$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Cooley
Business
Charleston
Dec 23, 2012

A great vacation was had by both.

I wanted a hotel that had character and a location that would for us to walk out of the front door and be in the nightlife. That is what we had and definitely took advantage of. If you are looking for an older building with good character and history in the walls and a nice street to enjoy shopping and food, then this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Bee
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2012

Great stay

Awesome weekend in Charleston. Friendly staff, clean hotel and overall appearance was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thin Vin
Business
Worcester, MA
Nov 29, 2012

Just what I was hoping for.

Dripping with history (built during the Roaring 20's) and old world charm, the Francis Marion was just what I was hoping it would be. A grand lobby decorated for the holidays was an unexpected treat. Great location, lovely park across the street, shopping, museums and art galleries within walking distance. Great experience in a very cool town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charleston Grill - great room, exceptional food and service, and serious musicians playing jazz. Gotta love it.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skipstrr
Business
Philadelphia PA
Nov 24, 2012

Fantastic history and architecture

From the minute you enter main lobby, the staff is fantastic. My experience rated with"W" hotels in Manhattan ! Try the " she crab" soup at Swamp Fox. Great location to everything...pack walking shoes for serious shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine with locals up on King St. I enjoyed "Mercury" Never saw so much duck- my favorite- on a menu!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spedhead1
Business
Mount Sinai, New York
Nov 13, 2012

Charleston Getaway

The hotel is a bit dated and the walls of our room were nicked and dinged up quite a bit. Our room did have a beautiful view of Marion Park and the staff was both helpful and accomodating. There were two big events going on in the hotel while we were there. Both were very loud and poorly supervised and we were a bit put off upon returning to the hotel after dinner to find the attendees (young and obnoxious) roaming the lobby and trying to crash each other's events. It was unfortunate that hotel guests had to be subjected to the mayhem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Saturday is Market Day in Marion Park. Charleston is a city of animal lovers so bring your family pet along. Magnolias for dinner a must do!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jweisler
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Nov 5, 2012

Needs a little bit of an overhaul

The staff was friendly. The room had charm, but for the price was lacking. Furniture (not antiques, newer furniture) had dings/marks. Marks on the walls that needed to be fixed. Large bright orange electrical cord running through the middle of the room. I wouldn't even sit on the sofa. Furniture was dusty. Just wasn't the experience I was hoping to receive from a hotel of this price. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CO Wanderer
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 25, 2012

Fantastic!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. FC
Business
Connecticut
Sep 5, 2012

Great Location

Great location, great stay, great value. Would highly recommend. No need for car, however beaches are $30-$40 cab ride away, each way. Great location to be close to downtown, not great for ease of beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOHN and PAT
Business
FARMINGVILLE, NY
Aug 25, 2012

great short getaway

THE STAFF AT THIS HOTEL WAS NOTHING SHORT OF WONDERFUL FROM THE BELL STAFF TO THE FRONT DESK, THEY COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR YOU. THE HOTEL IS A BEAUTIFUL OLD STYLE HOTEL. THE BEDS WERE EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE. WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN. LOCATION IS PERFECT FOR TOURING THE HISTORIC DISTRICT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
white cat
Business
Wilmington,nc
Aug 23, 2012

elegant Charleston charm

The historic charm of this hotel shines through. Its location is within walking distance to many sites in the city. We had a great view of city and the beautiful park across the street. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you walk to the right of the hotel on king st, there are many shops along the way. Make sure you go to the market.

Back to menu Return to top