$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Elliott House Inn

3 stars
78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
14 reviews
Perfect Everything so close to all

If you wish the Old Charleston experience from start to finish and only a few steps away from the... See full review

  • BBKII
  • Dec 24, 2012
Charming

The Elliott is in a perfect location in downtown Charleston within walking distance to many fine... See full review

  • NGLA
  • Apr 15, 2014
Look carefully among the gracious Georgian, Federal, Greek Revival, Second Empire and Queen Anne style homes of Charleston's historic Queen Street and one discovers a quaint and comfortable bed and breakfast at number 78 called The Elliott House Inn. Like Charleston itself, The Inn is an elegant survivor of a tempestuous past. Built as a private residence in 1861, this remarkably preserved architectural treasure has weathered hurricanes, earthquakes, at least one tornado and the civil war. When and where restoration has been necessary, painstaking care has been taken to ensure architectural and historical accuracy.

Elliott House Inn Rooms

Traditional Queen Room
This room is equipped with facilities like cable/satellite TV, Balcony,Patio,Access via exterior corridors,Blackout drapes,Complimentary newspaper,Air conditioning,Wake-up calls,Housekeeping daily,Turndown service,Hair dryer (on request),Shower/tub combination,Complimentary toiletries,Iron/ironing board (on request),Clock radio.
Traditional King Room
This room is equipped with facilities like cable/satellite TV, Balcony,Patio,Access via exterior corridors,Blackout drapes,Complimentary newspaper,Air conditioning,Wake-up calls,Housekeeping daily,Turndown service,Hair dryer (on request),Shower/tub combination,Complimentary toiletries,Iron/ironing board (on request),Clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Elliott House Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7781 -79.9323
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport
Area description
The Elliott House Inn is located in the heart of downtown Historic Charleston.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.3 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.3 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.3 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.3 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.9 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Elliott House Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.6

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
marybeth and justin
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2012

Always a lovely stay

The location doesn't get better at the heart of Charleston's Historic district. This is a lovely bed and breakfast with a wine + cheese reception every evening, very friendly staff, free bike rentals available for all guests, the list of great benefits, goes on and on! One of my favorite places to stay in Charleston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to go to Husk restaurant next door! It's one of the best restaurants on the East Coast!

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
MaxKazoo
Kalamazoo
Feb 26, 2013

Perfect

The location is very nice for getting around the city. The room was beautifully appointed and most comfortable. Wine and cheese were served in the evening and complimentary breakfast could be sent to the room or patio outside. The staff was always friendly and helpful. For sure would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
BBKII
Thomasville, GA
Dec 24, 2012

Perfect Everything so close to all

If you wish the Old Charleston experience from start to finish and only a few steps away from the culture and heart, Elliot House is the place. Everyone was kind There is a major parking garage at the door as well. We were in 38 degree weather that needed outdoor heaters available in the gracious grand garden and hot tub area, under the huge meandering vine. If you are tired of the hotel feel and wonder about a 'safe' place...this is it. Luxury cuisine restaurants are on each side and will serve you in your room if you choose.....perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
Elysa D
Highland mills, ny
Jan 13, 2013

Great place to stay

Lovely, right in the heart do downtown charleston. Great friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
Ariella
Nashville, Tennessee
Jun 1, 2012

Historic Fun

The room was about average, but the setting and history were nice. Didn't meet my expectations based on other reviews read.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
VicGill
StoneyCreek Ontario Canada
Nov 27, 2011

Fantastic husband and wife getaway

The accomodations were great, the location couldn't get any better and the staff excellent. Including wine and cheese in the court yard made a relaxing enviorment to meet with other guests. The only complaint is having to pay for parking, $20 for the day. Should have a discount for people staying at the Elliot House Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
New Yorker in Charleston
New York, New York
Apr 8, 2013

3 day mini break

This was a quaint, clean hotel, conveniently located for the walking tourist. It was so nice having breakfast in bed every morning, and the morning coffee station with to-go cups available in the courtyard was a great touch! We loved the daily 5:00 wine and cheese happy hour as well. Last bit of advice: Don't forget your swim suit; soaking in the large outdoor jacuzzi was fantastic after a long day's sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Pure theater on King Street is a great little theater company with big talent! We enjoyed seeing the Mountaintop and would definitely see another production if we find ourselves in Charleston again.

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
pmk 1954
North Carolina
Nov 6, 2011

Quick Charleston escape

Nice place in great spot. Rooms recently redone, very clean and comfortable, if not fancy or large. Very nice small hotel experience in historic district. Good value, esp. in relation to other hotels in the area. Will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
Charleston by Marriage
VA
Oct 22, 2012

An enjoyable stay

We stayed at Elliott House inn for our anniversary. The staff was attentive to needs. They were very helpful in suggesting places to go and things to do while in Charleston. The location was key. Three blocks and you are in the market and just a few blocks to carriage rides, and top restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must go to Poogan's Porch for dinner or Sunday brunch.

Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
Nikita2014
Summerville
Dec 2, 2013

Quick overnight staycation

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel, so when I found a great deal on Black Friday, I booked it immediately. We enjoyed our one night staycation at the Elliott House. It was nice being able to park the car and walk to several restaurants (we had dinner at Poogan's Porch and brunch at Husk). We meant to try the jacuzzi but ended up getting back late. We stayed in a king courtyard room and thought the room was nice. Cute little porch on the back of it - if it had been warmer I would have enjoyed eating breakfast there. The included breakfast was simple (bagel & cream cheese and half a grapefruit, or granola, yogurt and muffin or cereal), along with a coffee, tea or orange juice. But it was great to have it delivered to the room! We also enjoyed the wine & cheese before we went off to our dinner reservation. Our only issue was with the parking, I thought it would be $20 for the stay, but you have to pay each time you leave. We left to go see a comedy show so we had to pay $6 for the couple hours before, then $20 for the overnight parking. Not a big deal but thought I'd mention it. Overall, loved our stay and would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top