$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

3 stars
345 Meeting St., Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
96 reviews
Charleston weekend

My only complaint was that the drink machine on my floor (second) was not kept full and it took my... See full review

  • American Cruise Couple
  • Dec 2, 2014
loved it!

We Could walk everywhere !! it was nice! to was clean !!! enjoyed! See full review

  • Sunshineking
  • Feb 1, 2014
Charleston business hotel with swimming pool near major tourist sites
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District is the only antebellum hotel in the area and was restored from an 1860 railroad warehouse. This Charleston hotel is a short walk from the Charleston museum and the visitor center. Guests enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning, or if pressed for time, they can grab a take-out breakfast Monday through Friday. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District. Swim some laps in the outdoor swimming pool or get a workout in the fitness center.

 

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Easy walking distance to many attractions
  • Free hot breakfast or takeout breakfast in a bag
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Rooms
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel features 170 rooms on five floors, with elevators. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Rooms have either two queen beds or one king. King bed "studies" are larger than regular king rooms and also include a sofa bed. Regular rooms with king beds include recliners. Some queen rooms offer microwaves at additional cost. All guest rooms at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel have coffee makers, iron/ironing board, Waterpik showerheads, free high-speed wireless Internet access and lapdesks.

 

Features
Guest at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning. The hotel boasts a concierge desk, outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and the largest garden courtyard in the historic district. Guest rooms offer Free high-speed wireless Internet access. On-site parking is available (fees apply). The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel staff arranges for babysitting service, children's activities, cribs and roll-away beds (fees may apply).

 

Dining
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel serves a free hot breakfast every morning. Monday through Friday, the hotel offers free "On The Run" breakfast bags for those in a hurry. Many restaurants are in the vicinity, including seafood, regional American and barbeque.

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy and print services (fees apply)
  • Two computers
  • One 400-square-foot meeting room and hospitality suite

Policies and fees
No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.9 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.2 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.2 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.8 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 10.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Oct 1, 2010

Great bang for your buck!

First & best thing about this hotel = WONDERFUL LOCATION. Really could not be in a better place for someone who is vacationing and wanting to stay downtown and walk or ride the trolley bus. We were able to walk a resonable distance to most anywhere downtown. The hotel is adjacent to Marion Square. There's plenty of places to eat and shop right there on King Street. The hotel is also across the street from the Visitors Center which was well equipped to answer all of our questions and help with getting around town. The free breakfast at the hotel was excellent. They had two waffle irons and plenty of batter to make your own fresh waffles every morning. They also had sausage, eggs, bagels, muffins, yogurt, coffee, juices, milk, and cereal. They also put out ice water and baked fresh cookies every day at 5:30PM. The staff were very helpful, when we arrived they gave us maps and offered to help in any way they could with directions or helping us find things to do around town. Housekeeping did an excellent job as well keeping our room very clean and making sure we had everything we needed. They even let us check into our room an hour before our official check-in time. Just a couple of drawbacks: parking at the hotel's garage was $12 per night (they gave reciepts so you could come and go as needed). The garage was safe, well lit, and convienient with elevators. I noticed that other downtown-area hotels charged for parking as well and parking in downtown Charleston seemed to be a rare thing in general so this wasn't so bad and the free breakfast off-set the parking expense. The fitness center was small with a couple of treadmills. Being in such a beautiful place I'm not sure why anyone would want to use a treadmill when they can get out and jog for miles on sidewalks. The business center was a couple of cheaper computers but should be fine if you need to get online or print something out. The pool was in a very cool courtyard-area at the hotel. The hotel supplied towels for the pool so you didn't have to worry about bringing your own or taking towels from the room. The only thing not to like about the pool was its size. It was very small and only 4 feet deep. It was alright when we used it because only about 4 other guests were in the pool but if 10 people had been in it would have been a little uncomfortable. I also noted that the room was a bit noisy. We stayed on the first floor so we could hear some street noise in our room. I turned on some white noise using the radio and that helped to drown it out so we could sleep a little easier. Perhaps on higher floors it wouldn't have been as noisy. I noticed there were other reviews that mentioned problems with the thermostat. We had trouble with ours as well so I would recommend you checking that out when you arrive to see if you need to request maintenance. When we got there the room was a little stuffy so I turned the thermostat dial down from 80 to 70. We went out to dinner and when we got back our room was FREEZING the air conditioner was still going! I tinkered with it until I got it to turn off. It was late and I didn't bother asking to get it fixed. I managed to just do that the entire trip and just turn it on or off. I was able to keep our room pretty comfortable that way because the hallway temperature was comfortable. Despite a couple of small short-comings this is a really wonderful hotel for the price. If you are visiting downtown Charleston I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Charleston has several "bicycle-taxi" companies. We used one called Bike Taxi http://www.biketaxi.net/ It was a very fast and affordable way to get around! We used to one evening after walking out to Waterfront park to take us back to our hotel. It was a lot of fun and a great way to see Charleston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zapzek
Business
Latham, NY
Sep 28, 2010

