$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee Loves Downtown
Business
Myrtle Beach
Jun 9, 2014

Just what is needed

This is a great central location, and ask for a room with a view, beautiful. The room was neat and clean, the bed is very comfortable. We will be staying again, just can not beat that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monza, wood fired pizza and great staff. Tough to beat.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Homecoming guest
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 3, 2014

nice room with small bathroom

The room is nice and clean, but bathroom is really small. There were noises from street at 2am Sunday morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mirt
Business
Wooster, Ohio
May 30, 2014

Son's wedding

Check in was easy as staff was informative and helpful. Room was nice and perfect for my sister and me. The day of checkout, I had a tuxedo to return but the store was closed and I was leaving for Florida. The staff made phone calls and arranged for tux to be picked up at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
endaugust
Business
New York, New York
May 28, 2014

Nice, charming, historic hotel

The best thing about this hotel is the bed. It is in great shape and very comfortable. The lobby is very nice and spacious. The fitness center is rather small and limited, especially for a 4 star hotel. The staff, while efficient, seems a bit cold and snooty for Southerners. While the hotel is located in the heart of downtown, it actually is on the upper edge of the truly historic district. I like this b/c it's in a less touristy area. But Charleston downtown is walkable to wherever. Parking is $16/day or $21/day valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jag656
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 5, 2014

Fantastic hotel!

I lived in charleston for 6 years and always wanted to stay here. Glad I finally did. Can't beat the location. Great room and view. I would certainly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotel Woos
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 28, 2014

Francis Marion

The bathrooms are way too small and something just bothers me even about stained chairs even in a historic hotel. We were next to a wedding party celebration which kept us up literally all night. The beds were comfy enough though and the location was pretty good, especially if you want to walk over to Marion Square. They let my car sit out on the street long enough for me to just ask for the keys back so we could go out to dinner. Ok, probably would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Rosie
Business
Manning, SC & San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2014

Wonderful sister trip

My Sister and I visited Charleston for the first time and we wanted to see some historical sights, do some shopping, fine dining, and just have fun in general. This hotel was perfect in every way and made our stay excellent. The accommodations were charming and comfortable and the staff went the extra mile to make sure we were satisfied. The concierge was so helpful in arranging tours and the restaurant staff was very attentive. We would highly recommend the Francis Marion to folks visiting Charleston for its convenient location and fine quality services provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free trolley provided to most areas and attractions.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chipsquack
Business
Schwenksville, PA
Apr 14, 2014

So-so hotel, but great location

We stayed here over the weekend and had a wonderful time in Charleston. The hotel is across the street from Marion Square and we really enjoyed the farmers market Saturday morning. The room itself was small, but clean and I always appreciate free wi-fi. Unfortunately, we didn't have much of an opportunity to try the restaurant or room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan Oh
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 9, 2014

Enjoyable stay

Great location with friendly staff. Bathroom is pretty small but acceptable. I would recommend this hotel to those who are traveling to Charleston, SC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pmaz
Business
new york
Apr 8, 2014

perfect to explore charleston

charming atmosphere good functional lounge and a great location to get out and see the city without bothering with a car. most everything is in walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ask at front desk or concierge and they are more than happy to get you to the places you want to see

Back to menu Return to top