$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Elliott House Inn

3 stars
78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
21 reviews
Birthday getaway

We love the Elliott House Inn! We have stayed here a few times. It is conveniently located to the... See full review

  • Tennisgram
  • Aug 24, 2014
romantic weekend

Room was very nice. Well decorated, clean and comfortable. Perfect location to fine dining and... See full review

  • Unk D
  • Aug 4, 2014
Look carefully among the gracious Georgian, Federal, Greek Revival, Second Empire and Queen Anne style homes of Charleston's historic Queen Street and one discovers a quaint and comfortable bed and breakfast at number 78 called The Elliott House Inn. Like Charleston itself, The Inn is an elegant survivor of a tempestuous past. Built as a private residence in 1861, this remarkably preserved architectural treasure has weathered hurricanes, earthquakes, at least one tornado and the civil war. When and where restoration has been necessary, painstaking care has been taken to ensure architectural and historical accuracy.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Elliott House Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Elliott House Inn Rooms

Traditional Queen Room
This room is equipped with facilities like cable/satellite TV, Balcony,Patio,Access via exterior corridors,Blackout drapes,Complimentary newspaper,Air conditioning,Wake-up calls,Housekeeping daily,Turndown service,Hair dryer (on request),Shower/tub combination,Complimentary toiletries,Iron/ironing board (on request),Clock radio.
Traditional King Room
This room is equipped with facilities like cable/satellite TV, Balcony,Patio,Access via exterior corridors,Blackout drapes,Complimentary newspaper,Air conditioning,Wake-up calls,Housekeeping daily,Turndown service,Hair dryer (on request),Shower/tub combination,Complimentary toiletries,Iron/ironing board (on request),Clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.3 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.3 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.3 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.3 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.9 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Elliott House Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 4, 2014

Good small hotel in the historic district

Location is great on Queen Street. The courtyard is pretty, and they will bring a simple breakfast to you either in your room or the courtyard. Our room was smallish with a queen size bed, but it was clean and fine. The people who work there are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant Husk is 2 doors down and it has a nice bar in a historic building next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tennisgram
Business
Kentucky
Aug 24, 2014

Birthday getaway

We love the Elliott House Inn! We have stayed here a few times. It is conveniently located to the Market, King Street ,The Battery, and great places to eat! We parked our car in the secured parking garage and walked. We did take a buggy ride and learn more of the history of Charleston. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very comfortable. The free continental breakfast was a treat for me because I had it delivered to my room, but they will serve it in the courtyard also. The only recommendation I have is to place a small refrigerator in the room. We will definitely return to the Elliott House Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear very comfortable shoes like tennis shoes because most of the sidewalks are uneven terrain.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Unk D
Business
south carolina
Aug 4, 2014

romantic weekend

Room was very nice. Well decorated, clean and comfortable. Perfect location to fine dining and walking distance to shops, market and battery. Breakfast delivered to your room was nice. Could have been a little more to eat. Only other minor improvement item would be a small refrigerator in the room. Overal very nice and would like to visit again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 great resturants on either side of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M Stay
Business
Ohio
Jul 25, 2014

Wonderful inn, great location

We loved staying at the Elliott House Inn! The area was wonderful and we could walk everywhere we needed to go! The staff was great and one member was a history teacher and drew on a map for us all the great locations. Wine and cheese was a nice touch at night and breakfast in bed was wonderful. We would love to stay here again and is a great place to stay in beautiful, historic Charleston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the hotel is Poogans Porch Resturant, it was a house away and had wonderful food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NeverNeverQuit
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 9, 2014

Great for Spoleto!

Arrived early but room was already cleaned so was given immediate access. Reasonably priced parking right across the street. Delightful "ole South" ambience--room had true hardwood floors and was tastefully decorated. A/C unit was right next to bed and a little on the noisy side but not disruptive. Had continental breakfast of your choice delivered to the room. Nice courtyard area with hot tub. Will be back next year. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walking distance to numerous Spoleto events.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anthony.
Business
London, England
Apr 27, 2014

Great value and location

The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Charleston with plenty of options for restaurants, bars, shopping and sightseeing. The front desk was very helpful and it was enjoyable to have the complimentary breakfast in the terrace each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NGLA
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 15, 2014

Charming

The Elliott is in a perfect location in downtown Charleston within walking distance to many fine restaurants and the activity of king street. Small but comfortable room with nice television.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikita2014
Business
Summerville
Dec 2, 2013

Quick overnight staycation

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel, so when I found a great deal on Black Friday, I booked it immediately. We enjoyed our one night staycation at the Elliott House. It was nice being able to park the car and walk to several restaurants (we had dinner at Poogan's Porch and brunch at Husk). We meant to try the jacuzzi but ended up getting back late. We stayed in a king courtyard room and thought the room was nice. Cute little porch on the back of it - if it had been warmer I would have enjoyed eating breakfast there. The included breakfast was simple (bagel & cream cheese and half a grapefruit, or granola, yogurt and muffin or cereal), along with a coffee, tea or orange juice. But it was great to have it delivered to the room! We also enjoyed the wine & cheese before we went off to our dinner reservation. Our only issue was with the parking, I thought it would be $20 for the stay, but you have to pay each time you leave. We left to go see a comedy show so we had to pay $6 for the couple hours before, then $20 for the overnight parking. Not a big deal but thought I'd mention it. Overall, loved our stay and would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveller 88
Business
NYC
Oct 15, 2013

Good location.

Hot tub and location a plus. They should a maid for the afternoon to insure the rooms get cleaned if the guests are enjoying there vacation and don't get up at 8am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Elliott House Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teach4summer
Business
Maryland
Jun 22, 2013

Average

Good location. Small rooms. Nice courtyard. Pleasant and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away from all of the shops on King St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top