$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Courtyard Charleston Historic District

3 stars
125 Calhoun Street, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
64 reviews
Perfect!

Courtyard Charleston Historic District Marriott! Perfect in everyway! Location, rooms excellant in... See full review

  • Ms Walkabout
  • Jan 30, 2014
Great location

Location is excellent, all the good stuff is within walking distance. A little expensive for what... See full review

  • Seby
  • Oct 2, 2014
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District Hotel is named "Best Hidden Gem" in the World by Trip Advisor, eight year recipient of the Intercontinental Hotels Torchbearer Award and winner of the first Kemmons Wilson Spirit of Hospitality Award. Within steps of the beauty and history Charleston has to offer, Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District is a perfect blend of historic charm and modern features located on the corner of Calhoun and Meeting Streets. Our boutique style hotel features a beautifully landscaped courtyard with a water fountain, year-round outdoor heated pool, fitness facility and Charleston's best concierge services. Enjoy the Battery Grill for breakfast and dinner. At the end of the day, sit back and relax in our rocking chairs on the porch while enjoying your favorite ice cold beverage from the Battery Lounge. Experience true southern hospitality every afternoon in our lobby while enjoying a complimentary seasonal refreshment and freshly baked cookies! Take a stroll through our accommodations, services/facilities and group/meeting web pages to learn more about our exceptional hotel. Discover how the Holiday Inn Historic District captures the charm of the old south and the "Holy City" of Charleston. Our guests love to share their own experiences with you. Please take a moment to view our guest testimonials at Tripadvisor.com. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard Charleston Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.7 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.6 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.3 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.1 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.2 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 20, 2008

Very friendly helpful staff

The Holiday Inn in the Historic District of Charleston is not your typical Holiday Inn. The decor and atmosphere is that of a higher end hotel. The location is within walking distant of all activities and shopping in the Historic District. The concierge service was Outstanding! We were able to set up things on the phone prior to our arrival and then complete our activities and eating reservations upon our arrival. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Truly a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous King St. is just a block away. You have everything from high end boutiques to an outlet type store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CofC Parent
Business
New York
Apr 22, 2009

Charming Hospitality

Very accomodating and friendly staff that go out of their way to help you in every need! Made our first visit to Charleston a lot of fun and we will be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston
Jun 15, 2008

Very friendly and nice staff

The location of this hotel is very conveniently located in the Historic district which allows you to walk to all the sites! The room was very comfortable and clean. The fitness center and pool were well kept. The buffet breakfast was not as well stocked as it could have been, but the food was good. The concierge was excellent, offering to customize our stay. I was really impressed by him!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Good Value, Good Location

Easy to get to, good staff, nice room, in-town location so it is close to everything, good conceirge -- but a little judgemental -- dining not great but they do a nice breakfast and there are plenty of restaurants close enough to walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hank's Seaford is just great -- not touristy and really good food. Try Hank's -- getting there is easy and there is ample municipal parking at the end of the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeville, *
Jul 28, 2008

Awesomelocation

Every review I have ever read on Holiday Inn on Calhoun in Charleston starts with how awesome the concierge, is and mine is no exception. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful - and when he suggest the walking tour - TAKE IT!!! Everyone was super friendly - the room was comfortable and clean and a great size. And the location could NOT be better! The only negative I have at all is that you pay for parking. But even with that, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Charleston - you can walk everywhere within the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best restaurants EVER...try Cru and High Cotton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg
Sep 1, 2008

Nice rooms and friendly staff

The Holiday Inn Charleston was very clean and comfortable. The parking was convenient and well lit. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. She highlighted a map of the area to show us the must see areas and also gave us coupons for the recommended tours. We will definitely visit them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A convenience store is located directly across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Very people friendly

The Historic Holiday Inn was a great hotel. The rooms had all the comfots of being at home. The location of the hotel was great. We were in walking distance of all of downtown. There were lots of good restaurants very close to the hotel. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Historic Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is only a block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 15, 2008

Nice experience

We liked the hotel. Nice accomodations and location. Staff was helpful and friendly. The concierge was a bit aggressive in trying to book reservations when we were looking for infomration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Needham, MA
Jun 24, 2009

Fantastic Service & Locaton

This was my 2nd stay here (I have a student enrolling at the College of Charleston this fall). The location is beyond perfect for someone looking to enjoy Charleston, particularly if being near campus is important. The hotel had everything I needed - from free computer & printer use to do my flight check-in, to honest advice from the concierge, to a clean room with a powerful hairdryer, and most recently a desk clerk who lent me her personal phone charger since I'd forgotten to bring mine. Everyone is exceedingly friendly and accomodating. This will be my Charleston hotel over the next 4 years of my son's college experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wake Forest
Jun 2, 2009

Great couples location!

The hotel concierge, [...] assisted us with event planning during our visit. His suggestions were crucial to contributing to our great Charleston experience. He filled our time with tours, dining, live musical and a theatrical show, and general information about the area. I would recommend this HI (Historic Distric) to anyone visiting the area. A visit with [...], or his associate is a must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top