$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 4, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Charleston Marriott

4 stars
170 Lockwood Boulevard, 170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
47 reviews
Great getaway

Every time we visit Charleston, we always stay at the Marriott. The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • Clara Patel
  • Apr 24, 2014
Fabulous weekend getaway

Wonderful staff, clean, comfortable room, excellent amenities. The Marriott is a great place to... See full review

  • Nicobella
  • Aug 5, 2013
Charleston hotel conveniently-located downtown for events and meetings
The Charleston Marriott provides supreme service and sophistication. It is just minutes from everything the city has to offer, from historic homes and museums to Charleston's best restaurants. Charleston's hospitals and medical centers are just a few blocks away. The Charleston Marriott also hosts weddings, conventions and business meetings.

 

Highlights
  • Three on-site restaurants, two of which are open for breakfast
  • Rooms have LCD TVs and digital connectivity panels
  • Landscaped courtyard
  • Business center with computer, printer, Internet

Rooms
All rooms at the 14-floor Charleston Marriott feature wired and wireless Internet access (fees apply), dual-head shower massager and granite vanity. Some rooms have views of the Ashley River, while some have balconies. Some of the 341 rooms and six suites have kitchenettes and dining areas.
Features
Charleston Marriott guests have free use of the outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and a bright and sunny state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Parking on site is free, plus valet parking is available (fees apply).
Dining
There are three restaurants at the Charleston Marriott: Saffire Charleston's Oven serves innovative, American-fusion cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Aqua Terrace, a rooftop lounge, is open for dinner and offers cocktails with brilliant views of the Ashley River. The Daily Grind is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner and features Starbucks coffee and light fare. Room service is available 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.
Transportation
  • Charleston airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Just off U.S. 17
  • Transportation available to historic downtown Charleston (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Charleston Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (9.7 mi/15.6 km)

Business
  • Nearly 50,000 square feet of event space including the 9,680-square-foot Crystal Ballroom
  • 15 meeting rooms totaling 20,547 square feet
Policies and fees
No pets. No smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Marriott also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.2 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.5 mi
  • Theater99: 1.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.8 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.2 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.5 mi
  • Theater99: 1.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 1.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1.9 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Port Charleston: 1.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2.1 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 7.4 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 9.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 13 mi

Dining

Saffire Restaurant & Bar
No need to search along the Charleston waterfront for a memorable dining experience - just step into Saffire Restaurant & Bar, right here in the hotel. Sample eclectic cuisine, complemented by a glass of wine from our extensive collection.
Aqua Terrace Roof-Top Bar
If watching the sun set over Charleston, SC while dining on delicious American fare appeals to you, then you'll love Aqua Terrace. Our rooftop restaurant and bar features creative cocktails and cuisine. It's a great place to gather with friends.
Daily Grind
Sip a cup of Starbucks® coffee and enjoy wireless Internet access at our casual coffee house. Daily Grind is open all day - drop in and stay for a while.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Marriott

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LastMinuteBooker6
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 24, 2013

Great Hotel and only a couple of miles from Downtown

My friend and I did a last minute booking (booked the night before we drove to Charleston). It's only a couple of miles from downtownt, as well as a 15 minute drive to the beach. We usually would walk downtown for dinner (nice little 45 minute stroll), and took a cab back to the hotel. Cab only ran $5 or $6. The hotel was very clean, and staff friendly. Highly recommend it, and will consider it again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pazzo
Business
SC
May 29, 2013

Marriott Rocks!

My stay at the Marriott near the marina was just about perfect. Nice beds with huge fluffy pillows, TV only gets a few stations and they charge $10.00 for internet access which they need to offer free in the future. There's also a bottle of sparkling water on the bathroom counter which they'd love to sell you for $3.00- no thank you. The room rates are fairly high, so I believe that the internet should be no charge, and throw in the water, too. Great place to stay although it's away from the historic district, but only a few minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ducktor Dan
Business
north central Ohio
May 6, 2013

Business and pleasure

I chose this hotel based on its location to the MUSC and pool/fitness center. Pool looked nice and fitness center was pretty decent. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Hallway carpet was in very bad shape. Water pressure in the shower was a joke. Coffee shop was decent and bartenders were friendly. I will try a different hotel on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charleston Fan 9
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 22, 2013

Room was good for the price, but a number of inconveniences

The room was spacious and clean, and the hotel lobby looks really pretty. It's also nice that parking is free. However, the hotel itself is a bit out of the way from downtown Charleston, and they charged $10 for internet PER DEVICE. I found the latter to be particularly annoying in this day and age, where free wifi is pretty much expected at hotels. My fiance and I had to pay $20 to use internet just for a day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy in Charleston
Business
Charleston, S.C.
Dec 19, 2012

Too expensive

maid service missed the room on the first day. Lounge and pool area were under construction. Ordered a smoking room on website but hotel said they had no smoking rooms in hotel. Hotel was overbooked for Saturday night parties and there were no available parking spots on the property had to park next door. They have a lot of work to do to make this a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hinsdale housewife
Business
Chicago
Sep 5, 2012

Great place to stay

Hotel was very clean and rooms were well appointed. Shuttle service a plus, will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dede22
Business
massachusetts
Sep 4, 2012

mediocre

glad we only booked for one night. room was stuffy- air conditioning poor, no free wifi like all of our other hotels, no free breakfast like other hotels - pool ok nothing special. and finally our windshield was broken in parking lot. will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TF extraordinary VP
Business
Florida
Aug 27, 2012

comfortable

The Hotel is very neat ansd the rooms are clean and well appointed. It is a bit of a distance from the historical center o of Charleston but I was there for othere reasons and had worked in the city for several years so I knew my way around. It is a great value and I would certainly stay there again. The staff were lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

walk King Street....plenty of parking and beautiful shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rke1254
Business
Harrisburg, NC
Aug 1, 2012

Beach and Sumter trip

We had the best time. The staff was so helpful in giving us info on how to get to where we wanted to go. Loved the hotel. I'll be going there again on future visits to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSTeacher
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 1, 2012

Charleston Marriott

We stayed one night after our cruise before we made our trip home. The atmosphere was modern and colorful. The room was clean and spacious. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top