$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SherryK
Business
Charleston
Jun 9, 2015

Perfect location and very good breakfast

Couldn't ask for a better location or price. The hotel is slightly outdated, but the historic charm more than makes up for it. Has a Starbucks in the lobby, fantastic breakfast at the Swamp Fox restaurant and you can walk to everything (the finest shopping, antiques and restaurants in the trendy Upper King district) or take the free and convenient old fashioned trolley to the French Quarter, Rainbow Row, historic open-air market or aquarium. You get a lot for your money here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elaine C.
Business
N/A
Jul 2, 2015

Awesome weekend getaway!!

Wonderful friendly service provided Location was great. Right on king street perfect for shopping and getting to the market. We had a beautiful view from our hotel window overlooking Calhoun and king streets. Across the street from the hotel is the park. On Saturday there were vendors selling Wonderful food, vegetables, arts and crafts it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elaine C.
Business
N/A
Jul 2, 2015

Awesome weekend getaway!!

Wonderful friendly service provided Location was great. Right on king street perfect for shopping and getting to the market. We had a beautiful view from our hotel window overlooking Calhoun and king streets. Across the street from the hotel is the park. On Saturday there were vendors selling Wonderful food, vegetables, arts and crafts it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adam B.
Business
West Palm Beach
Jul 25, 2015

great business trip

This hotel was beautiful and had a lot of history to it. Everything was exceptional except for the parking situation. There was nothing stating that there would be a $16 charge for daily parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rebecca G.
Business
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

Wow! Great Experience!

My daughter and I stayed at the Francis Marion for my 50th birthday. We had an awesome experience! The staff at check in was extremely friendly and helpful, giving us a map of the area and tips on some great restaurants. I am giving a 4 for value for money due to parking of $16 per day. I think parking should have been included in our room fee. Otherwise, the hotel was A+ and I would definitely visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter C.
Business
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

Trip To MUSC Charleston

The accommodations were very nice! The hotel is beautifully done and all of the staff were very professional and courteous! I wish there was more time to enjoy the city. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ytravels
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Dec 30, 2013

Great Stay

Clean and comfortable. Incredibly helpful staff, especially the concierge, Jeff, who gave us great advice on several activities and provided guidance to excellent food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome bakery nearby with wonderful croissants and scones: Macaroon Boutique @ 45 John Street. Kudu on Vanderhorst makes a good Italian cappuccino, but their baked goods leave something to be desired.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duke rules
Business
Mebane NC
Jan 14, 2014

Anniversary

Very nice hotel and everyone working at the hotel was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
b3p0
Business
Milwaukee WI
Jan 15, 2014

Romantic Stay for Two

This is the perfect location for a stay in downtown Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to get a table at one of the finer dining establishments in the area on a Saturday night, be sure to make a reservation a day or two in advance.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Only1inTX
Business
Texas
Feb 21, 2014

Great staff and location

I have stayed at the Francis Marion before and as before they always do a good job. Staff was great and the hotel is very clean. The only drawback is that the rooms are are a little small, but this is the case with all historic hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is nothing in downtown Charleston that is not within walking distance. Save $ by taking a cab from the airport rather than renting a car

Back to menu Return to top