$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
209 reviews
20th anniversary

Great hotel. Friendly staff. I let them know I would be there for my 20th anniversary and asked for... See full review

  • Bandjstrips
  • Aug 24, 2014
Perfect Location with Elegance and History

We stayed at the Francis Marion while moving our daughter into College of Charleston. The hotel is... See full review

  • Jewellnut
  • Aug 14, 2014
Historic charm, modern conveniences in downtown Charleston
The Francis Marion Hotel was built in 1924, completely renovated in 1996 with a $12 million grant from the National Trust for Historic Preservation, but there's still plenty of old-fashioned charm. The rooms feature European-style bedding and marble bathrooms with pedestal sinks and brass fixtures. Over the years, the Francis Marion Hotel has hosted celebrities and historical figures, and its location is convenient to downtown Charleston's historic homes, shops, restaurants and other attractions.
Highlights
  • Named after Revolutionary War hero Francis Marion, "The Swamp Fox"
  • In the heart of downtown historic Charleston, walking distance from many attractions
  • Entire facility is smoke free
  • Listed on the Virginia and National Registers of Historic Places
  • The two ballrooms feature antique chandeliers, high ceilings and windows and marble accented fireplaces

 

Rooms
The Francis Marion Hotel has 233 rooms, 10 suites and seven penthouse suites. The room decor is reminiscent of 1920s grandeur, but with up-to-date amenities such as free wireless Internet and on-demand movies (fees apply).
Features
The Francis Marion Hotel offers concierge service, Spa Adagio Day Spa and an on-site fitness center.

 

Dining
The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Francis Marion Hotel also has a Starbucks on site and offers and room service.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Walking distance from many attractions downtown
Attractions
  • Charleston's Museum Mile (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park including USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 10 meeting rooms totaling 19,000 square feet, all with Wi-Fi
  • The Francis Marion added a 7,000 square-foot conference center in 2004
  • Audio/visual equipment available (fees apply)
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed. 
  • Self-parking is available at a city garage next door (fees apply). 
  • Effective January 1, 2014, valet parking will be $21 USD and self-parking will be $16 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9364
Area served
Charleston.
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 12 miles East of Charleston Airport (CHS)
Area description
Located in Historic Downtown Charleston. Marion square park- across the street, king street shops and galleries - 1 block, college of charleston - 0.25 mile, fort sumter tours - 0.5 mile, south carolina aquarium - 0.5 mile, old market place - 0.5 mile, charleston battery - 1.5 miles, old exchange - 1.5 miles, The citadel-2 miles, USS yorktown - 5.5 miles, Boone hall plantation - 9.5 miles, Magnolia plantation - 14 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
One king or two double beds. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings. 350 square feet. Rooms includes air conditioning, refrigerator, wake up calls, complimentary toiletries, iron and iron board, clock radio, cribs(infant beds)available, satellite/ cable TV with pay movies, premium bedding, complimentary newspaper, multiline phone, voice mail, coffee and tea maker, house keeping daily, extra towels and bedding in room, hair dryer, electronic and magnetic keys. European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows. Marble bathroom, pedestal sink, and brass fixtures. Nonsmoking
Treditional
Room includes one queen or two double beds. 250 square feet. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings, European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows, desk with lamp and chair, wooden armoire with TV, dual-line phone, premium cable with pay movies, marble bathroom, pedestal sink and brass fixtures, Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 7,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I Lived There
Kansas City, MO
Aug 9, 2014

Great Hotel

This place is everything it's described as... You can't beat the location or the professionalism of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are very nice dining establishments within a short walk of the hotel. Shopping is nothing short of spectacular as well.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trinxs
Baltimore, MD
Oct 7, 2013

My best hotel stay, EVER!

The Francis Marion was an excellent hotel in every way. The staff in every department went above and beyond in friendliness and to accommodate our needs. The most comfortable beds I've ever had in a hotel. Lovely room and very clean. The only thing lacking was we did not have a small refrigerator in the room. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market Strret is only a short wlak from the hotel, but right there on King Street there is exceptional shops and restaurants, just cross Calhoun St. and you're there.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Rosie
Manning, SC & San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2014

Wonderful sister trip

My Sister and I visited Charleston for the first time and we wanted to see some historical sights, do some shopping, fine dining, and just have fun in general. This hotel was perfect in every way and made our stay excellent. The accommodations were charming and comfortable and the staff went the extra mile to make sure we were satisfied. The concierge was so helpful in arranging tours and the restaurant staff was very attentive. We would highly recommend the Francis Marion to folks visiting Charleston for its convenient location and fine quality services provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free trolley provided to most areas and attractions.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mumdrum
Vienna, Virginia
Nov 18, 2013

Southern Hospitality at its Best

This lovely grand old hotel was a superb choice for us. We had the most enjoyable weekend which started the minute we arrived at the hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and terrifically kind. Thanks to all who welcomed us to the wonderful city of Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Pick up a city map and start your journey on King St. Do a loop and visit the old Market and shops all along the way. There were too many cute and fun shops to name. Enjoy!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hoboken, NJ
Jan 10, 2011

Super nice weekend

Hotel looks really nice & so do rooms! I love the park across the street. Stuff is SUPER nice, always very helpful and polite! I had a facial down in the spa Adagio; I highly recommend that! [...] and [...] were great; I will make sure to have a facial with [...] next time! I can not wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend the rastaurant and bar on the 2.nd floor in Cypress, 167 East Bay st. I loved loved the restaurant downstairs the hotel as well - I had such a great breakfast and nice time with some drinks and appetizers late afternoon. Stuff was amazing!!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 2, 2008

Great Location and Atmosphere

The Francis Marion Hotel was centrally located and within walking distance of many historical attractions and wonderful restaurants. Its quaint atmosphere transport you back to a simpler time. Our stay there was most enjoyable and we would not hesitate to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CO Wanderer
Denver, CO
Sep 25, 2012

Fantastic!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation in my own town
Goose Creek, SC
Jan 17, 2011

Great place to stay!

We really enjoyed our stay at the Francis Marion Hotel. We live just outside Charleston and decided to take a vacation in our town! We already knew where we wanted to go while staying in Charleston and Francis Marion was centrally located to all of the local attractions. The staff was friendly, parking was convenient and reasonably priced, and our room was fantastic. The hotel has historical charm (we had 2 complete bathrooms in our room) but with modern comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Charleston is a town that needs to be walked!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
louisville, ky
Apr 23, 2009

a perfect stay at the francis marion!

AMAZING HOTEL!!! The staff was amazing- the doormen were SO helpful each day in giving me directions around town and getting a taxi for me the day I left! Even the security guard who was in the lobby when I would come in late from going out with friends was SOO nice- The room was really nice and clean- small bathroom but perfect for just a weekend getaway! PEREFECT location- connected to a starbucks (what could be better???), right in the middle of the nightlife (although my room was VERY quiet at night), and GREAT shopping within just a few steps of the hotel...I will definatly stay here again next time I go to Charleston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A dav
Charleston, SC
Aug 7, 2013

Favorite Family Getaway

Awesome experience, have a great time.Beautiful hotel, beds are extremely comfortable and best of all there is a Starbucks right downstair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations

Back to menu Return to top

Change search