$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spedhead1
Business
Mount Sinai, New York
Nov 13, 2012

Charleston Getaway

The hotel is a bit dated and the walls of our room were nicked and dinged up quite a bit. Our room did have a beautiful view of Marion Park and the staff was both helpful and accomodating. There were two big events going on in the hotel while we were there. Both were very loud and poorly supervised and we were a bit put off upon returning to the hotel after dinner to find the attendees (young and obnoxious) roaming the lobby and trying to crash each other's events. It was unfortunate that hotel guests had to be subjected to the mayhem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Saturday is Market Day in Marion Park. Charleston is a city of animal lovers so bring your family pet along. Magnolias for dinner a must do!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jweisler
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Nov 5, 2012

Needs a little bit of an overhaul

The staff was friendly. The room had charm, but for the price was lacking. Furniture (not antiques, newer furniture) had dings/marks. Marks on the walls that needed to be fixed. Large bright orange electrical cord running through the middle of the room. I wouldn't even sit on the sofa. Furniture was dusty. Just wasn't the experience I was hoping to receive from a hotel of this price. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CO Wanderer
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 25, 2012

Fantastic!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. FC
Business
Connecticut
Sep 5, 2012

Great Location

Great location, great stay, great value. Would highly recommend. No need for car, however beaches are $30-$40 cab ride away, each way. Great location to be close to downtown, not great for ease of beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOHN and PAT
Business
FARMINGVILLE, NY
Aug 25, 2012

great short getaway

THE STAFF AT THIS HOTEL WAS NOTHING SHORT OF WONDERFUL FROM THE BELL STAFF TO THE FRONT DESK, THEY COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR YOU. THE HOTEL IS A BEAUTIFUL OLD STYLE HOTEL. THE BEDS WERE EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE. WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN. LOCATION IS PERFECT FOR TOURING THE HISTORIC DISTRICT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
white cat
Business
Wilmington,nc
Aug 23, 2012

elegant Charleston charm

The historic charm of this hotel shines through. Its location is within walking distance to many sites in the city. We had a great view of city and the beautiful park across the street. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you walk to the right of the hotel on king st, there are many shops along the way. Make sure you go to the market.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter D
Business
Aiken SC
Aug 10, 2012

COMFORTABLE, NICE AMBIENCE

Hotel is undergoing renovations ...some rooms not yet complete....but a nice place to stay located on all free trolly runs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J James
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 10, 2012

In the heart of it all!

Great location for visiting historic Charleston. So many wonderful things just a short walk away. And exceptional beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Basil Thai was exceptional.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kmmm
Business
Trinity Florida
Jul 6, 2012

Fun get away

This hotel is nice and historic. The bathrooms are extremely small. The hotel needs some painting to clean it up. The rooms do not look like you would expect they would after going through the lobby. Much less. The historic tours and shopping are fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes for walking.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RAVENCONNORGAVIN GRAMMIE
Business
MERRITT ISLAND, FLORIDA
Jul 6, 2012

AWESOME

THIS WAS MY FIRST VISIT TO CHARLESTON AND EVERYTHING WAS GREAT. I LOOK FORWARD TO RETURNING AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

SWAMP FOX WAS JUST LOVELY.

Back to menu Return to top