$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Francis Marion Hotel

4 stars
387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
217 reviews
Relaxing mini vacation

Every employee at the hotel are very professional and friendly, they assisted us. Perfect location... See full review

  • Rupert my little boy
  • Sep 16, 2014
Loved this hotel

Recommend Valet Parking for the convenience of getting in and out quickly- great staff - so... See full review

  • Cotton Club
  • Aug 25, 2014
The Francis Marion Hotel, located in the heart of historic Charleston. South Carolina was the largest and grandest in the Carolinas when it opened in 1924 named for General Francis Marion the swamp Fox of the American Revolution. The Francis Marion Hotel in Charleston re-opened in 1996, after a $12 million National Trust award wining restoration, and is once again Charleston's grand hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Francis Marion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Francis Marion Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
One king or two double beds. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings. 350 square feet. Rooms includes air conditioning, refrigerator, wake up calls, complimentary toiletries, iron and iron board, clock radio, cribs(infant beds)available, satellite/ cable TV with pay movies, premium bedding, complimentary newspaper, multiline phone, voice mail, coffee and tea maker, house keeping daily, extra towels and bedding in room, hair dryer, electronic and magnetic keys. European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows. Marble bathroom, pedestal sink, and brass fixtures. Nonsmoking
Treditional
Room includes one queen or two double beds. 250 square feet. Early 20th-century decor and furnishings, European-style bedding with overstuffed duvets and down pillows, desk with lamp and chair, wooden armoire with TV, dual-line phone, premium cable with pay movies, marble bathroom, pedestal sink and brass fixtures, Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.5 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A full array of business services is available for conferences and meetings. Host an elegant business meeting in one of conference rooms. The new conference facility features 7,000 square feet of total conference space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Francis Marion Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kmmm
Business
Trinity Florida
Jul 6, 2012

Fun get away

This hotel is nice and historic. The bathrooms are extremely small. The hotel needs some painting to clean it up. The rooms do not look like you would expect they would after going through the lobby. Much less. The historic tours and shopping are fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes for walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RAVENCONNORGAVIN GRAMMIE
Business
MERRITT ISLAND, FLORIDA
Jul 6, 2012

AWESOME

THIS WAS MY FIRST VISIT TO CHARLESTON AND EVERYTHING WAS GREAT. I LOOK FORWARD TO RETURNING AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

SWAMP FOX WAS JUST LOVELY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlpacaBearsIntheMarket
Business
NY, NY
May 21, 2012

Little Pircey, but Nice

Great Spot, just a little expensive. Thank that could just be the town and the fact that we were there peak wedding season

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wichita Lineman
Business
Lockport, New York
May 6, 2012

Yankee Carpetbaggers Invade Charleston

On our way back north after an Easter visit with our daughter. My wife and I decided to take in the sights of Charleston SC. Our decision to stay at the Francis Marion was based on price and location to the city center. We were not disappointed! The Francis Marion set us just on the outer edge of the Charleston shopping strip and almost next door to the university. A short morning walk through the opening stores placed us directly in the center of the "old town". Free trolleys were available on a regular schedule, but the walk was pleasant. Our first room was huge, but my wife desired more of a view and with a quick call to the front desk, we were given a smaller room, but with a window view to the main street and a view of the harbour. The small bar in the resturant was a pleasant stop at the end of a busy day. Our only complaint is the necessity of paying for parking in the lot next door. Valet parking was available (in the lot) if one didn't want to park themselves, but just add the price of parking into the room charge and have done with it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The carrage rides don't know which part of town they will be able to view until they are loaded and leaving the staging area. Too late if you already seen that part of town. The ride was pleasant and informative, but we were glad that we had already walked the area we wanted to see. Because the carriage ride took a different location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky115
Business
Garwood, New Jersey
Apr 15, 2012

Romantic getaway

The Francis Marion Hotel had a great deal of oldtime charm which you will not get from the major Hotel chains. The employees were all very friendly and accomodating. The Hotel had a great location and was very competitively priced We would definately stay there again if we came to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boone's Plantation was not worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sojourning gardener
Business
Seven Valleys, PA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Lovely hotel, would recommend for a special occasion

My daughter and I stayed there for her 18th birthday and our first trip to Charleston. Positives: beautiful hotel, helpful staff, great room with two double beds and two bathrooms. We did not mind the bathroom size at all, unlike some reviewers. Restaurant was very good, excellent wait staff. We were within walking distance of all downtown Charleston sites, and the hotel is also right on the trolley line. Parking garage a short walk from the hotel was a few dollars cheaper than valet parking at hotel. Could be better: HVAC was difficult to balance--too warm, so we turned it off at night. A mini-fridge would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking tour with Ed Grimball in the morning, followed by a Gullah tour (African American perspective) bus tour in the afternoon. Both were excellent and gave us a good grounding in Charleston history and flavor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaelin
Business
New York, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Enjoy my stay at an old lovely classy hotel. Love the architect of the hotel.

Staff are friendly and informative. Service are impecable. Would stay there again! I wish they provide tea bags as well as coffee in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ace45
Business
Durham, NC, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Great location!

We enjoyed our stay at the Francis Marion Hotel- great location, close to lots of attractions & restaurants, and very comfortable. Had a beautiful room overlooking Marion Square, with a view of the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of great restaurants on upper King Street, just a few blocks from the Francis Marion Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TobyH
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Quick visit

The room was large with a nice King bed. It had ample closet space and two full (albeit small) bathrooms. The location is good; easy to get to upper King as well as to the tip of the peninsula. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherrybee
Business
New Bern, NC, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Very nice hotel

Conveniently located good pleasant service very accommodating would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top