$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skipstrr
Single
Philadelphia PA
Nov 24, 2012

Fantastic history and architecture

From the minute you enter main lobby, the staff is fantastic. My experience rated with"W" hotels in Manhattan ! Try the " she crab" soup at Swamp Fox. Great location to everything...pack walking shoes for serious shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine with locals up on King St. I enjoyed "Mercury" Never saw so much duck- my favorite- on a menu!

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sightseeing sister
Family
Texas
Jul 1, 2013

Not a great experience.

The dresser was not situated correctly and had a drawer that stuck out, ready to hit a shin. The air conditioner blew right on the bed. The room temperature was either too hot or too cold. If there was a way to make a nice cool surrounding temperature, we did not find it. There was only one or two working elevators (out of 3) at any given time. Cost twice what we spent at other hotels in the city and yet was the worst stay we experienced. And the others served a free hot breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSusan
Couples
Bluffton, SC
Jun 12, 2013

Great Staff

Every person working at this hotel is gracious and helpful. Beds very comfortable !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PK momo
Couples
Coral Spring, FL
Jun 5, 2013

It was a beautiful historic hotel

Great location. Very clean and nice. Would stay there again. We walked on King street and had a great time exploring the restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blank blank blank blank
Friends
san diego
May 30, 2013

2 night stay at the beginning of Spoleta

The price for the friday night stay is outrageous.. and you didnt include parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go eat at Martha Lou's Kitchen

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rested and rejuvinated
Couples
North Carolina
May 30, 2013

a getaway retreat in style

comfort, ambiance, charm and the perfect location for anything you want to experience in downtown charleston. we loved it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

we used the trolleys to get anyplace we needed to go downtown. no bother with trying to find parking spaces or worry about where the nearest parking garage was, just hop on one of the two trolleys and you can go anyplace you want downtown

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PeteyO
Couples
New York, NY
May 29, 2013

Francis Marion

Better Value, needs some updating, could use some more space in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

King St. Lots of Fun, it's right there

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkandLori
Couples
michigan
May 18, 2013

We loved the Francis Marion

Spent two nights during a vacation visit to Charleston... Beautiful, spacious room with two bathrooms for a reasonable price. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Location close to King Street shops but a long walk to south side and the Battery. 41/2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike... Much to see but parking a hassle. Try the crepes at Queen Street Grocery.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron and Colleen
Couples
Long Island, NY
Mar 29, 2013

Perfect getaway!!

Loved the yesteryear charm with modern day conveniences. Great location for dining, drinking and tours that this beautiful city has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the FREE trolley service. Takes you to or near everything. No need to use a car or taxi.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed dee
Couples
ny
Mar 26, 2013

Good,bad&ulgy

Location,location very good. Lobby was impressive. Plumbing in shower had to be repaired (7 hrs) than the sink hot water stopped for 1 hour. The staff explained the hotel was built in 1924. Despite the obvious we had a great time in this city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty to see and eat. We didn't rent a car and never missed it. I think we walked 2-3 miles a day. Plenty of window shopping and history.

Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PGeo
Friends
Minnesota
Mar 12, 2013

Girl's weekend

We enjoyed the hotel in Charleston very much. The room was clean and the beds comfy. One complaint is the room was too hot, air conditioning was not working correctly. The location was great as well. Close enough to busy areas, but not too close to be in the busiest/loudest sections of the city. We only stayed one night, so hard to judge on a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The music scene was not a middle age group friendly. We had a hard time finding a live band to dance to. There were young bars and older crowds at the jazz clubs, but the crowds were small and quiet. We found Charleston to be a quiet town for a girl's weekend who are in their 30-40's. It was a little formal. We did find some fun the next day at Folly Beach.

Back to menu Return to top