$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Courtyard Charleston Historic District

3 stars
View map of 125 Calhoun Street, 125 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clark and Menefee fan
Business
Virginia
Nov 5, 2012

great business stopover

The hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Head south
Business
Sc
Nov 13, 2010

Great location

Great location. Concierge service vey helpful with city tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See the sights walk around

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troy, MI
Oct 13, 2010

Good location, service, etc.

This hotel was exactly what we wanted. It was in a fun location--close to the University and all the cute little shops and restaurants in that area, but also close to upscale shopping and not a long walk from the main area or the historic homes. The staff was very friendly and checked us in much earlier than the posted check-in time which I really appreciated. I didn't give it five stars because this hotel wasn't a super-extravagant hotel and I didn't want to give the impression that it was "five star". It was exactly what we wanted, though and all experiences there were positive. The only slightly negative thing is that the concierge wasn't so great but he seemed to think he was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A little Mexican place just a block or two away called La Hacienda or something like that (near the college strip) was delicious and inexpensive.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Oct 12, 2010

Great Location to Everything

The Hotel was very close to everything we needed. Just get on Meeting St or King and walk straight to Market St. Everyone at the Hotel was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds were soft. Parking is limited but you can park at the Church across the road.. Nice front porch to sit on in the evenings. Alittle high priced but what isnt?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to go to as many attractions possible. The carriage ride is a must for anyone who visits Charleston.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 10, 2010

Holiday Inn Charleston

We booked the hotel based on the experience of a friend who had a student at College of Charleston and loved the location. We needed to go to a wedding in Mt. Pleasant, but wanted to be able to spend time in the historic district, as well as other touristic areas like the plantations, the waterfront and the beach areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining is awesome. There is so much to do and eat in every location.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Aug 11, 2010

Great place to stay in Charleston, SC

Would have like to have had a free continential breakfast. But liked being able to walk to the market place and restaurants. Very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great places to dine in walking distance of the hotel.

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KCMO
Jul 27, 2010

First Anniversary in Charleston!

While in Charleston, my husband and I hit a little bit of everything popular and took some side trips off the beaten path, as well. We sampled MANY of the wonderful restaurants, took a few tours, visited a number of sites, and spent a great deal of time simply strolling in the beautiful streets of historic Charleston. Our hotel was close enough to be convenient and just far enough to get in our daily exercise. I wish I had known to the concierge in advance to help plan our trip. I had hoped to speak with him while we were there, but he was so busy, we didn't get a chance to talk to him until our next to the last night. All in all, a wonderful trip for a First Anniversary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Barrier Island Ecotours is a wonderful hidden gem. Definitely worth every moment and every cent to travel the intercostal waterways and get face to face with dolphin, crabs, pelicans, and the beautiful Capers Island. Don't miss it!

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rollin' Solo
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 25, 2010

Holiday Inn - Everything you need!

The Holiday Inn was a great spot to stay in Charleston! It was the perfect location! Close to everything! The staff was so helpful and very kind. The concierge was extremely passionate about his job and really knowledgeable and excited to share all the things to do in the city. The rooms were very clean, air conditioned and quite. Free internet in the rooms was a great perk! For someone like me who doesn't want to spend a ton of money on a hotel room that I don't spend much time in anyway, this place was exactly what I was looking for. Actually it was better than expected. I would recommend it to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied in Ga.
Business
Hartwell, Georgia
Jun 23, 2010

Great Vacation

Clean room, great services from staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
golfing grandma
Business
boca raton, fl
Jun 21, 2010

Great location + great staff

Location was great - we walked the entire city. Loved the Market Hall, the waterfront and the restaurants. Room very spacious and clean. Bathroom supplied with plenty of towels and supplies. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Loved all the "southern" style restaurants. The food was a real treat. Ask the locals....

Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Mar 15, 2010

Romantic Weekend

The hotel staff and conceirge were great. We went to Charleston for our first anniversary, and asked at check-in about upgrading our room, but they were totally booked. But, the next day they called and found an upgraded room we could move to. Great view. We talked to the concierge the first morning, and he helped plan our trip including calling and getting us reservations for dinner, lunch, and for a walking tour. The hotel staff made it a great trip! One down note, the first room we had the bed was very uncomfortable, neither my husband nor I slept well; however, the suite we moved to was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cru Cafe for lunch. In an old house, indoor/outdoor seating, great staff and wonderful food (and a lot of it!). Suggest having the concierge call for a reservation, very busy.

Back to menu Return to top