bulk of the nightlife is.

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exportedmolson
Atlanta, GA
Jun 18, 2010

Great location, nice staff

We went for a family vacation and to see a concert in town. We lucked out and it was Piccolo Spoleta Festival as well. The location of the hotel was within walking distance of many great places to eat, many of the venues for the Festival and with the Visitors Center across the street it was easy to get on tours and determine what we wanted to see. There was also a bus stop across the street, so it was really easy to travel down into the South of Broad area as well. We basically parked our car and didn't need it until the day we checked out.The only downside to the trip was on check out. We prepaid the hotel, since that was the only option, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exportedmolson
Atlanta, GA
Jun 18, 2010

Great location, nice staff

We went for a family vacation and to see a concert in town. We lucked out and it was Piccolo Spoleta Festival as well. The location of the hotel was within walking distance of many great places to eat, many of the venues for the Festival and with the Visitors Center across the street it was easy to get on tours and determine what we wanted to see. There was also a bus stop across the street, so it was really easy to travel down into the South of Broad area as well. We basically parked our car and didn't need it until the day we checked out.The only downside to the trip was on check out. We prepaid the hotel, since that was the only option, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chapel Hill, NC
Jun 13, 2010

convenient location

Very helpful staff, especialy at the front desk. They made excellent restaurant recommendations and then called to get us a reservation. That is above and beyond what many would do. Very nice breakfast with lots of choices. Convenient location right across from the visitors center and easy access to the DASH trolly service which gets you around the historic district at a very reasonal price. Very comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chapel Hill, NC
Jun 13, 2010

convenient location

Very helpful staff, especialy at the front desk. They made excellent restaurant recommendations and then called to get us a reservation. That is above and beyond what many would do. Very nice breakfast with lots of choices. Convenient location right across from the visitors center and easy access to the DASH trolly service which gets you around the historic district at a very reasonal price. Very comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jun 12, 2010

Hampton Inn

The Hampton Inn Historic District has very convenient access just across the street to public transportation with routes taking one to most of the tourist areas of the peninsular area at very reasonable costs. Several excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. The morning breakfast is complimentary and includes a nice variety. The option of eating out by the acjacent courtyard and pool area is especially attractive. The staff was friendly and helpful. The guests often included families with children and in my experience the youngsters were well behaved and watched after. I plan to return to this inn again on future trips to Charleston and I recommend it for all types of travelres

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jun 12, 2010

Hampton Inn

The Hampton Inn Historic District has very convenient access just across the street to public transportation with routes taking one to most of the tourist areas of the peninsular area at very reasonable costs. Several excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. The morning breakfast is complimentary and includes a nice variety. The option of eating out by the acjacent courtyard and pool area is especially attractive. The staff was friendly and helpful. The guests often included families with children and in my experience the youngsters were well behaved and watched after. I plan to return to this inn again on future trips to Charleston and I recommend it for all types of travelres

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CamCas
New York, NY
Jun 8, 2010

Hampton Inn, Charleston

Staff was incredibly friendly- location was great and daily complimentary breakfast was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're just staying in Charleston, you don't need to rent a car. The only time we needed ours was to go to the beach.

Back to menu Return to top