$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
243 reviews
Great Location

Amazing location, very close to the park, College of Charleston and amazing nightlife. The room is... See full review

  • Sooch
  • Sep 1, 2015
The place to stay in Charleston

Truly a wonderful stay - staff were/are so very friendly, attentive and efficient. True pros. We... See full review

  • Charles R.
  • Aug 29, 2015
The Francis Marion Hotel was built in 1924, completely renovated in 1996 with a $12 million grant from the National Trust for Historic Preservation, but there's still plenty of old-fashioned charm. The rooms feature European-style bedding and marble bathrooms with pedestal sinks and brass fixtures. Over the years, the Francis Marion Hotel has hosted celebrities and historical figures, and its location is convenient to downtown Charleston's historic homes, shops, restaurants and other attractions.
Dining
The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Francis Marion Hotel also has a Starbucks on site and offers and room service.
Rooms
The Francis Marion Hotel has 233 rooms, 10 suites and seven penthouse suites. The room decor is reminiscent of 1920s grandeur, but with up-to-date amenities such as free wireless Internet and on-demand movies (fees apply).
Property features
The Francis Marion Hotel offers concierge service, Spa Adagio Day Spa and an on-site fitness center.

 

Highlights
  • Named after Revolutionary War hero Francis Marion, "The Swamp Fox"
  • In the heart of downtown historic Charleston, walking distance from many attractions
  • Entire facility is smoke free
  • Listed on the Virginia and National Registers of Historic Places
  • The two ballrooms feature antique chandeliers, high ceilings and windows and marble accented fireplaces

 

Nearby attractions
  • Charleston's Museum Mile (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park including USS Yorktown (5 mi/8 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 10 meeting rooms totaling 19,000 square feet, all with Wi-Fi
  • The Francis Marion added a 7,000 square-foot conference center in 2004
  • Audio/visual equipment available (fees apply)
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Amtrak station (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Walking distance from many attractions downtown
Policies
  • No pets allowed. 
  • Self-parking is available at a city garage next door (fees apply). 
  • Effective January 1, 2014, valet parking will be $21 USD and self-parking will be $16 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 76 reviews
★★★
$159
4.2 / 5 117 reviews
★★★★
$203
4.3 / 5 125 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 85 reviews
★★★
$149
4.2 / 5 24 reviews
★★★★★
$236
4.5 / 5 172 reviews
★★★★
$169
4.0 / 5 46 reviews
★★★
$169
3.7 / 5 31 reviews

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Large, beautifully restored room offering one king or two double beds with heavenly pillow-top mattress and luxurious bedding with triple sheeting. Features sitting area, marble and granite bathroom, dedicated work area with desk, a vanity, complimentary wireless internet, flat-panel TV with HD cable including HBO and Showtime, coffee maker. Non-smoking.
Traditional
Beautifully restored room offering one queen or two double beds with heavenly pillow-top mattress and luxurious bedding with triple sheeting. Features marble and granite bathroom, dedicated work area with desk, a vanity, complimentary wireless internet, flat-panel TV with HD cable including HBO and Showtime, coffee maker. Non-smoking.
Francis Marion Suite
Large, beautifully restored corner bedroom offers one king bed with heavenly pillow-top mattress and luxurious bedding with triple sheeting. Features marble and granite bathroom, dedicated work area with desk, vanity, flat panel TV, coffee maker. The separate living room features a pullout sofa, sitting area, table for 4, small refrigerator, safe, flat panel TV with HD cable including HBO and Showtime.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Dining

Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar
The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar, named for Revolutionary War hero, General Francis Marion, features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Our Chefs create regional specialties that emphasize farm to table practices using locally grown fruits and vegetables with respect to the traditional beloved flavors and techniques of the Old South. Known for its award-winning Shrimp and Grits, The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar overlooks historic Marion Square Park and is popular with both locals and visitors to Charleston. Guests can enjoy live jazz piano Friday and Saturday nights while sipping cocktails in the casually elegant surroundings.
Starbucks
There is a Starbucks located in the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 19,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DrJam
Couples
Fairfax,VA
Dec 29, 2012

Very disappointed

Room was dirty and not well maintained. The thermostat was falling off the wall. The floor vents were all bent with floor tiles missing around them. Upgrade to suite turned out to be a conference room with a bedroom. Certainly not the romantic getaway I planned on. I would never stay there again. The restaurant breakfast brunch was barely edible. Very poor overall rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Tourists
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jan 18, 2010

not much good to say...

