$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jweisler
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Nov 5, 2012

Needs a little bit of an overhaul

The staff was friendly. The room had charm, but for the price was lacking. Furniture (not antiques, newer furniture) had dings/marks. Marks on the walls that needed to be fixed. Large bright orange electrical cord running through the middle of the room. I wouldn't even sit on the sofa. Furniture was dusty. Just wasn't the experience I was hoping to receive from a hotel of this price. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spedhead1
Business
Mount Sinai, New York
Nov 13, 2012

Charleston Getaway

The hotel is a bit dated and the walls of our room were nicked and dinged up quite a bit. Our room did have a beautiful view of Marion Park and the staff was both helpful and accomodating. There were two big events going on in the hotel while we were there. Both were very loud and poorly supervised and we were a bit put off upon returning to the hotel after dinner to find the attendees (young and obnoxious) roaming the lobby and trying to crash each other's events. It was unfortunate that hotel guests had to be subjected to the mayhem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Saturday is Market Day in Marion Park. Charleston is a city of animal lovers so bring your family pet along. Magnolias for dinner a must do!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NormaJ
Business
Alexandria, Va
Jan 16, 2013

Weekend Get Away

We had beautiful weather in Charleston for quick weekend get away! Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. We had to get the air conditioning turned on and staff was friendly but needed to fix it. Also TV needed repaired but they did do it right away. The only thing that was uncomfortable was the extremely tiny bathroom. Barely enough room to stand in let alone turn around in. Efficient use of space but not comfortable. Location is excellent and the staff friendly and for this reason, we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

O Ku is an excellent restaurant and within a short walk.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ManhattanWilliam
Business
New York, New York
Feb 6, 2013

Poor girl is showing her age....

This was, I believe, once a "grande dame" hotel, and while it's still charming, it's showing some signs of needing a face lift. The lobby is a mix of chandeliers and tacky travel fliers, the elevators are gilded yet the carpet is frayed. The room is fine, the bed is very comfortable and the selection of channels is large. Bathroom is small but acceptable. There is no mini bar in the room, but there is a coffee maker. A quick meal in their restaurant was good (if typically southern too filling). Overall it was all fine, I had gotten an inexpensive rate, but it's time for some modernizing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is good but on the typically rich side, as is usual with southern cuisine. Tasty and inexpensive, however.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PeteyO
Business
New York, NY
May 29, 2013

Francis Marion

Better Value, needs some updating, could use some more space in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

King St. Lots of Fun, it's right there

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blank blank blank blank
Business
san diego
May 30, 2013

2 night stay at the beginning of Spoleta

The price for the friday night stay is outrageous.. and you didnt include parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go eat at Martha Lou's Kitchen

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scmcfad
Business
Coastal Virginia
Dec 24, 2013

Was a Disappointing Experience

Great location and staff, but the room was a disappointment. The decor was tired. There was a musky smell. The bathroom was very small and awkward. And, there was a long wait for elevator service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Homecoming guest
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 3, 2014

nice room with small bathroom

The room is nice and clean, but bathroom is really small. There were noises from street at 2am Sunday morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C visitor
Business
atlanta, ga
Sep 9, 2009

Great location

Great location - good price through Orbitz. I would never pay full price for this hotel. The windows were insulated with Duct tape! Toilet was crazy - bubble over and wet the seat. Pretty clean and besides the toilet, I had a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jun 1, 2010

Long weekend get away

Hotel location was ideal. The concierge service was excellent. The rooms needed some renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would definately recommend Magnolia's for dinner and S.N.O.B. for lunch.

Back to menu Return to top