$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britt Ultimate Traveler
Business
Cartersville, Georgia
Sep 7, 2013

Highly Suggested

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay at the Francis Marion hotel. The hotel was clean, friendly, and accommodating. Additionally, the price was not overwhelming like many of Charleston's downtown hotels. That makes this hotel and its amenities a huge value. I highly suggest staying at the Francis Marion when visiting Charleston, SC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss Charleston Crab House. Wonderful food and atmosphere that's not far from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cleetus
Business
Evanston, IL
Sep 5, 2013

Great Hotel

Right in the heart of everything. You can literally walk everywhere. We had a wonderful view of the harbor. We'll be going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zac Buchanan
Business
Decatur, Alabama
Sep 4, 2013

Great value!

Old hotel, great ambiance. Amenities are dated, but gives the hotel character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have brunch at Virginia's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelForever
Business
Rhode Island
Sep 2, 2013

Good Value

This hotel is in Marion square, a good location in Charleston, close to the Visitors Center and near one of the free trolley pickup spots. Also, the farmer's market is across the street on Saturdays. Charleston College is right next door, so lots of parents and college kids staying at the hotel. The Barnes and Noble college bookstore is next door. The hotel lobby is luxurious with many comfortable chairs and couches and great chandeliers. The lobby was kept at a very cool temperature, needed a sweater and socks sitting in the lobby to read. Also, Starbucks is right in the hotel, which is convenient. The room was comfortable, though the bathroom and closet were small, and it was a tight fit with the doors so close together. There are two doormen at the front door, a nice touch. The front desk staff was friendly, though better do your own research on tours as they are very limited in what they suggest. The restaurant/bar was okay, it's a real mix of professional and unprofessional people (experienced and not-at-all-experienced) who work there. It showed in service and food/drink presentation. It's not all that interesting to walk around in Marion Square though, found it too quiet. If I go to Charleston again, I might stay in the Battery section, which is near the park by the water and closer to the shops and restaurants, maybe I would stay at the Anchorage on Vendue. Charleston itself is great, I would recommend it as a vacation spot. Fun things to do there are a carriage ride, city tour, plantation tour, house tours and shopping in the Old Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would suggest bringing a good tour book that shows a lot of information in one place (like the AAA book) or have access to an internet travel site on a tablet or cell phone while in Charleston. The maps in Charleston do NOT show complete information needed in one place, like tour open/close times, plus addresses, plus trolley stops, plus pricing. You'll be looking at 2 or 3 Charleston maps to get all of the info that you need. Also, I would do some research beforehand, as there are a mind-boggling number of choices, and if your time is limited it might take up a good chunk just deciding what to do, how to get there, when to get there, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abbyw
Business
Wrightsville Beach, NC
Aug 26, 2013

Bach Party

This hotel is in the best location you can walk to all the best places!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Decker
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 23, 2013

Very Nice!

This hotel is great! The location is the best. The restaurant at the hotel wasn't too great but there are SO many others to choose from close by. The rooms are small but have everything you would need. Free wi-fi which is rare. There was a bit of an odor in the room but nothing that would cause me to complain or not want to stay here again. Price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many wonderful restaurants in the area. Too many to waste a meal at Swamp Fox. Skip it and explore the others in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ahenson
Business
South Carolina
Aug 18, 2013

Charleston getaway

Had a girls weekend in charleston. The Frances Marion Hotel was fabulous! The bathroom was a little small. The staff was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Pasta has a great menu!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A dav
Business
Charleston, SC
Aug 7, 2013

Favorite Family Getaway

Awesome experience, have a great time.Beautiful hotel, beds are extremely comfortable and best of all there is a Starbucks right downstair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bday Girl '13
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 2, 2013

Birthday Trip

This hotel had a lot of character. For the type of hotel, it was near perfect. Having had the opportunity to read reviews prior to visiting, the size of the bathroom was not a surprised. Yes, it was tiny, but who plans to stay in there all day?! The location was perfect and the staff was especially friendly and helpful. We will definitely book a room the next time we visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Virginia's has the BEST breakfast!! Andolinis has the BEST pizza...it's a must visit!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K RAS
Business
Alpharetta, GA
Jul 8, 2013

Not as I Expected

Other than location and high class lobby area, I didn't see anything more than a basic $80 hotels to impress me, with close to $400 a night you expect cleaner shower, a refrigerator, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top