$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Charleston Marriott

4 stars
170 Lockwood Boulevard, 170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
48 reviews
Great getaway

Every time we visit Charleston, we always stay at the Marriott. The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • Clara Patel
  • Apr 24, 2014
Fabulous weekend getaway

Wonderful staff, clean, comfortable room, excellent amenities. The Marriott is a great place to... See full review

  • Nicobella
  • Aug 5, 2013
Charleston hotel conveniently-located downtown for events and meetings
The Charleston Marriott provides supreme service and sophistication. It is just minutes from everything the city has to offer, from historic homes and museums to Charleston's best restaurants. Charleston's hospitals and medical centers are just a few blocks away. The Charleston Marriott also hosts weddings, conventions and business meetings.

 

Highlights
  • Three on-site restaurants, two of which are open for breakfast
  • Rooms have LCD TVs and digital connectivity panels
  • Landscaped courtyard
  • Business center with computer, printer, Internet

Rooms
All rooms at the 14-floor Charleston Marriott feature wired and wireless Internet access (fees apply), dual-head shower massager and granite vanity. Some rooms have views of the Ashley River, while some have balconies. Some of the 341 rooms and six suites have kitchenettes and dining areas.
Features
Charleston Marriott guests have free use of the outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and a bright and sunny state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Parking on site is free, plus valet parking is available (fees apply).
Dining
There are three restaurants at the Charleston Marriott: Saffire Charleston's Oven serves innovative, American-fusion cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Aqua Terrace, a rooftop lounge, is open for dinner and offers cocktails with brilliant views of the Ashley River. The Daily Grind is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner and features Starbucks coffee and light fare. Room service is available 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.
Transportation
  • Charleston airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Just off U.S. 17
  • Transportation available to historic downtown Charleston (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Charleston Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (9.7 mi/15.6 km)

Business
  • Nearly 50,000 square feet of event space including the 9,680-square-foot Crystal Ballroom
  • 15 meeting rooms totaling 20,547 square feet
Policies and fees
No pets. No smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7874 -79.9585
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Marriott also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.2 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.5 mi
  • Theater99: 1.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.8 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.2 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.5 mi
  • Theater99: 1.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 1.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1.9 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Port Charleston: 1.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2.1 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 7.4 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 9.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 13 mi

Dining

Saffire Restaurant & Bar
Enjoy the finest in healthy, fresh dining at Saffire Restaurant & Bar, located in our waterfront hotel. Pair your meal with a glass of wine from our superb collection. A meal at our restaurant is sure to be one of the highlights of your Charleston visit!
Aqua Terrace Roof-Top Bar
Gather with friends at Aqua Terrace and enjoy the sunset from our rooftop bar. We offer handcrafted cocktails, tempting dining, and a magnificent view of the Charleston, SC waterfront. You'll soon see why this rooftop restaurant is so popular.
Daily Grind
Make friends and get your caffeine fix at the same time. Daily Grind at the Charleston Marriott proudly brews Starbucks coffee and offers wireless Internet access for business travelers and social surfers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Marriott

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jebgg
Charlotte, NC
Jan 13, 2014

Weekend Getaway

This is a nice Hotel that is located just 5 minutes from the downtown area of Charleston and a couple of minutes from The Citadel and the football stadium. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and accommodating. It has a nice, clean fitness area next to the pool and a very nice outside sitting area, complete with outdoor fire pits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Green Bay Greg
Green Bay, WI
Feb 26, 2014

Great Hotel

Everyone is very nice, and bend over backwards to assist with any needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Been to Charleston before
Upstate South Carolina
May 4, 2009

My experience

The hotel was good and location good. The only problem was we were next to the elevator and ice machine and it was very noisy when trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Asheville, NC
Jul 25, 2011

Great place to stay!

The hotel is in a good location to get around. You need a car but it is only minutes away from most things. The staff is very friendly and room service is excellent. We will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Rick
Business
Chicago, Il
Feb 19, 2012

Business lusury

The Charleston Marriott is a top notch lodging for business travel. The staff is friendly and always ready to meet special requests or deal with problems. The only drawback is that it is not in the wonderful downtown of Charleston. I have stayed at many of the talked about luxury hotels in the city. The Marriott rooms and staff are the equal of any of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the hotel shuttle or a taxi to dinner. Parking in Charleston is a real challenge

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSTeacher
Pittsburgh
Aug 1, 2012

Charleston Marriott

We stayed one night after our cruise before we made our trip home. The atmosphere was modern and colorful. The room was clean and spacious. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T34Flyer
Hanford, CA
Jun 19, 2012

Best Marriott

We really appriciated this hotel. Right spot for going down town and for my business dealings at the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TF extraordinary VP
Florida
Aug 27, 2012

comfortable

The Hotel is very neat ansd the rooms are clean and well appointed. It is a bit of a distance from the historical center o of Charleston but I was there for othere reasons and had worked in the city for several years so I knew my way around. It is a great value and I would certainly stay there again. The staff were lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

walk King Street....plenty of parking and beautiful shops

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hinsdale housewife
Chicago
Sep 5, 2012

Great place to stay

Hotel was very clean and rooms were well appointed. Shuttle service a plus, will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charleston Fan 9
Washington, DC
Jan 22, 2013

Room was good for the price, but a number of inconveniences

The room was spacious and clean, and the hotel lobby looks really pretty. It's also nice that parking is free. However, the hotel itself is a bit out of the way from downtown Charleston, and they charged $10 for internet PER DEVICE. I found the latter to be particularly annoying in this day and age, where free wifi is pretty much expected at hotels. My fiance and I had to pay $20 to use internet just for a day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search