$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunburned Sharon
Business
Upstate NY
Jul 14, 2010

Nice place to stay

It was our first time to Charleston and we think this was a nice place to stay. The staff were quite friendly and helpful--we especially recommend the concierge for help with tourist attractions and DIRECTIONS. While parking was expensive--it was the same all over Charleston. Also, be prepared that the parking for the hotel is not connected to the hotel. We recommend the Swamp Fox restaurant (within the hotel) for a nice, casual, delicious dinner. The hotel is in a pretty good spot for reaching shopping on King St. and other attractions. It is also a good landmark due to its height if you get lost. We would return which is about the best compliment you can offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Like we mentioned before...go see the concierge for assistance with directions and recommendations for things you are interested in seeing while on your stay. The directions we received for a couple of things were extrememly helpful since they included landmarks along the way. Don't go to the tourist center...stop here for more useful info. Also...most everything in Charleston that you want to see closes EARLY; so have the concierge assist you with travle plans and reservations. One other thing...be sure to take LOTS of sunscreen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lovettsville, VA
Feb 24, 2011

Sister's only weekend

My sister and I were away for a long weekend and decided it would be best to stay in the historic district of Charleston, where we would be able to walk everywhere. This hotel fit the bill! It is full of old city charm and service. It is the oldest hotel in Charleston, and though remodeled, still carries the flavor from a different era. It has a grand foyer and doors are opened for you upon your arrival. The concierge was so helpful in making plans, reservations, etc, they went out of their way to be accomodating. It is about a 5-7 block walk downtown, and there are many terrific shops and restaurants all the way up and down the street on your way! If you don't want to walk, you can catch the free trolley just across the street, it runs most of the day but does shut down by about 8-9 pm. We felt safe walking everywhere,, even late at night and it never seemed like it was too far (but we do love to walk!) Wearing comfortable shoes is a must. The beds in the hotel were very comfortable, but if you like big bathrooms, don't come here! Ours was tiny, but completely functional, we didn't mind it at all. There is no pool here so that could be a drawback in the summer when it is hot. If you don't have bottled water in your room upon arrival, just ask the front desk and they will send it up. All in all, we were very happy with our choice of hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants downtown can be quite expensive, ask the concierge about where the "locals" go to eat, we saved money this way and the food was all delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York New York
Mar 8, 2011

Maureen trip to Charleston SC

I love Charleston...The Francis Marion Hotel was very confortable...The staff was excedingly helpful...Will return there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the Hotel within 3 Blocks there are several top rated restraunts...Hank Chophouse is by far the best followed by a close second is Fish...Both restraunts I would give 4 to 5 stars both for service price and a wonderfully exciting menues.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JHLP
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Great place to visit! So much to see and do. So much history.

Very nice and friendly hotel. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherrybee
Business
New Bern, NC, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Very nice hotel

Conveniently located good pleasant service very accommodating would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ace45
Business
Durham, NC, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Great location!

We enjoyed our stay at the Francis Marion Hotel- great location, close to lots of attractions & restaurants, and very comfortable. Had a beautiful room overlooking Marion Square, with a view of the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of great restaurants on upper King Street, just a few blocks from the Francis Marion Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sojourning gardener
Business
Seven Valleys, PA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Lovely hotel, would recommend for a special occasion

My daughter and I stayed there for her 18th birthday and our first trip to Charleston. Positives: beautiful hotel, helpful staff, great room with two double beds and two bathrooms. We did not mind the bathroom size at all, unlike some reviewers. Restaurant was very good, excellent wait staff. We were within walking distance of all downtown Charleston sites, and the hotel is also right on the trolley line. Parking garage a short walk from the hotel was a few dollars cheaper than valet parking at hotel. Could be better: HVAC was difficult to balance--too warm, so we turned it off at night. A mini-fridge would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking tour with Ed Grimball in the morning, followed by a Gullah tour (African American perspective) bus tour in the afternoon. Both were excellent and gave us a good grounding in Charleston history and flavor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky115
Business
Garwood, New Jersey
Apr 15, 2012

Romantic getaway

The Francis Marion Hotel had a great deal of oldtime charm which you will not get from the major Hotel chains. The employees were all very friendly and accomodating. The Hotel had a great location and was very competitively priced We would definately stay there again if we came to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boone's Plantation was not worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlpacaBearsIntheMarket
Business
NY, NY
May 21, 2012

Little Pircey, but Nice

Great Spot, just a little expensive. Thank that could just be the town and the fact that we were there peak wedding season

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J James
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 10, 2012

In the heart of it all!

Great location for visiting historic Charleston. So many wonderful things just a short walk away. And exceptional beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Basil Thai was exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top