$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
243 reviews
Amazing trip !!!

Everything was perfect , excellent location , everyone at the hotel was extremely professional. See full review

  • Elsa J.
  • Apr 24, 2015
Best service ever

On three different occasions I needed something brought to my room and each time They were at my... See full review

  • Reid M.
  • Apr 6, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Large, beautifully restored room offering one king or two double beds with heavenly pillow-top mattress and luxurious bedding with triple sheeting. Features sitting area, marble and granite bathroom, dedicated work area with desk, a vanity, complimentary wireless internet, flat-panel TV with HD cable including HBO and Showtime, coffee maker. Non-smoking.
Traditional
Beautifully restored room offering one queen or two double beds with heavenly pillow-top mattress and luxurious bedding with triple sheeting. Features marble and granite bathroom, dedicated work area with desk, a vanity, complimentary wireless internet, flat-panel TV with HD cable including HBO and Showtime, coffee maker. Non-smoking.
Francis Marion Suite
Large, beautifully restored corner bedroom offers one king bed with heavenly pillow-top mattress and luxurious bedding with triple sheeting. Features marble and granite bathroom, dedicated work area with desk, vanity, flat panel TV, coffee maker. The separate living room features a pullout sofa, sitting area, table for 4, small refrigerator, safe, flat panel TV with HD cable including HBO and Showtime.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Dining

Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar
The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar, named for Revolutionary War hero, General Francis Marion, features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Our Chefs create regional specialties that emphasize farm to table practices using locally grown fruits and vegetables with respect to the traditional beloved flavors and techniques of the Old South. Known for its award-winning Shrimp and Grits, The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar overlooks historic Marion Square Park and is popular with both locals and visitors to Charleston. Guests can enjoy live jazz piano Friday and Saturday nights while sipping cocktails in the casually elegant surroundings.
Starbucks
There is a Starbucks located in the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 19,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rested and rejuvinated
North Carolina
May 30, 2013

a getaway retreat in style

comfort, ambiance, charm and the perfect location for anything you want to experience in downtown charleston. we loved it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

we used the trolleys to get anyplace we needed to go downtown. no bother with trying to find parking spaces or worry about where the nearest parking garage was, just hop on one of the two trolleys and you can go anyplace you want downtown

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan Oh
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 9, 2014

Enjoyable stay

Great location with friendly staff. Bathroom is pretty small but acceptable. I would recommend this hotel to those who are traveling to Charleston, SC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Rosie
Business
Manning, SC & San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2014

Wonderful sister trip

My Sister and I visited Charleston for the first time and we wanted to see some historical sights, do some shopping, fine dining, and just have fun in general. This hotel was perfect in every way and made our stay excellent. The accommodations were charming and comfortable and the staff went the extra mile to make sure we were satisfied. The concierge was so helpful in arranging tours and the restaurant staff was very attentive. We would highly recommend the Francis Marion to folks visiting Charleston for its convenient location and fine quality services provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free trolley provided to most areas and attractions.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jag656
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 5, 2014

Fantastic hotel!

I lived in charleston for 6 years and always wanted to stay here. Glad I finally did. Can't beat the location. Great room and view. I would certainly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Maryland
Jun 30, 2011

Perfect Location

We stayed at this Hotel for my daughter's orientation at the College Of Charleston. The location was perfect. It was only a block away from the College and at the same time it was right in the middle of the main King Street shopping/restaurant district. It's an old Hotel that has been beautifully restored. The room was lovely, the beds were comfortable with great linens and it was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small but functional. All employees that we had contact with were friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most shops on King Street close early.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DTraveller
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Great experience

I had a fantastic one night stay. Ive stayed at other premier hotels in the Historic Downtown area of Charleston, but the comfort and class of Francis Marion is a cut above. Very happy with the hotel and its staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The upper King Street area has awesome places to dine if you don't mind waiting a few minutes for a table and once your done, there are several top notch night clubs in the immediate vicinity. Francis Marion is perfect location to start from.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TobyH
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Quick visit

The room was large with a nice King bed. It had ample closet space and two full (albeit small) bathrooms. The location is good; easy to get to upper King as well as to the tip of the peninsula. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaelin
Business
New York, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Enjoy my stay at an old lovely classy hotel. Love the architect of the hotel.

Staff are friendly and informative. Service are impecable. Would stay there again! I wish they provide tea bags as well as coffee in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wichita Lineman
Business
Lockport, New York
May 6, 2012

Yankee Carpetbaggers Invade Charleston

On our way back north after an Easter visit with our daughter. My wife and I decided to take in the sights of Charleston SC. Our decision to stay at the Francis Marion was based on price and location to the city center. We were not disappointed! The Francis Marion set us just on the outer edge of the Charleston shopping strip and almost next door to the university. A short morning walk through the opening stores placed us directly in the center of the "old town". Free trolleys were available on a regular schedule, but the walk was pleasant. Our first room was huge, but my wife desired more of a view and with a quick call to the front desk, we were given a smaller room, but with a window view to the main street and a view of the harbour. The small bar in the resturant was a pleasant stop at the end of a busy day. Our only complaint is the necessity of paying for parking in the lot next door. Valet parking was available (in the lot) if one didn't want to park themselves, but just add the price of parking into the room charge and have done with it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The carrage rides don't know which part of town they will be able to view until they are loaded and leaving the staging area. Too late if you already seen that part of town. The ride was pleasant and informative, but we were glad that we had already walked the area we wanted to see. Because the carriage ride took a different location.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RAVENCONNORGAVIN GRAMMIE
Business
MERRITT ISLAND, FLORIDA
Jul 6, 2012

AWESOME

THIS WAS MY FIRST VISIT TO CHARLESTON AND EVERYTHING WAS GREAT. I LOOK FORWARD TO RETURNING AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

SWAMP FOX WAS JUST LOVELY.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOHN and PAT
Business
FARMINGVILLE, NY
Aug 25, 2012

great short getaway

THE STAFF AT THIS HOTEL WAS NOTHING SHORT OF WONDERFUL FROM THE BELL STAFF TO THE FRONT DESK, THEY COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR YOU. THE HOTEL IS A BEAUTIFUL OLD STYLE HOTEL. THE BEDS WERE EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE. WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN. LOCATION IS PERFECT FOR TOURING THE HISTORIC DISTRICT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top