The hotel has been nicely remodeled, but the rooms were quite small. We booked a queen, and got their "equivalent" -- I didn't know hotels even used full-size beds. The rooms were so small we had nowhere to even put our luggage. The bathroom was painfully tight-quartered. As a petite person, I felt cramped. My leg got stuck getting in the shower between the toilet and the tub, then I hit my head twice trying to access the shelf for shampoo, etc. Guests with average height/weight (or more) would be miserable. The restaurant was HORRIBLE and extremely over-priced for what you get. We had drinks in the bar then had dinner. Both were extremely disappointing. Can't say the service was much better. The next morning we decided to check out and go to another hotel. The manager was beyond rude to us. For her awful attitude alone, I would tell anyone to steer clear of the Francis Marion Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Columbia, SC
Jun 22, 2010

Great Location, but not clean!

Not very clean especially the bathroom, air conditioner poor, extremely small bathrooms, thin walls, and noisy. I would not stay here again and also very pricey to not be well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Aug 17, 2009

Very Disappointed in Quality

When I arrived they didn't have my Orbitz reservation adn showed it as a standard room. I reserved a deluxe room. They reluctanly upgraded it. When I entered the room the bath amd bedlinens were clammy, damp. I put on the AC but it didn't seen to work. I had to request AC adjustment several days/times. Supposedly the engineer adjusted it but it never seemed to work properly. It had to be set at 60 degrees and constanly blasting on one side of the room, so the bed was freezing but the bathrom was too humid. I didn't want frigid air I wanted it to remove humidity. There was no exhaust in the bathroom, so the heat and humidity built up and couldn't be dissipated by the poorly working AC. Dressing for work was not pleasant. I would never use the tub for a bath as the bottom of the tub was disgusting. The orbitz lisiting said this hotelwas recently refurbished. In reality the carpet and upholstery in the room and in public areas were shabby. Getting a taxi was a trial. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jean2946
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Sep 12, 2011

Disappointment in Charleston

The hotel is located on a very busy corner - King & Calhoun. Parking is adequate. Hotel lobby was beautiful but from there it went downhill. Our "deluxe" king room was not deluxe. The bathroom was very small, with 1 sink and the faucett spilled water onto the counter. You had to be careful not to slip when getting into the tub/ shower. The carpet was frayed and the maid service was terrible - as a small example coffee table was never cleaned, coffee for coffeemaker was not replaced and the air conditioner ran most of the time with damp cool air. Reception desk only apologized. Not worth the price. Will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sightseeing sister
Family
Texas
Jul 1, 2013

Not a great experience.

The dresser was not situated correctly and had a drawer that stuck out, ready to hit a shin. The air conditioner blew right on the bed. The room temperature was either too hot or too cold. If there was a way to make a nice cool surrounding temperature, we did not find it. There was only one or two working elevators (out of 3) at any given time. Cost twice what we spent at other hotels in the city and yet was the worst stay we experienced. And the others served a free hot breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K RAS
Couples
Alpharetta, GA
Jul 8, 2013

Not as I Expected

Other than location and high class lobby area, I didn't see anything more than a basic $80 hotels to impress me, with close to $400 a night you expect cleaner shower, a refrigerator, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cleanmoto
Couples
Austin, TX
Jul 8, 2013

it's old folks!

Great location but the hotel is very old and needs updating. The elevators took forever and every morning would stop at every floor even though it was full. The bathrooms were tiny and the carpet very old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NCOD
Couples
Graham, NC
Oct 1, 2013

Not a 4 star hotel.. Smells like puke!!

All of the elevators smelled like vomit every day, which was less than enticing when we were going out to or returning from dinner. NOT ACCEPTABLE. Also the air conditioning was broken in our room and with temperatures in Charleston soaring into the 90's in September, this was a BIG PROBLEM. We will not be back, needless to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you book a hotel either close to Market Street or King Street in the historic downtown district if you plan on touring Charleston by foot.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LoCFo22
Couples
Blountville, TN
Aug 18, 2009

Dissapointed-terrible bathrooms

Our hotel seemed nice upon arrival. First things first, being pregnant on the 8th floor and then realizing neither of the keys are programmed after your checking in & being sent up is no good-the guy at the desk asks me if I know how to use the key..QUESTION IS-does he know how to program it...let me hobble my wide self back up the hike..very slow elevators. The bathrooms are equivalent of a motorhome bathroom-it was miserable..so uncomfortable-you can't change clothes w/o hitting the walls. Maid service only 1 out of 3 days. The first day they did a half-a job anyway and didn't even take the trash out. Very irritated with the hotel. Location is nice but not GREAT and across from a park that has vendors on Sat. morning however it was NOT w/in walking distance of the market unless you want a HIKE. Not happy..at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top