$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jewellnut
Business
Beaverton, OR
Aug 14, 2014

Perfect Location with Elegance and History

We stayed at the Francis Marion while moving our daughter into College of Charleston. The hotel is conveniently located and in an elegant historical building. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are on the smaller side, but very comfortable and kept very clean. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish and Poogan's Porch were excellent and near the hotel. The restaurant in the Francis Marion is also excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kolzz
Business
Sarasota, Fl
Aug 14, 2014

Wish we could have stayed longer

From the moment we checked in until the moment we left our experience could not have been any better. The check in was seamless and everyone was totally on top of their position. The staff is over the top friendly and helpful and took great care to get us settled quickly. The location was great and we were able to get everywhere with great ease. I can't wait to return and stay longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

I would suggest that if looking to see the sights, allow the hotel staff to assist you. They make a call and the next thing you know, a van is picking you up at the hotel and taking you to the visitor's center to begin your sight seeing experience. When your done , they return you back to the hotel. It was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CofC Family
Business
Myrtle Beach
Aug 12, 2014

Dropping Off Daughter for College

Perfect location for families visiting children at College of Charleston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poor Teacher
Business
NYC
Aug 12, 2014

Charleston Getaway

Great location. Friendly staff. Bathroom was outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ordinary was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EP and BH
Business
Arlington VA
Aug 11, 2014

Wonderful Hotel - Perfect Location

Our stay at the Francis Marion hotel was absolutely wonderful. The staff were extremely accommodating and very friendly. They offered suggestions for restaurants, gave directions to nearby attractions, and were able to answer all of our questions. The concierge, Constance, was really helpful prior to our stay in purchasing an amenity for delivery upon our arrival. Definitely recommend the VIP amenities! The room was really comfortable and clean, with an incredible view of Marion Square. After booking our reservation we called the hotel and requested a king bed with a view if possible -- they definitely delivered! Valet service was reasonably priced and very convenient. We took the car out a few times to explore and new had a very long wait. Would definitely recommend to other travelers!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Hanks! Make a reservation well in advance of your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
will15536
Business
randolph, New Jersey
Aug 10, 2014

historic

Good location and close to good restaurants. Hotel staff very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Halls chop house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I Lived There
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 9, 2014

Great Hotel

This place is everything it's described as... You can't beat the location or the professionalism of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are very nice dining establishments within a short walk of the hotel. Shopping is nothing short of spectacular as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ninivzoom
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 8, 2014

Comfortable and clean

I was there for 2 days. Room was very clean, bed comfortable, and staff very friendly. Locations is great, steps from shopping and great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judgee
Business
Louisville, Ky
Aug 5, 2014

Rest from Hilton Head

Staff were excellent from valet to registration. The rooms were a little small especially the bathroom. Terrific bed and location to the Market was excellent. Swamp Fox restaurant was excellent for dinner although when we arrived there were some noisy people at the bar. It was a lot better when they left to go to a wedding reception. The bar is located in a close proximity to the restaurant and it is too bad that there cannot be a sound proof wall in between. Breakfast was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Some very exclusive shops located on King Street at the Charleston Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penna visitor
Business
Pa
Aug 4, 2014

Good spot for first visit to Charleston

This hotel was a good choice for our first visit to the city. Askled for and got a room with a view (of Marion Square). Walking distance to lots of stuff, and the free shuttle stops across the street. Tiny bathroom was the only thing I'd change, but that's a function of hotel being built in the 1920s. Staff was excellent -- concierge, front desk, bellhops, bartenders,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top