$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 1, 2008

My review of Francis Marion Hotel

Pros - Great location. Close to all the shopping and restaurants. Bed and linens were fantastic, very cozy. conceirge was very helpful Cons - The room I stayed in was very small. The bathroom is very tiny. No countertop and defintely not comfortable for two people staying in the same room. Its an old school hotel. If you are looking for charm then it is right up your ally. If you are looking for more sophistication and space then its probably not the right choice. I felt like it was overpriced for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restuarants are very close to this hotel. On both King Street and down by the market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edisto mama
Business
Doylestown, PA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Should not be a 4 star rating

While the lobby and amenities are fine, our room had an awkward arrangement. One of the beds were about 2 foot from the bathroom and the bath was very small. Although the room was clean, it was not a 4 star room based on the furnishings or the layout. This is a 3.5 star at best in comparison to other Charleston hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

High Cotton!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Towson, MD
Dec 23, 2010

Superb location

We are considering relocation to the Charleston area. It is important for us to be close to a city that has a "history", performing arts, culinary delights,etc. Charleston proved to be charming. The hotel location was wonderful, being within walking distance of all the local attractions day & night, yet easily accessible to the roads that would take us elsewhere on our excursions to the surrounding areas. What was missing? FREE parking for hotel guests. We were not anticipating the additional parking expense daily for the 5 days we were there. Missing? Shower caps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quite a few dining,historical sites, shopping and entertainment events are within a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Don't take your car. Walk through the city and have fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 28, 2009

excellent location & a charming hotel

Vacation activites included Harbor Tour, City Tour & Harbor Fest. Good restaurants, jazz in evening & shopping at the Market. A lot of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the Tricycle to Market Sreet for shopping, restaurants, & bars. Very cheap. $4.50 per person one way. College student pedals cycle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Aug 26, 2009

Good location in city center

Good for one or two nights. Rooms with 2 queen size beds are much bigger than with single bed. Small bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hampstead, Maryland
Jan 2, 2010

Francis Marion Hotel Charleston SC

Good remake of an old hotel. Rooms are very small and your knees hit sink when you sit on the toilet. Restaurant is nice but location in hotel not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marmora, Nj
Nov 3, 2009

Nice But Needs Some Updating

We were there for sighteseeing. Location was good and staff very helpful. Everything clean but just needs updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ghostwriter
Business
new york
Jan 17, 2011

hotel offered cheaper rate than [...]

The service was excellent. The hotel was nicely appointed but could have used some renovation and better maintenance (old bathroom enamel, dust on mirrors, etc. We were there to see Ft. Sumtner and eat BBQ, en route to Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you love BBQ, try Melvin's. If you love great, southern style breakfast or brunch, go to the Hominy Grill and order shrimp and grits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
michreunion
Business
Cleveland
Jul 5, 2014

Fair

Checked in early and room was not ready, thus had the staff store our luggage. Upon return that evening discovered our room had been given away and initially bags were missing. Ultimately bags were found and we were given a room that did not meet our requested specifications. The following day the staff were accommodating; but unable to provide refund for one night instead provided us a with a room upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Living right
Business
Louisiana
Aug 25, 2014

Hotel Needs update or better cleaning

This gorgeous hotel is located downtown in the middle of everything, great restaurants ( please try Virginia's for lunch or Joe's Pasta- awesome Caesar salad but the pasta was absolutely fantastic. Seasoning is amazing as long as you can handle a garlic after taste. If you drive to Shem creek, sunset is gorgeous! From hotel you have easy walk to many sites. Right by museums and visitor center. (By the way, watch out! The visitor center will offer you these free tickets if you go watch a 90 min presentation for time share!!! Don't waist your time!!!! It's not worth it!!!! They held us for over 2 hours!!!!) The room was nice but tiny bathroom. Toilete needs serious cleaning. Nice staff. Great breakfast at swamp fox restaurant at hotel Three elevators but the day we were leaving two were broken and third one acting up..., scary!!!!! So we will probably try another hotel if we ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Please go see Middleton and Boone plantations no matter what! Better time should be in spring when azaleas are blooming. Breathtaking yards! Avoid summer. You will feel miserable!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top