$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Courtyard Charleston Historic District

3 stars
View map of 125 Calhoun Street, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DRS1
Rochester, NY, USA
Feb 27, 2013

Great Value in Charleston's Historic District

This hotel is located just north of the main historic district's 19th century homes. It's easily within walking distance of the best sights, shopping, and restaurants. The accommodations are very nice, and the price is about half of comparable places in the center of the older homes. The concierge was very helpful in recommending and securing reservations at several great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hank's is a great seafood place. A bit pricy, but worth it. Same goes for a place called Slightly North of Broad. Reservations are highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 15, 2008

Nice experience

We liked the hotel. Nice accomodations and location. Staff was helpful and friendly. The concierge was a bit aggressive in trying to book reservations when we were looking for infomration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg
Sep 1, 2008

Nice rooms and friendly staff

The Holiday Inn Charleston was very clean and comfortable. The parking was convenient and well lit. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. She highlighted a map of the area to show us the must see areas and also gave us coupons for the recommended tours. We will definitely visit them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A convenience store is located directly across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeville, *
Jul 28, 2008

Awesomelocation

Every review I have ever read on Holiday Inn on Calhoun in Charleston starts with how awesome the concierge, is and mine is no exception. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful - and when he suggest the walking tour - TAKE IT!!! Everyone was super friendly - the room was comfortable and clean and a great size. And the location could NOT be better! The only negative I have at all is that you pay for parking. But even with that, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Charleston - you can walk everywhere within the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best restaurants EVER...try Cru and High Cotton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sierra Madre
Jun 28, 2008

Great service

The Holiday Inn in Charleston was extremely helpful, comfortable and safe. The best service was the Concierge service. He was very helpful suggesting several restaurants, tours and even helped with taxi service. Each of the restaurants were great and the walking tour of Charleston wa exceptional. I would recommend this hotel based upon this service alone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants were within walking distance and the food was outstanding

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston
Jun 15, 2008

Very friendly and nice staff

The location of this hotel is very conveniently located in the Historic district which allows you to walk to all the sites! The room was very comfortable and clean. The fitness center and pool were well kept. The buffet breakfast was not as well stocked as it could have been, but the food was good. The concierge was excellent, offering to customize our stay. I was really impressed by him!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 26, 2008

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

As a group of four we had plenty of room for us in our room. The staff was very helpful and the location was within walking distance of loads of interesting thing s to do. I'd reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 20, 2008

Very friendly helpful staff

The Holiday Inn in the Historic District of Charleston is not your typical Holiday Inn. The decor and atmosphere is that of a higher end hotel. The location is within walking distant of all activities and shopping in the Historic District. The concierge service was Outstanding! We were able to set up things on the phone prior to our arrival and then complete our activities and eating reservations upon our arrival. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Truly a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous King St. is just a block away. You have everything from high end boutiques to an outlet type store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 2, 2008

A good deal!

This Holiday Inn is very pleasant, easy to stay in, with a nice restaurant. The room was more than adequate, clean, well-maintained. The bathroom was large. The bathtub stopper did not work, so we took showers. The only criticism I have is that the location is not central to the historic district, but a three or four block walk. One of our party was elderly, and it was a bit more stressful for her. A very family-oriented place, and I must say that their staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Few restaurants within a block, but quite a few within a 3-block walk. Shopping and historic sites and houses/gardens were a little bit further.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 24, 2008

Enjoyable weekend

The Holiday Inn Historic District was nice from the start. Check Inn was very easy, and the staff were pleasant. Our bags were takin to our rooms and waiting for us there once we had our room key. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The seating was comfortable and every ammenity was there for us. The bathroom was bigger than ours at home and very easy to get around in. If we forgot any toiletry items, we could call down and they would be provided. The Bar/Restaurant was very clean and comfortable. The twosided fireplace added a nice touch, very relaxing. It was a great weekend and I would definatley stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were lots of shops and dining within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G Jean
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 18, 2008

Great comfort/location

We loved location,comfort,staff, including concierge, who is a pro We arrived late (hotel knew this)but man at desk was not very welcoming, esp. since this was our first visit to Charleston but otherwise, we would definitely highly recommend this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a park across the street; all of the great restaurants, inns, and Bay Street (water front) are only a few blocks away. Horse & carriage tours are about a 4 block walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top