$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Charleston Marriott

4 stars
View map of 170 Lockwood Boulevard, 170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
49 reviews
Great getaway

Every time we visit Charleston, we always stay at the Marriott. The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • Clara Patel
  • Apr 24, 2014
hot charleston

The hotel was beautiful and in a good location. Downtown Charleston is too congested. We got to... See full review

  • broke and tired
  • Aug 23, 2014
Charleston hotel conveniently-located downtown for events and meetings
The Charleston Marriott provides supreme service and sophistication. It is just minutes from everything the city has to offer, from historic homes and museums to Charleston's best restaurants. Charleston's hospitals and medical centers are just a few blocks away. The Charleston Marriott also hosts weddings, conventions and business meetings.

 

Highlights
  • Three on-site restaurants, two of which are open for breakfast
  • Rooms have LCD TVs and digital connectivity panels
  • Landscaped courtyard
  • Business center with computer, printer, Internet

Rooms
All rooms at the 14-floor Charleston Marriott feature wired and wireless Internet access (fees apply), dual-head shower massager and granite vanity. Some rooms have views of the Ashley River, while some have balconies. Some of the 341 rooms and six suites have kitchenettes and dining areas.
Features
Charleston Marriott guests have free use of the outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and a bright and sunny state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Parking on site is free, plus valet parking is available (fees apply).
Dining
There are three restaurants at the Charleston Marriott: Saffire Charleston's Oven serves innovative, American-fusion cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Aqua Terrace, a rooftop lounge, is open for dinner and offers cocktails with brilliant views of the Ashley River. The Daily Grind is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner and features Starbucks coffee and light fare. Room service is available 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.
Transportation
  • Charleston airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Just off U.S. 17
  • Transportation available to historic downtown Charleston (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Charleston Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (9.7 mi/15.6 km)

Business
  • Nearly 50,000 square feet of event space including the 9,680-square-foot Crystal Ballroom
  • 15 meeting rooms totaling 20,547 square feet
Policies and fees
No pets. No smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.2 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.5 mi
  • Theater99: 1.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.8 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.2 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.5 mi
  • Theater99: 1.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 1.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1.9 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Port Charleston: 1.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2.1 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 7.4 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 9.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 13 mi

Dining

Saffire Restaurant & Bar
No need to search along the Charleston waterfront for a memorable dining experience - just step into Saffire Restaurant & Bar, right here in the hotel. Sample eclectic cuisine, complemented by a glass of wine from our extensive collection.
Aqua Terrace Roof-Top Bar
If watching the sun set over Charleston, SC while dining on delicious American fare appeals to you, then you'll love Aqua Terrace. Our rooftop restaurant and bar features creative cocktails and cuisine. It's a great place to gather with friends.
Daily Grind
Sip a cup of Starbucks® coffee and enjoy wireless Internet access at our casual coffee house. Daily Grind is open all day - drop in and stay for a while.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Marriott

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 49
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Broneil
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 20, 2014

Fulfilled my expectations

Everything was above average. The main complaint that I have is that I could hear the people in the room next door pretty easily in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Green Bay Greg
Business
Green Bay, WI
Feb 26, 2014

Great Hotel

Everyone is very nice, and bend over backwards to assist with any needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fleahair
Business
West Columbia, SC
Jun 24, 2013

Fun Girls Weekend

Our stay was wonderful, the online reviews I looked at before our stay did not do this hotel justice. The inside of the hotel is georgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LastMinuteBooker6
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 24, 2013

Great Hotel and only a couple of miles from Downtown

My friend and I did a last minute booking (booked the night before we drove to Charleston). It's only a couple of miles from downtownt, as well as a 15 minute drive to the beach. We usually would walk downtown for dinner (nice little 45 minute stroll), and took a cab back to the hotel. Cab only ran $5 or $6. The hotel was very clean, and staff friendly. Highly recommend it, and will consider it again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TF extraordinary VP
Business
Florida
Aug 27, 2012

comfortable

The Hotel is very neat ansd the rooms are clean and well appointed. It is a bit of a distance from the historical center o of Charleston but I was there for othere reasons and had worked in the city for several years so I knew my way around. It is a great value and I would certainly stay there again. The staff were lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

walk King Street....plenty of parking and beautiful shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nc
Apr 5, 2011

good

hung out at the bridge run

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, Tennessee
May 25, 2009

Old hotel with fancy new interor

This hotel was built in the 70's and the age of the exterior concerned me. Inside, the property was substantially renovated in 2007 and the renovation is well done and the rooms are well appointed. The best feature is the thermostatically controlled H&A for each room. I could not believe Marriott charged $9.95 per day for internet access. Pool and fitness room are small but in very good shape. Water pooled in the parking lot, which is cracked and in poor condition in places. I would suggest booking into the Marriott Courtyard which is an equally good location about 3 blocks away. The Courtyard is much newer. The Joe Ripley Jr. stadium is two blocks away and the central police station is two buildings down. The lobby is striking-- just gorgeous and many rooms have view of the Charleston Harbor. I liked the hotel, but the owners should bring the exterior and parking lots up to the same grade as the striking interior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Baseball stadium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top