$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Courtyard Charleston Historic District

3 stars
View map of 125 Calhoun Street, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clark and Menefee fan
Business
Virginia
Nov 5, 2012

great business stopover

The hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 5, 2009

Adore this place

4th stay here (have a child at CofC). I always have some issue (non-hotel related) and the Holiday Inn always seems to resolve it for me! Incredible concierge service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis,MO
Sep 30, 2009

A great getaway for mid-westerners

We enjoyed walking tours and a trip to Ft. Sumpter. The city is historic and beautiful with many great places to eat. The concierge was most helpful in suggesting and arranging tours and with tips about where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the She crab soup at Virginia's on King.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anderson, SC
Sep 2, 2009

highly disappointing

I have been to better Holiday Inns in rural areas. The room was tiny and very noisy. We requested a room with a balcony and we got one... too bad the door to the balcony had no latch and wouldn't close properly. we were kept up all night by the non-stop traffic below. Also, kepping the room cool was next ot impossible due to the crack in the door. We love the Charleston area and will return but we will NEVER stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 30, 2009

Always great

Great service, great value close to the College of Charleston where we were installing our son. This is my third stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coast is a fabulous restaurant very close by. Make to to get reservations. The concierge service at this hotel is stellar.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beverly715
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Aug 16, 2009

Adequate

Good location; convenient to dining and historical attractions. Parking additional $11/daily. No microwave/fridge in room; no continental breakfast. Air conditioner noisy. Nice front porch area with fans and rocking chairs. Highly touted concierge never available. Because of location, this was an adequate place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Justene's is a short walk from hotel. Decent home cooking. Less impressed with Hominy Grill, which is not within walking distance.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Jul 3, 2009

A nice hotel at a fair price

Great help by the staff on what to do and where to get the most bang for your dollar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We were recommended to a GREAT place to eat-the best seafood I've had in 15 years called "The Coast".

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrplatoguy
Business
St. Charles, IL
Jul 1, 2009

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel, not especially close to market you can walk it, but it's quite a walk. The rooms were great with plenty of room. The parking is very tight for larger cars, and cost $11.00 a day, something I didn't see on the web site. Some nights there wasn't enough room and you park across the street in the church parking lot. The concierge was very friendly and a great help in planning tours, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Land Rover
Business
Florence, SC
Jun 30, 2009

Not bad for a one nighter. More next tri

Only one night doesn't lend itself to much of a review. Maybe next trip we can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Needham, MA
Jun 24, 2009

Fantastic Service & Locaton

This was my 2nd stay here (I have a student enrolling at the College of Charleston this fall). The location is beyond perfect for someone looking to enjoy Charleston, particularly if being near campus is important. The hotel had everything I needed - from free computer & printer use to do my flight check-in, to honest advice from the concierge, to a clean room with a powerful hairdryer, and most recently a desk clerk who lent me her personal phone charger since I'd forgotten to bring mine. Everyone is exceedingly friendly and accomodating. This will be my Charleston hotel over the next 4 years of my son's college experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wake Forest
Jun 2, 2009

Great couples location!

The hotel concierge, [...] assisted us with event planning during our visit. His suggestions were crucial to contributing to our great Charleston experience. He filled our time with tours, dining, live musical and a theatrical show, and general information about the area. I would recommend this HI (Historic Distric) to anyone visiting the area. A visit with [...], or his associate is a must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top