$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Courtyard Charleston Historic District

3 stars
125 Calhoun Street, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
64 reviews
Perfect!

Courtyard Charleston Historic District Marriott! Perfect in everyway! Location, rooms excellant in... See full review

  • Ms Walkabout
  • Jan 30, 2014
Great location

Location is excellent, all the good stuff is within walking distance. A little expensive for what... See full review

  • Seby
  • Oct 2, 2014
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District Hotel is named "Best Hidden Gem" in the World by Trip Advisor, eight year recipient of the Intercontinental Hotels Torchbearer Award and winner of the first Kemmons Wilson Spirit of Hospitality Award. Within steps of the beauty and history Charleston has to offer, Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District is a perfect blend of historic charm and modern features located on the corner of Calhoun and Meeting Streets. Our boutique style hotel features a beautifully landscaped courtyard with a water fountain, year-round outdoor heated pool, fitness facility and Charleston's best concierge services. Enjoy the Battery Grill for breakfast and dinner. At the end of the day, sit back and relax in our rocking chairs on the porch while enjoying your favorite ice cold beverage from the Battery Lounge. Experience true southern hospitality every afternoon in our lobby while enjoying a complimentary seasonal refreshment and freshly baked cookies! Take a stroll through our accommodations, services/facilities and group/meeting web pages to learn more about our exceptional hotel. Discover how the Holiday Inn Historic District captures the charm of the old south and the "Holy City" of Charleston. Our guests love to share their own experiences with you. Please take a moment to view our guest testimonials at Tripadvisor.com. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard Charleston Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.7 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.6 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.3 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.1 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.2 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Aug 11, 2010

Great place to stay in Charleston, SC

Would have like to have had a free continential breakfast. But liked being able to walk to the market place and restaurants. Very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great places to dine in walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troy, MI
Oct 13, 2010

Good location, service, etc.

This hotel was exactly what we wanted. It was in a fun location--close to the University and all the cute little shops and restaurants in that area, but also close to upscale shopping and not a long walk from the main area or the historic homes. The staff was very friendly and checked us in much earlier than the posted check-in time which I really appreciated. I didn't give it five stars because this hotel wasn't a super-extravagant hotel and I didn't want to give the impression that it was "five star". It was exactly what we wanted, though and all experiences there were positive. The only slightly negative thing is that the concierge wasn't so great but he seemed to think he was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A little Mexican place just a block or two away called La Hacienda or something like that (near the college strip) was delicious and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 10, 2010

Holiday Inn Charleston

We booked the hotel based on the experience of a friend who had a student at College of Charleston and loved the location. We needed to go to a wedding in Mt. Pleasant, but wanted to be able to spend time in the historic district, as well as other touristic areas like the plantations, the waterfront and the beach areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining is awesome. There is so much to do and eat in every location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College of Charleston parent
Business
Long Island, New York
Apr 22, 2009

Great location, super friendly, clean

This Holiday Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The staff could not have been nicer. I requested extra hangars for the room and within 5 minutes they were delivered. I asked for water bottles twice daily and they gave them to me for no charge. The front desk staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C of C mom
Business
Greenville, SC
Jan 23, 2010

Spacious room and bath, great location

Perfect location to the College of Charleston. Room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. Be prepared to pay $11 for parking. There is also no complementary breakfast - but there is plenty of coffee in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pal
Business
Columbus, IN
May 11, 2009

Very friendly, very clean, great food.

We were on a sight seeing misson and were able to walk to most things. The hotel was in a great location for this. All of us enjoyed the city and surrounding historic areas. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Mar 15, 2010

Romantic Weekend

The hotel staff and conceirge were great. We went to Charleston for our first anniversary, and asked at check-in about upgrading our room, but they were totally booked. But, the next day they called and found an upgraded room we could move to. Great view. We talked to the concierge the first morning, and he helped plan our trip including calling and getting us reservations for dinner, lunch, and for a walking tour. The hotel staff made it a great trip! One down note, the first room we had the bed was very uncomfortable, neither my husband nor I slept well; however, the suite we moved to was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cru Cafe for lunch. In an old house, indoor/outdoor seating, great staff and wonderful food (and a lot of it!). Suggest having the concierge call for a reservation, very busy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
golfing grandma
Business
boca raton, fl
Jun 21, 2010

Great location + great staff

Location was great - we walked the entire city. Loved the Market Hall, the waterfront and the restaurants. Room very spacious and clean. Bathroom supplied with plenty of towels and supplies. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Loved all the "southern" style restaurants. The food was a real treat. Ask the locals....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Oct 12, 2010

Great Location to Everything

The Hotel was very close to everything we needed. Just get on Meeting St or King and walk straight to Market St. Everyone at the Hotel was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds were soft. Parking is limited but you can park at the Church across the road.. Nice front porch to sit on in the evenings. Alittle high priced but what isnt?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to go to as many attractions possible. The carriage ride is a must for anyone who visits Charleston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Feb 22, 2010

Fantastic!

Only spent one night, but we loved it and hope to go back again in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of great restaurants within a short walking distances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top