$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Courtyard Charleston Historic District

3 stars
125 Calhoun Street, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
107 reviews
Perfect!

Courtyard Charleston Historic District Marriott! Perfect in everyway! Location, rooms excellant in... See full review

  • Ms Walkabout
  • Jan 30, 2014
Great Value in Charleston's Historic District

This hotel is located just north of the main historic district's 19th century homes. It's easily... See full review

  • DRS1
  • Feb 27, 2013
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District Hotel is named "Best Hidden Gem" in the World by Trip Advisor, eight year recipient of the Intercontinental Hotels Torchbearer Award and winner of the first Kemmons Wilson Spirit of Hospitality Award. Within steps of the beauty and history Charleston has to offer, Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District is a perfect blend of historic charm and modern features located on the corner of Calhoun and Meeting Streets. Our boutique style hotel features a beautifully landscaped courtyard with a water fountain, year-round outdoor heated pool, fitness facility and Charleston's best concierge services. Enjoy the Battery Grill for breakfast and dinner. At the end of the day, sit back and relax in our rocking chairs on the porch while enjoying your favorite ice cold beverage from the Battery Lounge. Experience true southern hospitality every afternoon in our lobby while enjoying a complimentary seasonal refreshment and freshly baked cookies! Take a stroll through our accommodations, services/facilities and group/meeting web pages to learn more about our exceptional hotel. Discover how the Holiday Inn Historic District captures the charm of the old south and the "Holy City" of Charleston. Our guests love to share their own experiences with you. Please take a moment to view our guest testimonials at Tripadvisor.com. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Hotel Map

32.7866 -79.9335
Area served
Chareston Historic District
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 11.10, MI, S; Charleston Executive Airport, (JZI), 12.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Oceanfront

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.7 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.6 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.3 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.1 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.2 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C of C mom
Greenville, SC
Jan 23, 2010

Spacious room and bath, great location

Perfect location to the College of Charleston. Room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. Be prepared to pay $11 for parking. There is also no complementary breakfast - but there is plenty of coffee in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Head south
Sc
Nov 13, 2010

Great location

Great location. Concierge service vey helpful with city tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See the sights walk around

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
KCMO
Jul 27, 2010

First Anniversary in Charleston!

While in Charleston, my husband and I hit a little bit of everything popular and took some side trips off the beaten path, as well. We sampled MANY of the wonderful restaurants, took a few tours, visited a number of sites, and spent a great deal of time simply strolling in the beautiful streets of historic Charleston. Our hotel was close enough to be convenient and just far enough to get in our daily exercise. I wish I had known to the concierge in advance to help plan our trip. I had hoped to speak with him while we were there, but he was so busy, we didn't get a chance to talk to him until our next to the last night. All in all, a wonderful trip for a First Anniversary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Barrier Island Ecotours is a wonderful hidden gem. Definitely worth every moment and every cent to travel the intercostal waterways and get face to face with dolphin, crabs, pelicans, and the beautiful Capers Island. Don't miss it!

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rollin' Solo
Sacramento, CA
Jul 25, 2010

Holiday Inn - Everything you need!

The Holiday Inn was a great spot to stay in Charleston! It was the perfect location! Close to everything! The staff was so helpful and very kind. The concierge was extremely passionate about his job and really knowledgeable and excited to share all the things to do in the city. The rooms were very clean, air conditioned and quite. Free internet in the rooms was a great perk! For someone like me who doesn't want to spend a ton of money on a hotel room that I don't spend much time in anyway, this place was exactly what I was looking for. Actually it was better than expected. I would recommend it to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike on the run
Business
Hartford, CT
Oct 3, 2012

Nice to Deal with Pros

This was a business trip for me - which means I had a lot to get done in a short amount of time. The hotel made it easy to check in, get comfortable, do all I needed to do, check out, store bags for the day after checkout and get a cab to the airport right on schedule. Well done! It's a pleasure dealing with competent, pleasant, accommodating professionals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
golfing grandma
boca raton, fl
Jun 21, 2010

Great location + great staff

Location was great - we walked the entire city. Loved the Market Hall, the waterfront and the restaurants. Room very spacious and clean. Bathroom supplied with plenty of towels and supplies. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Loved all the "southern" style restaurants. The food was a real treat. Ask the locals....

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pal
Columbus, IN
May 11, 2009

Very friendly, very clean, great food.

We were on a sight seeing misson and were able to walk to most things. The hotel was in a great location for this. All of us enjoyed the city and surrounding historic areas. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charleston Fan
Lake Wylie, SC
May 15, 2011

Wonderful hotel

My husband and I stayed here for an anniversary trip to Charleston. We were able to walk to all the activities in Historic Charleston. We're not big breakfast people so I don't know how the breakfast was, but our room was very clean and comfortable. We will be sure to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsboro, NC 27312
Oct 6, 2009

Great hotel overall

Great concierge service , super freindly people.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Nice private boat ride suggested by hotel

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Head south
Sc
Nov 13, 2010

Great location

Great location. Concierge service vey helpful with city tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See the sights walk around

Back to menu Return to top