Perfect location near great restaurants

Great walking city and hotel was in a great location. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Excellent that breakfast is included with your stay. If you want to go to the beach you will need a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Summerton, SC
Jul 10, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, Great Service

The hotel staff was very nice, we arrived a little early and had no problem with checking in. We were about a 10 minute walk from Market Street. I wish we could have been a little closer, but for the price and cleanliness, the walk was worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk from Market and East Bay street where most of the Nightlife is available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul from Greenville
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 6, 2010

A great room!

It was a great room and much larger than we had expected. It was clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cru Cafe is the best for dinner. Hominy Grill is the best for brunch/breakfast. Kaminski's is the best for dessert.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 21, 2010

Terrible beginning

We realized we would be arriving earlier than expected so we called ahead to request early check in. The conversation over the phone indicated this would not be a problem. We would arrive in about an hour and our room would be ready. What happened when we checked in left us speechless. We checked in with the person that stated early arrival would not be a problem over the phone. Well, things changed a bit once we got there. We were told in the rudest tone I can remember that "we did not call an hour ago" and that "you spoke with me and the room is not ready". Part of this was true, we called about 55 minutes prior to arriving. My wife works with high school children for a living and cannot remember having a tone taken like this with her. The room would not be ready within 5 minutes and we were told "it would be ready during normal check in time, about 1 more hour". When we returned 5 hours later to check in, a new shift was working. When I stated my name, he proceeded to look at his co-worker and smirk. At this point, I may have been a bit paranoid. Regardless, I will never go back to this hotel and will contact Hampton directly regarding the attitude of this staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a fairly long walk to Market Street (about 15 minutes). This is where the bulk of the nightlife is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exportedmolson
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 18, 2010

Great location, nice staff

We went for a family vacation and to see a concert in town. We lucked out and it was Piccolo Spoleta Festival as well. The location of the hotel was within walking distance of many great places to eat, many of the venues for the Festival and with the Visitors Center across the street it was easy to get on tours and determine what we wanted to see. There was also a bus stop across the street, so it was really easy to travel down into the South of Broad area as well. We basically parked our car and didn't need it until the day we checked out.The only downside to the trip was on check out. We prepaid the hotel, since that was the only option, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jun 13, 2010

convenient location

Very helpful staff, especialy at the front desk. They made excellent restaurant recommendations and then called to get us a reservation. That is above and beyond what many would do. Very nice breakfast with lots of choices. Convenient location right across from the visitors center and easy access to the DASH trolly service which gets you around the historic district at a very reasonal price. Very comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jun 12, 2010

Hampton Inn

The Hampton Inn Historic District has very convenient access just across the street to public transportation with routes taking one to most of the tourist areas of the peninsular area at very reasonable costs. Several excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. The morning breakfast is complimentary and includes a nice variety. The option of eating out by the acjacent courtyard and pool area is especially attractive. The staff was friendly and helpful. The guests often included families with children and in my experience the youngsters were well behaved and watched after. I plan to return to this inn again on future trips to Charleston and I recommend it for all types of travelres

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CamCas
Business
New York, NY
Jun 8, 2010

Hampton Inn, Charleston

Staff was incredibly friendly- location was great and daily complimentary breakfast was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're just staying in Charleston, you don't need to rent a car. The only time we needed ours was to go to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
guilford,ct
Jun 2, 2010

good location

good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top