$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

3 stars
345 Meeting St., Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
96 reviews
Charleston weekend

My only complaint was that the drink machine on my floor (second) was not kept full and it took my... See full review

  • American Cruise Couple
  • Dec 2, 2014
loved it!

We Could walk everywhere !! it was nice! to was clean !!! enjoyed! See full review

  • Sunshineking
  • Feb 1, 2014
Charleston business hotel with swimming pool near major tourist sites
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District is the only antebellum hotel in the area and was restored from an 1860 railroad warehouse. This Charleston hotel is a short walk from the Charleston museum and the visitor center. Guests enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning, or if pressed for time, they can grab a take-out breakfast Monday through Friday. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District. Swim some laps in the outdoor swimming pool or get a workout in the fitness center.

 

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Easy walking distance to many attractions
  • Free hot breakfast or takeout breakfast in a bag
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

 

Rooms
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel features 170 rooms on five floors, with elevators. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Rooms have either two queen beds or one king. King bed "studies" are larger than regular king rooms and also include a sofa bed. Regular rooms with king beds include recliners. Some queen rooms offer microwaves at additional cost. All guest rooms at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel have coffee makers, iron/ironing board, Waterpik showerheads, free high-speed wireless Internet access and lapdesks.

 

Features
Guest at the Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning. The hotel boasts a concierge desk, outdoor swimming pool, fitness center and the largest garden courtyard in the historic district. Guest rooms offer Free high-speed wireless Internet access. On-site parking is available (fees apply). The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel staff arranges for babysitting service, children's activities, cribs and roll-away beds (fees may apply).

 

Dining
The Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District hotel serves a free hot breakfast every morning. Monday through Friday, the hotel offers free "On The Run" breakfast bags for those in a hurry. Many restaurants are in the vicinity, including seafood, regional American and barbeque.

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy and print services (fees apply)
  • Two computers
  • One 400-square-foot meeting room and hospitality suite

Policies and fees
No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.9 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.2 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.2 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.8 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 10.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pudden
Business
Augusta, GA
Dec 28, 2013

Courteous and Clean

The hotel staff was very courteous and gave us great information on great places to eat, shop, and visit in the historic district in Charleston. The room was extremely comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay at this Hampton Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chef Buddy
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Dec 26, 2013

Surprisingly Extraordinary

In town to propose to my girlfriend, I booked a room here as a surprise to go along with the ring, I'll be honest, I wasn't expecting anything awesome as we would only be there for a few hours before heading out of town early the next morning. Charleston is packed with great historic hotels. We would be walking dowtown later in the evening and the hotel is in a great location in proximity to King St. and the downtown area. From the time we stepped in to the time we left, Casey, David, and the entire front desk staff bent over backwards to make sure everything was perfect. Upon our arrival Casey inquired to the purpose of our visit. When I informed him of the impending proposal, he immediatley suggested a complimentary bottle of wine to be placed in our room while we were out for dinner. I also failed to pay attention to what room I actually booked, which was smoking. He quickly switched us to a non-smoking, corner room overlooking Meeting St. As we left for the evening, my nervous hands clutched around the ring box, I stopped by the front desk and took Casey up on the offer of wine in the room. It had began to rain heavily and he also suggested we could borrow umbrellas from the front desk. An awesome ammenity I was not expecting. Later that evening after an awesome dinner, kneeling down in a puddle, and tearful "yes" from my now faince, we returned to our room. We found not only a bottle of wine, but also candy, a congratulatory card and cupcakes from a specialty shop around the corner. I'm not sure if this was part of the original package but it certainly felt personalized and genuine. Breakfast was great the next morning and we checked out to drive to Charlotte to see a football game. Point is this: with so many good historic hotels in Chucktown, it is the little things that separate the great ones from the pack. This hotel delivers. It could have been a normal stay and I would have been satisfied. It could have just been a bottle of wine and a couple of glasses, but it was personal touch to along with it. It could have just been another rainy night in Charleston, but with the help of these fine people it wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Magnolia's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPEDR
Business
Chelsea, AL
Nov 27, 2013

Great Location!!

My wife and I were just wanting to getaway and decided to explore Charleston for a couple of days. Hotel and staff were great. Location was great - free trolley system with stop located across street from hotel. Parking was free on the street the day we arrived (Sunday) but this only lasted until 9:00 the next morning. Hotel offered parking for $14 per day and that was cheaper than most of the local garages. Parking meters on streets are strictly enforced with $1.75 getting you 2 hours. In hindsight I would have paid the $14 at the hotel and forgot about it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take the trolley or walk the .8 mile to East Bay St. Cornbread and shrimp and grits at S.N.O B. (Slightly North of Broad) restaurant was the best I have ever had - this coming from a born and raised Southerner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPEDR
Business
Chelsea, AL
Nov 27, 2013

Great Location!

My wife and I headed out on a last minute getaway and decided to visit Charleston. Hotel located in Historic District of Charleston and within short walk to many restaurants. Free trolley system was a surprise bonus and stop was located across street from hotel. Parking was free on the street the day we arrived (Sunday) but meters on the street run $1.75 for 2 hours. Hotel offers parking for $14 and I would probably opt for this in the future. Very clean and quiet rooms, friendly, accommodating staff, and a decent continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Henderson
Business
Charleston, SC
Nov 23, 2013

Great location for visit

The hotel is in a great location for exploring the old city. We walked to the Ft Sumter boat landing which is adjacent to the aquarium. We also walked downtown to excellent restaurants and an evening tour departing from the Market area. Would do it again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My favorite restaurant, 39 Rue de Jean, is just a half block from the main hotel entrance. Order the mussels cooked in the vegetable cream sauce.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyHubby
Business
South Carolina
Aug 26, 2013

Decent stay

Great location. Well maintained place, stocked breakfast buffet. Little disappointed that pool opened at 10 am even though it said 8 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScottBob
Business
Southwestern PA
Jul 9, 2013

Our first visit to Charleston

We were very pleased with our stay at this Hampton Inn. Although we did not like having to pay for parking, it was nice to have an indoor parking garage next door. The staff at the hotel was very pleasant, particularly the doormen. It was very convenient to the visitor's center, but a distance from the downtown area if we walked. The free breakfast was quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Good Girl from Gastonia
Business
Gastonia, NC
Jul 9, 2013

Waiting for the wedding!

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Historic Charleston because we were in town for my nephew's wedding. The staff was friendly and helpful when asked about directions to local attractions. We visited several local restaurants and the City Market. There is more to do and easy access from the hotel. Check in was quick and easy. The room was beautiful and clean. We will certainly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. T.D.
Business
Pa
May 3, 2013

Mrs. T.D.

Everything was great....esp. the location to the Visitor's Center. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of good restaurants on Queen Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mama chip
Business
webster, ny
Apr 8, 2013

southern hospitality

The staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The courtyard and pool were wonderful as was the breakfast buffet in the morning. We will most definitely return to this charming hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top