$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
209 reviews
Perfect Location with Elegance and History

We stayed at the Francis Marion while moving our daughter into College of Charleston. The hotel is... See full review

  • Jewellnut
  • Aug 14, 2014
Dropping Off Daughter for College

Perfect location for families visiting children at College of Charleston! See full review

  • CofC Family
  • Aug 12, 2014
Historic charm, modern conveniences in downtown Charleston
The Francis Marion Hotel was built in 1924, completely renovated in 1996 with a $12 million grant from the National Trust for Historic Preservation, but there's still plenty of old-fashioned charm. The rooms feature European-style bedding and marble bathrooms with pedestal sinks and brass fixtures. Over the years, the Francis Marion Hotel has hosted celebrities and historical figures, and its location is convenient to downtown Charleston's historic homes, shops, restaurants and other attractions.
Highlights
  • Named after Revolutionary War hero Francis Marion, "The Swamp Fox"
  • In the heart of downtown historic Charleston, walking distance from many attractions
  • Entire facility is smoke free
  • Listed on the Virginia and National Registers of Historic Places
  • The two ballrooms feature antique chandeliers, high ceilings and windows and marble accented fireplaces

 

Rooms
The Francis Marion Hotel has 233 rooms, 10 suites and seven penthouse suites. The room decor is reminiscent of 1920s grandeur, but with up-to-date amenities such as free wireless Internet and on-demand movies (fees apply).
Features
The Francis Marion Hotel offers concierge service, Spa Adagio Day Spa and an on-site fitness center.

 

Dining
The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Francis Marion Hotel also has a Starbucks on site and offers and room service.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Walking distance from many attractions downtown
Attractions
  • Charleston's Museum Mile (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park including USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 10 meeting rooms totaling 19,000 square feet, all with Wi-Fi
  • The Francis Marion added a 7,000 square-foot conference center in 2004
  • Audio/visual equipment available (fees apply)
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed. 
  • Self-parking is available at a city garage next door (fees apply). 
  • Effective January 1, 2014, valet parking will be $21 USD and self-parking will be $16 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9364
Area served
Charleston.
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 12 miles East of Charleston Airport (CHS)
Area description
Located in Historic Downtown Charleston. Marion square park- across the street, king street shops and galleries - 1 block, college of charleston - 0.25 mile, fort sumter tours - 0.5 mile, south carolina aquarium - 0.5 mile, old market place - 0.5 mile, charleston battery - 1.5 miles, old exchange - 1.5 miles, The citadel-2 miles, USS yorktown - 5.5 miles, Boone hall plantation - 9.5 miles, Magnolia plantation - 14 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
One king or two double beds. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings. 350 square feet. Rooms includes air conditioning, refrigerator, wake up calls, complimentary toiletries, iron and iron board, clock radio, cribs(infant beds)available, satellite/ cable TV with pay movies, premium bedding, complimentary newspaper, multiline phone, voice mail, coffee and tea maker, house keeping daily, extra towels and bedding in room, hair dryer, electronic and magnetic keys. European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows. Marble bathroom, pedestal sink, and brass fixtures. Nonsmoking
Treditional
Room includes one queen or two double beds. 250 square feet. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings, European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows, desk with lamp and chair, wooden armoire with TV, dual-line phone, premium cable with pay movies, marble bathroom, pedestal sink and brass fixtures, Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 7,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CO Wanderer
Denver, CO
Sep 25, 2012

Fantastic!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jean2946
Charlotte, NC
Sep 12, 2011

Disappointment in Charleston

The hotel is located on a very busy corner - King & Calhoun. Parking is adequate. Hotel lobby was beautiful but from there it went downhill. Our "deluxe" king room was not deluxe. The bathroom was very small, with 1 sink and the faucett spilled water onto the counter. You had to be careful not to slip when getting into the tub/ shower. The carpet was frayed and the maid service was terrible - as a small example coffee table was never cleaned, coffee for coffeemaker was not replaced and the air conditioner ran most of the time with damp cool air. Reception desk only apologized. Not worth the price. Will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DrJam
Fairfax,VA
Dec 29, 2012

Very disappointed

Room was dirty and not well maintained. The thermostat was falling off the wall. The floor vents were all bent with floor tiles missing around them. Upgrade to suite turned out to be a conference room with a bedroom. Certainly not the romantic getaway I planned on. I would never stay there again. The restaurant breakfast brunch was barely edible. Very poor overall rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, SC
Jun 22, 2010

Great Location, but not clean!

