$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Elliott House Inn

3 stars
View map of 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
24 reviews
Will return

The most adorable room with a lovely 4 poster bed! Bathroom was modernized and tasteful. I felt... See full review

  • James F.
  • Aug 6, 2015
Very nice winter stay

The Elliot House is located directly across from a parking garage and within walking distance to... See full review

  • Elizabeth R.
  • Apr 12, 2015
Look carefully among the gracious Georgian, Federal, Greek Revival, Second Empire and Queen Anne style homes of Charleston's historic Queen Street and one discovers a quaint and comfortable bed and breakfast at number 78 called The Elliott House Inn. Like Charleston itself, The Inn is an elegant survivor of a tempestuous past. Built as a private residence in 1861, this remarkably preserved architectural treasure has weathered hurricanes, earthquakes, at least one tornado and the civil war. When and where restoration has been necessary, painstaking care has been taken to ensure architectural and historical accuracy.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Elliott House Inn also booked these hotels.

★★★
$159
4.2 / 5 117 reviews
★★★★
$143
4.0 / 5 239 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 85 reviews
★★★★
$203
4.3 / 5 125 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 76 reviews
★★★★
$144
3.9 / 5 46 reviews
★★★
$141
4.2 / 5 95 reviews
★★
$89
3.1 / 5 192 reviews
★★★
$169
4.0 / 5 27 reviews

Elliott House Inn Rooms

Traditional Queen Room
This room is equipped with facilities like cable/satellite TV, Balcony,Patio,Access via exterior corridors,Blackout drapes,Complimentary newspaper,Air conditioning,Wake-up calls,Housekeeping daily,Turndown service,Hair dryer (on request),Shower/tub combination,Complimentary toiletries,Iron/ironing board (on request),Clock radio.
Traditional King Room
This room is equipped with facilities like cable/satellite TV, Balcony,Patio,Access via exterior corridors,Blackout drapes,Complimentary newspaper,Air conditioning,Wake-up calls,Housekeeping daily,Turndown service,Hair dryer (on request),Shower/tub combination,Complimentary toiletries,Iron/ironing board (on request),Clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.3 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.3 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.3 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.3 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.9 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Elliott House Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 24
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anthony.
Couples
London, England
Apr 27, 2014

Great value and location

The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Charleston with plenty of options for restaurants, bars, shopping and sightseeing. The front desk was very helpful and it was enjoyable to have the complimentary breakfast in the terrace each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BBKII
Couples
Thomasville, GA
Dec 24, 2012

Perfect Everything so close to all

If you wish the Old Charleston experience from start to finish and only a few steps away from the culture and heart, Elliot House is the place. Everyone was kind There is a major parking garage at the door as well. We were in 38 degree weather that needed outdoor heaters available in the gracious grand garden and hot tub area, under the huge meandering vine. If you are tired of the hotel feel and wonder about a 'safe' place...this is it. Luxury cuisine restaurants are on each side and will serve you in your room if you choose.....perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M Stay
Couples
Ohio
Jul 25, 2014

Wonderful inn, great location

We loved staying at the Elliott House Inn! The area was wonderful and we could walk everywhere we needed to go! The staff was great and one member was a history teacher and drew on a map for us all the great locations. Wine and cheese was a nice touch at night and breakfast in bed was wonderful. We would love to stay here again and is a great place to stay in beautiful, historic Charleston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the hotel is Poogans Porch Resturant, it was a house away and had wonderful food!

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Unk D
Couples
south carolina
Aug 4, 2014

romantic weekend

Room was very nice. Well decorated, clean and comfortable. Perfect location to fine dining and walking distance to shops, market and battery. Breakfast delivered to your room was nice. Could have been a little more to eat. Only other minor improvement item would be a small refrigerator in the room. Overal very nice and would like to visit again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 great resturants on either side of the hotel.

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tennisgram
Couples
Kentucky
Aug 24, 2014

Birthday getaway

We love the Elliott House Inn! We have stayed here a few times. It is conveniently located to the Market, King Street ,The Battery, and great places to eat! We parked our car in the secured parking garage and walked. We did take a buggy ride and learn more of the history of Charleston. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very comfortable. The free continental breakfast was a treat for me because I had it delivered to my room, but they will serve it in the courtyard also. The only recommendation I have is to place a small refrigerator in the room. We will definitely return to the Elliott House Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear very comfortable shoes like tennis shoes because most of the sidewalks are uneven terrain.

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas S.
Couples
Summerville
Jan 18, 2015

Perfect Place to Stay in Downtown Charleston

This was a return trip to the Elliott House Inn for us & we chose it due to its location to our destination & the good experience from the year before. The room was just right for us & having breakfast & the newspaper delivered to our door the next morning at the time we requested was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you have never been to Charleston & your time is limited, do some research on restaurants, local attractions, etc., & prioritize what you want to do. Don't hesitate to ask a local about his favorite places.

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth R.
Couples
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

Very nice winter stay

The Elliot House is located directly across from a parking garage and within walking distance to all the sights. We arrived to an upgraded room that was very comfortable, stylish, and clean. The Whiskey bar at Tusk is definitely worth a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James F.
Couples
Syracuse
Aug 6, 2015

Will return

The most adorable room with a lovely 4 poster bed! Bathroom was modernized and tasteful. I felt like I was in a bedroom in a home. Location is phenomenal easy walking to everywhere. Awesome restaurants right next door, Husk and Poogans Porch. Parking garage across the street was super convenient allowing easy access to your car. Breakfast was nice and served in your room or in the courtyard. Wine and cheese reception at 5! Staff was great, will return here for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NGLA
Couples
Los Angeles
Apr 15, 2014

Charming

The Elliott is in a perfect location in downtown Charleston within walking distance to many fine restaurants and the activity of king street. Small but comfortable room with nice television.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pmk 1954
Couples
North Carolina
Nov 6, 2011

Quick Charleston escape

Nice place in great spot. Rooms recently redone, very clean and comfortable, if not fancy or large. Very nice small hotel experience in historic district. Good value, esp. in relation to other hotels in the area. Will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top