$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ace45
Couples
Durham, NC, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Great location!

We enjoyed our stay at the Francis Marion Hotel- great location, close to lots of attractions & restaurants, and very comfortable. Had a beautiful room overlooking Marion Square, with a view of the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of great restaurants on upper King Street, just a few blocks from the Francis Marion Hotel.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky115
Couples
Garwood, New Jersey
Apr 15, 2012

Romantic getaway

The Francis Marion Hotel had a great deal of oldtime charm which you will not get from the major Hotel chains. The employees were all very friendly and accomodating. The Hotel had a great location and was very competitively priced We would definately stay there again if we came to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boone's Plantation was not worth the trip.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlpacaBearsIntheMarket
Couples
NY, NY
May 21, 2012

Little Pircey, but Nice

Great Spot, just a little expensive. Thank that could just be the town and the fact that we were there peak wedding season

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J James
Family
Oklahoma
Jul 10, 2012

In the heart of it all!

Great location for visiting historic Charleston. So many wonderful things just a short walk away. And exceptional beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Basil Thai was exceptional.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter D
Friends
Aiken SC
Aug 10, 2012

COMFORTABLE, NICE AMBIENCE

Hotel is undergoing renovations ...some rooms not yet complete....but a nice place to stay located on all free trolly runs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
white cat
Couples
Wilmington,nc
Aug 23, 2012

elegant Charleston charm

The historic charm of this hotel shines through. Its location is within walking distance to many sites in the city. We had a great view of city and the beautiful park across the street. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you walk to the right of the hotel on king st, there are many shops along the way. Make sure you go to the market.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. FC
Couples
Connecticut
Sep 5, 2012

Great Location

Great location, great stay, great value. Would highly recommend. No need for car, however beaches are $30-$40 cab ride away, each way. Great location to be close to downtown, not great for ease of beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thin Vin
Single
Worcester, MA
Nov 29, 2012

Just what I was hoping for.

Dripping with history (built during the Roaring 20's) and old world charm, the Francis Marion was just what I was hoping it would be. A grand lobby decorated for the holidays was an unexpected treat. Great location, lovely park across the street, shopping, museums and art galleries within walking distance. Great experience in a very cool town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charleston Grill - great room, exceptional food and service, and serious musicians playing jazz. Gotta love it.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Cooley
Couples
Charleston
Dec 23, 2012

A great vacation was had by both.

I wanted a hotel that had character and a location that would for us to walk out of the front door and be in the nightlife. That is what we had and definitely took advantage of. If you are looking for an older building with good character and history in the walls and a nice street to enjoy shopping and food, then this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baugh
Couples
Clarinda, Iowa
Jan 2, 2013

Holiday vacation

The Francis Marion is nicely located within walking distance of several attractions. The Swamp Fox resturaunt had excellent food and service. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top