$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Courtyard Charleston Historic District

3 stars
125 Calhoun Street, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
110 reviews
Perfect!

Courtyard Charleston Historic District Marriott! Perfect in everyway! Location, rooms excellant in... See full review

  • Ms Walkabout
  • Jan 30, 2014
Great Value in Charleston's Historic District

This hotel is located just north of the main historic district's 19th century homes. It's easily... See full review

  • DRS1
  • Feb 27, 2013
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District Hotel is named "Best Hidden Gem" in the World by Trip Advisor, eight year recipient of the Intercontinental Hotels Torchbearer Award and winner of the first Kemmons Wilson Spirit of Hospitality Award. Within steps of the beauty and history Charleston has to offer, Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District is a perfect blend of historic charm and modern features located on the corner of Calhoun and Meeting Streets. Our boutique style hotel features a beautifully landscaped courtyard with a water fountain, year-round outdoor heated pool, fitness facility and Charleston's best concierge services. Enjoy the Battery Grill for breakfast and dinner. At the end of the day, sit back and relax in our rocking chairs on the porch while enjoying your favorite ice cold beverage from the Battery Lounge. Experience true southern hospitality every afternoon in our lobby while enjoying a complimentary seasonal refreshment and freshly baked cookies! Take a stroll through our accommodations, services/facilities and group/meeting web pages to learn more about our exceptional hotel. Discover how the Holiday Inn Historic District captures the charm of the old south and the "Holy City" of Charleston. Our guests love to share their own experiences with you. Please take a moment to view our guest testimonials at Tripadvisor.com. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard Charleston Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7866 -79.9335
Area served
Chareston Historic District
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 11.10, MI, S; Charleston Executive Airport, (JZI), 12.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.7 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.6 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.3 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.1 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.2 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College of Charleston parent
Long Island, New York
Apr 22, 2009

Great location, super friendly, clean

This Holiday Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The staff could not have been nicer. I requested extra hangars for the room and within 5 minutes they were delivered. I asked for water bottles twice daily and they gave them to me for no charge. The front desk staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Oct 10, 2010

Holiday Inn Charleston

We booked the hotel based on the experience of a friend who had a student at College of Charleston and loved the location. We needed to go to a wedding in Mt. Pleasant, but wanted to be able to spend time in the historic district, as well as other touristic areas like the plantations, the waterfront and the beach areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining is awesome. There is so much to do and eat in every location.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Jul 3, 2009

A nice hotel at a fair price

Great help by the staff on what to do and where to get the most bang for your dollar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We were recommended to a GREAT place to eat-the best seafood I've had in 15 years called "The Coast".

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Troy, MI
Oct 13, 2010

Good location, service, etc.

This hotel was exactly what we wanted. It was in a fun location--close to the University and all the cute little shops and restaurants in that area, but also close to upscale shopping and not a long walk from the main area or the historic homes. The staff was very friendly and checked us in much earlier than the posted check-in time which I really appreciated. I didn't give it five stars because this hotel wasn't a super-extravagant hotel and I didn't want to give the impression that it was "five star". It was exactly what we wanted, though and all experiences there were positive. The only slightly negative thing is that the concierge wasn't so great but he seemed to think he was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A little Mexican place just a block or two away called La Hacienda or something like that (near the college strip) was delicious and inexpensive.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2007

excellent concierge

the concierge folks were what made our vacation so great. They were so knowledgable, worked so hard, listned to what we like and dislike and then set us up with walking tours restaurants and other assorted ideas that met what we woulsd enjoy. I will reccommend this hotel due to them and the other friendly staff members. It is on the fringe of the Historic district and the long walks to hitoric sites and buildings is what we liked. This Holiday in was neat and clean, had a small pool, basic small workout room etc. we enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Myrtle Beach, SC
Feb 22, 2010

Fantastic!

Only spent one night, but we loved it and hope to go back again in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of great restaurants within a short walking distances.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Aug 11, 2010

Great place to stay in Charleston, SC

Would have like to have had a free continential breakfast. But liked being able to walk to the market place and restaurants. Very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great places to dine in walking distance of the hotel.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddddddddddddddddddd
Richmond, VA
Dec 29, 2012

Family Get away

This hotel is very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is walking distance to King St. (Shopping and dining), Meeting St, Market Square, and the French Quarter. It was a very pleasurable stay and I would stay there again. The value was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Pope St was a very nice restuarant across from the Visitor Center. It was called "Rue De (I forgot the rest)" but is has a sign out front with a big 39 on it. Definitely worth having a nice lunch there.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis,MO
Sep 30, 2009

A great getaway for mid-westerners

We enjoyed walking tours and a trip to Ft. Sumpter. The city is historic and beautiful with many great places to eat. The concierge was most helpful in suggesting and arranging tours and with tips about where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the She crab soup at Virginia's on King.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keromo
Florence
Jul 7, 2014

Fun fourth

Enjoyed the hotel. Great location. The staff wS quite helpful with what to do and where to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top