$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pawleys Island, SC
Nov 17, 2009

Francis Marion Hotel

This was my wife's birthday trip. It went perfectly even the weather!!! The staff out-did themselves with good service. It is one of the most memorable trips to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We used our favorite mode of transportation in Charleston which is the Rickshaw!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dsv
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 29, 2010

Great Location...Great Luxuary

We stayed during a college visit to CofC. Great location...walking distance to the campus and resturants and boutiques on King St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crosby TX
Nov 20, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

The hotel staff was very professional and the catering was exceptional. They were great in all areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All kinds of things to see and do close to this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEWNAN GEORGIA
Jul 28, 2010

VERY GOOD VALUE AND LOCATION

WENT DURING LATE JULY,VERY HOT AND HUMID.WOULD GO BACK IN LATE FALL NEXT TIME.STAFF AT HOTEL VERY NICE AND HELPFUL.SOME OF BEST FOOD WE ATE WHILE IN CHARLESTON CAME FROM THE SWAMP FOX AT THE HOTEL,SEA FOOD PLATTER WAS VERY GOOD AND PRICED RIGHT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

TRY THEIR FOOD FIRST

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandon and Julie Todd
Business
Little River, SC
Jul 10, 2009

Awesome Charelston Vacation July 2009

This was trip was like my husband and I's second honeymoon. We stayed in room 824, 8th floor, with an amazing view looking over the city. It was as if we could watch the city go to sleep and then come back to life. The room had a feel of vintage with a hint of 2009. This added to the charm of the stay. The bathroom was small, but served it's purpose, who really needs an overly large bathroom? The Lobby, is absolutely breath taking! And the bed has got to be the most comfortable bed we have EVER slept in!! (But warning, if you are allergic to down you might want to bring your own pillow or request for foam pillow) We were given an option to valet parking for $17 per day (plus tax), or park it yourself in the city parking garage for $12 per day. The valet staff knew just how to make you feel like royalty, by opening doors, helping with shopping bags and luggage, etc. I definitely recommend slurging on the extra $5, it is much easier and the service is very worth it. The valet parking is simply billed to your room and you pay when you check out. The location was perfect! Most of the shopping and restaurants are maybe a block or two away. The hotel has room service available, although it is very pricey! It's also nice to have a Starbucks downstairs. Also, every morning the USA Today is delivered at your door. After reading some or the reviews, we were a bit nervous, but this hotel is absolutely beautiful and we definitely will be returning every chance we get!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
May 25, 2011

Beautiful hotel & friendly staff

The rooms were nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 2, 2009

Location, Location, Location.

I know the bathrooms are small but that is my only complaint. It is one of the older hotels so you get what you pay for. YOu are right on King Street and will not have a need for your car if you are on vacation. (Cost around 15/day in addition to your room for parking)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close. You are in the heart of Charleston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicme
Business
Portland, ME
Jul 11, 2011

Fantastic Hotel and Visit to Charleston

We stayed at the Francis Marion Hotel for three nights for a vacation getaway. We had heard wonderful things about Charleston and were excited to embark upon an adventure in a new city. Upon arrival, we were greeted with smiling and very helpful faces who helped us to check-in much earlier than anticipated since our flight got in pretty early in the day. They immediately found a room for us, provided us with a map of the city, and made some dining recommendations for us. During our stay we consulted with the front desk several times for tips, recommendations, etc and they were always extremely helpful and seemed happy to share their knowledge of Charleston. The hotel itself is gorgeous and we were drawn to staying here due to it's 1920's feel and charm-- we were certainly not disappointed! The hotel is gorgeous- a true gem- with a very welcoming lobby and beautiful guest rooms. The hotel is located on King Street, directly across from a park that hosts a fantastic farmer's market on Saturday mornings. It is very close to shopping, museums, restaurants, and only about a 20 minute walk to Battery Park and the waterfront. We walked everywhere the entire time we were in town and never felt that the hotel was too far away-- it was a perfect location. I am confident that anyone staying at the Francis Marion will have a remarkable stay in the beautiful and charming city of Charleston! We can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One morning during our stay we asked the valets for a recommendation for breakfast and they recommended Virginia's on King Street. We had a phenomenal meal here and it was an adorable restaurant! We were not disappointed in the slightest!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jan 9, 2011

Great!

Terrific location. Close walk to College of Charleston and shopping on King Street. A little more of a walk, but very manageable, to Market Square and the Battery. In room dining was tasty and prompt. King sized bed was comfortable. Plenty of hot water for long showers. Valet service was great. The only thing that I would love to see, which is included with alot of the old historic hotels, is complimentary afternoon tea. This was the fourth time that we stayed here and we just love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hendersonville, NC
Jan 10, 2011

Excellent service, accomodations, room

In the heart of downtown, the perfect location to view Charleston whether walking or driving to the various historic locations in and around the city. We had a wonderful view of the city from our room. The hotel was clean and the employees were charming and helpful from the valets, housekeeping staff to desk clerks and manager. I will return and recomend the Francis Marion to anyone traveling there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hyman Seafood Resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top