$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Courtyard Charleston Historic District

3 stars
125 Calhoun Street, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
64 reviews
Perfect!

Courtyard Charleston Historic District Marriott! Perfect in everyway! Location, rooms excellant in... See full review

  • Ms Walkabout
  • Jan 30, 2014
Great location

Location is excellent, all the good stuff is within walking distance. A little expensive for what... See full review

  • Seby
  • Oct 2, 2014
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District Hotel is named "Best Hidden Gem" in the World by Trip Advisor, eight year recipient of the Intercontinental Hotels Torchbearer Award and winner of the first Kemmons Wilson Spirit of Hospitality Award. Within steps of the beauty and history Charleston has to offer, Holiday Inn Charleston Historic District is a perfect blend of historic charm and modern features located on the corner of Calhoun and Meeting Streets. Our boutique style hotel features a beautifully landscaped courtyard with a water fountain, year-round outdoor heated pool, fitness facility and Charleston's best concierge services. Enjoy the Battery Grill for breakfast and dinner. At the end of the day, sit back and relax in our rocking chairs on the porch while enjoying your favorite ice cold beverage from the Battery Lounge. Experience true southern hospitality every afternoon in our lobby while enjoying a complimentary seasonal refreshment and freshly baked cookies! Take a stroll through our accommodations, services/facilities and group/meeting web pages to learn more about our exceptional hotel. Discover how the Holiday Inn Historic District captures the charm of the old south and the "Holy City" of Charleston. Our guests love to share their own experiences with you. Please take a moment to view our guest testimonials at Tripadvisor.com. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard Charleston Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Theater99: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.4 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.5 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.7 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.7 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.8 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.6 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.4 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.3 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.1 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.2 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg
Sep 1, 2008

Nice rooms and friendly staff

The Holiday Inn Charleston was very clean and comfortable. The parking was convenient and well lit. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. She highlighted a map of the area to show us the must see areas and also gave us coupons for the recommended tours. We will definitely visit them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A convenience store is located directly across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeville, *
Jul 28, 2008

Awesomelocation

Every review I have ever read on Holiday Inn on Calhoun in Charleston starts with how awesome the concierge, is and mine is no exception. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful - and when he suggest the walking tour - TAKE IT!!! Everyone was super friendly - the room was comfortable and clean and a great size. And the location could NOT be better! The only negative I have at all is that you pay for parking. But even with that, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Charleston - you can walk everywhere within the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best restaurants EVER...try Cru and High Cotton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sierra Madre
Jun 28, 2008

Great service

The Holiday Inn in Charleston was extremely helpful, comfortable and safe. The best service was the Concierge service. He was very helpful suggesting several restaurants, tours and even helped with taxi service. Each of the restaurants were great and the walking tour of Charleston wa exceptional. I would recommend this hotel based upon this service alone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants were within walking distance and the food was outstanding

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston
Jun 15, 2008

Very friendly and nice staff

The location of this hotel is very conveniently located in the Historic district which allows you to walk to all the sites! The room was very comfortable and clean. The fitness center and pool were well kept. The buffet breakfast was not as well stocked as it could have been, but the food was good. The concierge was excellent, offering to customize our stay. I was really impressed by him!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 26, 2008

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

As a group of four we had plenty of room for us in our room. The staff was very helpful and the location was within walking distance of loads of interesting thing s to do. I'd reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 20, 2008

Very friendly helpful staff

The Holiday Inn in the Historic District of Charleston is not your typical Holiday Inn. The decor and atmosphere is that of a higher end hotel. The location is within walking distant of all activities and shopping in the Historic District. The concierge service was Outstanding! We were able to set up things on the phone prior to our arrival and then complete our activities and eating reservations upon our arrival. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Truly a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous King St. is just a block away. You have everything from high end boutiques to an outlet type store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 2, 2008

A good deal!

This Holiday Inn is very pleasant, easy to stay in, with a nice restaurant. The room was more than adequate, clean, well-maintained. The bathroom was large. The bathtub stopper did not work, so we took showers. The only criticism I have is that the location is not central to the historic district, but a three or four block walk. One of our party was elderly, and it was a bit more stressful for her. A very family-oriented place, and I must say that their staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Few restaurants within a block, but quite a few within a 3-block walk. Shopping and historic sites and houses/gardens were a little bit further.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 24, 2008

Enjoyable weekend

The Holiday Inn Historic District was nice from the start. Check Inn was very easy, and the staff were pleasant. Our bags were takin to our rooms and waiting for us there once we had our room key. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The seating was comfortable and every ammenity was there for us. The bathroom was bigger than ours at home and very easy to get around in. If we forgot any toiletry items, we could call down and they would be provided. The Bar/Restaurant was very clean and comfortable. The twosided fireplace added a nice touch, very relaxing. It was a great weekend and I would definatley stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were lots of shops and dining within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G Jean
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 18, 2008

Great comfort/location

We loved location,comfort,staff, including concierge, who is a pro We arrived late (hotel knew this)but man at desk was not very welcoming, esp. since this was our first visit to Charleston but otherwise, we would definitely highly recommend this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a park across the street; all of the great restaurants, inns, and Bay Street (water front) are only a few blocks away. Horse & carriage tours are about a 4 block walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Very people friendly

The Historic Holiday Inn was a great hotel. The rooms had all the comfots of being at home. The location of the hotel was great. We were in walking distance of all of downtown. There were lots of good restaurants very close to the hotel. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Historic Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is only a block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top