$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CO Wanderer
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 25, 2012

Fantastic!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skipstrr
Business
Philadelphia PA
Nov 24, 2012

Fantastic history and architecture

From the minute you enter main lobby, the staff is fantastic. My experience rated with"W" hotels in Manhattan ! Try the " she crab" soup at Swamp Fox. Great location to everything...pack walking shoes for serious shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine with locals up on King St. I enjoyed "Mercury" Never saw so much duck- my favorite- on a menu!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Bee
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2012

Great stay

Awesome weekend in Charleston. Friendly staff, clean hotel and overall appearance was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st time Charleston visit
Business
New Jersey
Jan 23, 2013

Comfy upscale hotel

A great choice for our first time in Charleston. The beds were super comfortable. The staff is extremely accommodating and pleasant. It was off season so they upgraded our room and great rate in the off season! A very nice surprise. The location is perfect, walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The attached parking garage was very convenient with special rates for hotel guests. We are staying at the Francis Marion the next time we visit Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rested and rejuvinated
Business
North Carolina
May 30, 2013

a getaway retreat in style

comfort, ambiance, charm and the perfect location for anything you want to experience in downtown charleston. we loved it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

we used the trolleys to get anyplace we needed to go downtown. no bother with trying to find parking spaces or worry about where the nearest parking garage was, just hop on one of the two trolleys and you can go anyplace you want downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A dav
Business
Charleston, SC
Aug 7, 2013

Favorite Family Getaway

Awesome experience, have a great time.Beautiful hotel, beds are extremely comfortable and best of all there is a Starbucks right downstair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ahenson
Business
South Carolina
Aug 18, 2013

Charleston getaway

Had a girls weekend in charleston. The Frances Marion Hotel was fabulous! The bathroom was a little small. The staff was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Pasta has a great menu!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cleetus
Business
Evanston, IL
Sep 5, 2013

Great Hotel

Right in the heart of everything. You can literally walk everywhere. We had a wonderful view of the harbor. We'll be going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britt Ultimate Traveler
Business
Cartersville, Georgia
Sep 7, 2013

Highly Suggested

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay at the Francis Marion hotel. The hotel was clean, friendly, and accommodating. Additionally, the price was not overwhelming like many of Charleston's downtown hotels. That makes this hotel and its amenities a huge value. I highly suggest staying at the Francis Marion when visiting Charleston, SC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss Charleston Crab House. Wonderful food and atmosphere that's not far from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2005alumni
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Sep 16, 2013

Wedding

The Francis Marion is a historic gem located in the heart of downtown Charleston. It's within walking distance to most of the city and has all the amenities you'd expect, well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top