$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

3 stars
View map of 345 Meeting St., Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Iowa
Jun 12, 2010

Hampton Inn

The Hampton Inn Historic District has very convenient access just across the street to public transportation with routes taking one to most of the tourist areas of the peninsular area at very reasonable costs. Several excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. The morning breakfast is complimentary and includes a nice variety. The option of eating out by the acjacent courtyard and pool area is especially attractive. The staff was friendly and helpful. The guests often included families with children and in my experience the youngsters were well behaved and watched after. I plan to return to this inn again on future trips to Charleston and I recommend it for all types of travelres

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CamCas
Couples
New York, NY
Jun 8, 2010

Hampton Inn, Charleston

Staff was incredibly friendly- location was great and daily complimentary breakfast was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're just staying in Charleston, you don't need to rent a car. The only time we needed ours was to go to the beach.

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
guilford,ct
Jun 2, 2010

good location

good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington, DC
Jun 1, 2010

Pleasant Stay

The bed was comfortable. The room was clean and quiet. The wifi worked. The hotel help my bags after I checked out for a few hours and that was complimentary. The hotel puts out beverages and snacks throughout the day. The free breakfast includes sausages and cheese omelets. The courtyard is large and quiet, with tables, umbrellas, and a swimming pool. The hotel is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Paolo's gelato ice-cream shop for great ice-cream and authentic Italian espresso. Paolo's is next to Rue de Jean, next door to the hotel.

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frugal Fanny Traveler
Couples
Annapolis, MD
May 19, 2010

Great hotel - great price

Hotel was VERY clean, loved the front foyer which reminded me of my own living room! We were given a copy of USA Today every morning and the breakfast buffet was fantastic! My only complaint would be that the hotel was located a little futher north than I thought but still right in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask the front desk to call a Rickshaw for you to take down town - only costs $4.00!

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bandid
Couples
Charleston, South Carolina
Apr 12, 2010

Very Pleasant Stay

The Hotel was very helpful in planning excursions and dinning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes! :)

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Adairsville, Georgia
Apr 9, 2010

Wonderful location for the trolly!

Our stay at the Hampton was enjoyable. We were out and about most of the time and spent very little time at the Inn. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful in giving directions and other assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The boat ride to Fort Sumter was not very enjoyable. It was very windy and cold. The temperture was in the 80's but the wind made it very cold. Remember to take a jacket and sit inside.

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
highdiver
Couples
Hendersonville, NC
Feb 21, 2010

Ideal Location

Great sized room with 2 queen beds. Close to restaurants and shops. Only 20 min from performing arts hall and hockey arena

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love to eat bring your appetite. You can get just about anything within walking distance.

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Richmond, VA
Jan 31, 2010

Unbeatable value and wonderful location

Friendly staff, Comfortable large rooms. Hot breakfast included, which is really good. Coffee provided all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rue de Jean and Coast Restaurants.

Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Spartanburg, SC
Nov 16, 2009

Someone's not honest

We went to Charleston for our babymoon, our last get away before the birth of our son. We wanted a nice hotel downtown within walking distance of the market and the historic sites. This hotel definitely fit the bill. The staff was also very friendly and accommodating. The room was not nearly as small as indicated on the site, and the bed was wonderful. The complimentary breakfast is also great. They offer a wide variety of items to get your day off to a good start!However, someone wasn't honest in the booking process. [...] The hotel was completely booked for our entire stay, but the staff did bring in a machine the next morning that helped to air out our room. The stinky room did not ruin our stay by any means, but it did get our babymoon off to an uncertain start.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top