Not very clean especially the bathroom, air conditioner poor, extremely small bathrooms, thin walls, and noisy. I would not stay here again and also very pricey to not be well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Tourists
Atlanta, GA
Jan 18, 2010

not much good to say...

The hotel has been nicely remodeled, but the rooms were quite small. We booked a queen, and got their "equivalent" -- I didn't know hotels even used full-size beds. The rooms were so small we had nowhere to even put our luggage. The bathroom was painfully tight-quartered. As a petite person, I felt cramped. My leg got stuck getting in the shower between the toilet and the tub, then I hit my head twice trying to access the shelf for shampoo, etc. Guests with average height/weight (or more) would be miserable. The restaurant was HORRIBLE and extremely over-priced for what you get. We had drinks in the bar then had dinner. Both were extremely disappointing. Can't say the service was much better. The next morning we decided to check out and go to another hotel. The manager was beyond rude to us. For her awful attitude alone, I would tell anyone to steer clear of the Francis Marion Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Aug 17, 2009

Very Disappointed in Quality

When I arrived they didn't have my Orbitz reservation adn showed it as a standard room. I reserved a deluxe room. They reluctanly upgraded it. When I entered the room the bath amd bedlinens were clammy, damp. I put on the AC but it didn't seen to work. I had to request AC adjustment several days/times. Supposedly the engineer adjusted it but it never seemed to work properly. It had to be set at 60 degrees and constanly blasting on one side of the room, so the bed was freezing but the bathrom was too humid. I didn't want frigid air I wanted it to remove humidity. There was no exhaust in the bathroom, so the heat and humidity built up and couldn't be dissipated by the poorly working AC. Dressing for work was not pleasant. I would never use the tub for a bath as the bottom of the tub was disgusting. The orbitz lisiting said this hotelwas recently refurbished. In reality the carpet and upholstery in the room and in public areas were shabby. Getting a taxi was a trial. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NCOD
Graham, NC
Oct 1, 2013

Not a 4 star hotel.. Smells like puke!!

All of the elevators smelled like vomit every day, which was less than enticing when we were going out to or returning from dinner. NOT ACCEPTABLE. Also the air conditioning was broken in our room and with temperatures in Charleston soaring into the 90's in September, this was a BIG PROBLEM. We will not be back, needless to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you book a hotel either close to Market Street or King Street in the historic downtown district if you plan on touring Charleston by foot.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1Dude1
Charlotte, NC
Aug 25, 2014

Old

Old and poorly renovated. location is good but for the money i would rather stay at the holiday inn around the corner they probably have water pressure in their showers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sightseeing sister
Texas
Jul 1, 2013

Not a great experience.

The dresser was not situated correctly and had a drawer that stuck out, ready to hit a shin. The air conditioner blew right on the bed. The room temperature was either too hot or too cold. If there was a way to make a nice cool surrounding temperature, we did not find it. There was only one or two working elevators (out of 3) at any given time. Cost twice what we spent at other hotels in the city and yet was the worst stay we experienced. And the others served a free hot breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Oct 29, 2010

Could have been great...but

We upgraded to a King room which was good size and being in a corner had windows on two walls. However, the bathroom was very small and the strong odor of high power cleaning agents was very evident which suggests they are trying to control some unpleasant bacteria or something. Wireless worked initially and then died never to return. Worse, the Air Conditioning fan began clattering very loudly at about midnight waking us up and ruining a night's sleep (too hot and humid with it off - impossible to bear the noise with it on - too late to switch rooms). Then, in the morning upon checkout I informed the agent of the issue - they made no offer of compensation, no apology - they just took the information...won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coast Restaurant - best Carolina Crab Cakes I've ever had.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LoCFo22
Blountville, TN
Aug 18, 2009

Dissapointed-terrible bathrooms

Our hotel seemed nice upon arrival. First things first, being pregnant on the 8th floor and then realizing neither of the keys are programmed after your checking in & being sent up is no good-the guy at the desk asks me if I know how to use the key..QUESTION IS-does he know how to program it...let me hobble my wide self back up the hike..very slow elevators. The bathrooms are equivalent of a motorhome bathroom-it was miserable..so uncomfortable-you can't change clothes w/o hitting the walls. Maid service only 1 out of 3 days. The first day they did a half-a job anyway and didn't even take the trash out. Very irritated with the hotel. Location is nice but not GREAT and across from a park that has vendors on Sat. morning however it was NOT w/in walking distance of the market unless you want a HIKE. Not happy..at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search