$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
217 reviews
Relaxing mini vacation

Every employee at the hotel are very professional and friendly, they assisted us. Perfect location... See full review

  • Rupert my little boy
  • Sep 16, 2014
Loved this hotel

Recommend Valet Parking for the convenience of getting in and out quickly- great staff - so... See full review

  • Cotton Club
  • Aug 25, 2014
The Francis Marion Hotel, located in the heart of historic Charleston. South Carolina was the largest and grandest in the Carolinas when it opened in 1924 named for General Francis Marion the swamp Fox of the American Revolution. The Francis Marion Hotel in Charleston re-opened in 1996, after a $12 million National Trust award wining restoration, and is once again Charleston's grand hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
One king or two double beds. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings. 350 square feet. Rooms includes air conditioning, refrigerator, wake up calls, complimentary toiletries, iron and iron board, clock radio, cribs(infant beds)available, satellite/ cable TV with pay movies, premium bedding, complimentary newspaper, multiline phone, voice mail, coffee and tea maker, house keeping daily, extra towels and bedding in room, hair dryer, electronic and magnetic keys. European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows. Marble bathroom, pedestal sink, and brass fixtures. Nonsmoking
Treditional
Room includes one queen or two double beds. 250 square feet. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings, European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows, desk with lamp and chair, wooden armoire with TV, dual-line phone, premium cable with pay movies, marble bathroom, pedestal sink and brass fixtures, Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 7,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 217
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Aug 17, 2009

Very Disappointed in Quality

When I arrived they didn't have my Orbitz reservation adn showed it as a standard room. I reserved a deluxe room. They reluctanly upgraded it. When I entered the room the bath amd bedlinens were clammy, damp. I put on the AC but it didn't seen to work. I had to request AC adjustment several days/times. Supposedly the engineer adjusted it but it never seemed to work properly. It had to be set at 60 degrees and constanly blasting on one side of the room, so the bed was freezing but the bathrom was too humid. I didn't want frigid air I wanted it to remove humidity. There was no exhaust in the bathroom, so the heat and humidity built up and couldn't be dissipated by the poorly working AC. Dressing for work was not pleasant. I would never use the tub for a bath as the bottom of the tub was disgusting. The orbitz lisiting said this hotelwas recently refurbished. In reality the carpet and upholstery in the room and in public areas were shabby. Getting a taxi was a trial. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 1, 2008

My review of Francis Marion Hotel

Pros - Great location. Close to all the shopping and restaurants. Bed and linens were fantastic, very cozy. conceirge was very helpful Cons - The room I stayed in was very small. The bathroom is very tiny. No countertop and defintely not comfortable for two people staying in the same room. Its an old school hotel. If you are looking for charm then it is right up your ally. If you are looking for more sophistication and space then its probably not the right choice. I felt like it was overpriced for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restuarants are very close to this hotel. On both King Street and down by the market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Only1inTX
Business
Texas
Feb 21, 2014

Great staff and location

I have stayed at the Francis Marion before and as before they always do a good job. Staff was great and the hotel is very clean. The only drawback is that the rooms are are a little small, but this is the case with all historic hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is nothing in downtown Charleston that is not within walking distance. Save $ by taking a cab from the airport rather than renting a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EC SLP
Business
Narragansett, RI
May 25, 2011

Great location and facility

Historic hotel in the heart of downtown Charleston. Perfect location to walk to shopping, restaurants, market. Easy access. Well appointed rooms. Small bathroom. Great staff! Very enjoyable! Would recommend highly to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Any kind of shopping you want is just a brief walk down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jan 21, 2011

Best bed and comforter.

This is an older hotel but all the necessary items are well maitained. Best bed I ever slept on in any hotel. Friendly staff and very good restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hymman sea food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jan 31, 2011

A good experience

I had a very positive experience during my stay at the hotel. I was there for a couple of nights for a meeting and had all of my needs met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The market is close by as is a larger shopping mall. The hotel is in a great location in the city. Along with shopping there are many good places to eat within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Nov 14, 2010

Just what I needed

I was in town on business and needed a hotel that was comfortable and convenient. I enjoy the charm of renovated historical hotels and the Francis Marion is certainly charming. My room was roomy and comfortable; it seems like a study with a bed because of homey architectural details like crown molding and antiqued furniture. It was big enough that I could easily have had colleagues over to visit or work. One morning the cleaning staff left coffee in the pot, leading me to think the job had been a little rushed, but overall the room was clean and the amenities were fine. The front desk staff and doormen are all very friendly and helpful. There is a great ambiance if you appreciate a blend of comfy luxury. I was able to walk most places but unless you have some time, you might prefer to taxi to the market area. Being so close to the campus means that there are college-type options as well as finer dining. It is an understatement to say that there is an abundance of fine shopping in this area. There are many shops of all types from cupcake bakeries to computers to luggage. Personally, I would have traded some charm for a hot tub but they do have a spa if you can afford to pay for a little pampering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
captnamerica
Business
raleigh
Jul 22, 2014

classic hotel

great location, old south charm. you can walk to everything in the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walker Chop house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 2, 2008

Great Location and Atmosphere

The Francis Marion Hotel was centrally located and within walking distance of many historical attractions and wonderful restaurants. Its quaint atmosphere transport you back to a simpler time. Our stay there was most enjoyable and we would not hesitate to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crosby TX
Nov 20, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

The hotel staff was very professional and the catering was exceptional. They were great in all areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All kinds of things to see and do close to this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top