$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
223 reviews
Weekend Trip

Great location in downtown Charleston...enjoyed our stay. See full review

  • David
  • Dec 23, 2014
Friendly staff!

Awesome experience at the hotel! Had a really good time! See full review

  • shirshir
  • Nov 30, 2014
Historic charm, modern conveniences in downtown Charleston
The Francis Marion Hotel was built in 1924, completely renovated in 1996 with a $12 million grant from the National Trust for Historic Preservation, but there's still plenty of old-fashioned charm. The rooms feature European-style bedding and marble bathrooms with pedestal sinks and brass fixtures. Over the years, the Francis Marion Hotel has hosted celebrities and historical figures, and its location is convenient to downtown Charleston's historic homes, shops, restaurants and other attractions.
Highlights
  • Named after Revolutionary War hero Francis Marion, "The Swamp Fox"
  • In the heart of downtown historic Charleston, walking distance from many attractions
  • Entire facility is smoke free
  • Listed on the Virginia and National Registers of Historic Places
  • The two ballrooms feature antique chandeliers, high ceilings and windows and marble accented fireplaces

 

Rooms
The Francis Marion Hotel has 233 rooms, 10 suites and seven penthouse suites. The room decor is reminiscent of 1920s grandeur, but with up-to-date amenities such as free wireless Internet and on-demand movies (fees apply).
Features
The Francis Marion Hotel offers concierge service, Spa Adagio Day Spa and an on-site fitness center.

 

Dining
The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Francis Marion Hotel also has a Starbucks on site and offers and room service.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Walking distance from many attractions downtown
Attractions
  • Charleston's Museum Mile (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park including USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 10 meeting rooms totaling 19,000 square feet, all with Wi-Fi
  • The Francis Marion added a 7,000 square-foot conference center in 2004
  • Audio/visual equipment available (fees apply)
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed. 
  • Self-parking is available at a city garage next door (fees apply). 
  • Effective January 1, 2014, valet parking will be $21 USD and self-parking will be $16 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
One king or two double beds. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings. 350 square feet. Rooms includes air conditioning, refrigerator, wake up calls, complimentary toiletries, iron and iron board, clock radio, cribs(infant beds)available, satellite/ cable TV with pay movies, premium bedding, complimentary newspaper, multiline phone, voice mail, coffee and tea maker, house keeping daily, extra towels and bedding in room, hair dryer, electronic and magnetic keys. European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows. Marble bathroom, pedestal sink, and brass fixtures. Nonsmoking
Treditional
Room includes one queen or two double beds. 250 square feet. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings, European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows, desk with lamp and chair, wooden armoire with TV, dual-line phone, premium cable with pay movies, marble bathroom, pedestal sink and brass fixtures, Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 7,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (223)

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 223
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TobyH
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Quick visit

The room was large with a nice King bed. It had ample closet space and two full (albeit small) bathrooms. The location is good; easy to get to upper King as well as to the tip of the peninsula. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wichita Lineman
Business
Lockport, New York
May 6, 2012

Yankee Carpetbaggers Invade Charleston

On our way back north after an Easter visit with our daughter. My wife and I decided to take in the sights of Charleston SC. Our decision to stay at the Francis Marion was based on price and location to the city center. We were not disappointed! The Francis Marion set us just on the outer edge of the Charleston shopping strip and almost next door to the university. A short morning walk through the opening stores placed us directly in the center of the "old town". Free trolleys were available on a regular schedule, but the walk was pleasant. Our first room was huge, but my wife desired more of a view and with a quick call to the front desk, we were given a smaller room, but with a window view to the main street and a view of the harbour. The small bar in the resturant was a pleasant stop at the end of a busy day. Our only complaint is the necessity of paying for parking in the lot next door. Valet parking was available (in the lot) if one didn't want to park themselves, but just add the price of parking into the room charge and have done with it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The carrage rides don't know which part of town they will be able to view until they are loaded and leaving the staging area. Too late if you already seen that part of town. The ride was pleasant and informative, but we were glad that we had already walked the area we wanted to see. Because the carriage ride took a different location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOHN and PAT
Business
FARMINGVILLE, NY
Aug 25, 2012

great short getaway

THE STAFF AT THIS HOTEL WAS NOTHING SHORT OF WONDERFUL FROM THE BELL STAFF TO THE FRONT DESK, THEY COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR YOU. THE HOTEL IS A BEAUTIFUL OLD STYLE HOTEL. THE BEDS WERE EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE. WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN. LOCATION IS PERFECT FOR TOURING THE HISTORIC DISTRICT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Bee
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2012

Great stay

Awesome weekend in Charleston. Friendly staff, clean hotel and overall appearance was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rested and rejuvinated
Business
North Carolina
May 30, 2013

a getaway retreat in style

comfort, ambiance, charm and the perfect location for anything you want to experience in downtown charleston. we loved it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

we used the trolleys to get anyplace we needed to go downtown. no bother with trying to find parking spaces or worry about where the nearest parking garage was, just hop on one of the two trolleys and you can go anyplace you want downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cleetus
Business
Evanston, IL
Sep 5, 2013

Great Hotel

Right in the heart of everything. You can literally walk everywhere. We had a wonderful view of the harbor. We'll be going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britt Ultimate Traveler
Business
Cartersville, Georgia
Sep 7, 2013

Highly Suggested

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay at the Francis Marion hotel. The hotel was clean, friendly, and accommodating. Additionally, the price was not overwhelming like many of Charleston's downtown hotels. That makes this hotel and its amenities a huge value. I highly suggest staying at the Francis Marion when visiting Charleston, SC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss Charleston Crab House. Wonderful food and atmosphere that's not far from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BurrrrColdShower
Business
London, KY, USA
Dec 3, 2013

Great with a pedigree

Very nice and comfortable historic hotel. Weather was terrible, but we can't fault the hotel for that! Great staff and service. Very nicely updated rooms while keeping the historic feel intact. Arrived early and hotel graciously provided an upgraded room that was immediately available at no additional expense!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jag656
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 5, 2014

Fantastic hotel!

I lived in charleston for 6 years and always wanted to stay here. Glad I finally did. Can't beat the location. Great room and view. I would certainly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pawleys Island, SC
Nov 17, 2009

Francis Marion Hotel

This was my wife's birthday trip. It went perfectly even the weather!!! The staff out-did themselves with good service. It is one of the most memorable trips to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We used our favorite mode of transportation in Charleston which is the Rickshaw!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top