$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Charleston Marriott

4 stars
170 Lockwood Boulevard, 170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
56 reviews
Great getaway

Every time we visit Charleston, we always stay at the Marriott. The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • Clara Patel
  • Apr 24, 2014
Fabulous weekend getaway

Wonderful staff, clean, comfortable room, excellent amenities. The Marriott is a great place to... See full review

  • Nicobella
  • Aug 5, 2013
Charleston hotel conveniently-located downtown for events and meetings
The Charleston Marriott provides supreme service and sophistication. It is just minutes from everything the city has to offer, from historic homes and museums to Charleston's best restaurants. Charleston's hospitals and medical centers are just a few blocks away. The Charleston Marriott also hosts weddings, conventions and business meetings.

 

Highlights
  • Three on-site restaurants, two of which are open for breakfast
  • Rooms have LCD TVs and digital connectivity panels
  • Landscaped courtyard
  • Business center with computer, printer, Internet

Rooms
All rooms at the 14-floor Charleston Marriott feature wired and wireless Internet access (fees apply), dual-head shower massager and granite vanity. Some rooms have views of the Ashley River, while some have balconies. Some of the 341 rooms and six suites have kitchenettes and dining areas.
Features
Charleston Marriott guests have free use of the outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and a bright and sunny state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Parking on site is free, plus valet parking is available (fees apply).
Dining
There are three restaurants at the Charleston Marriott: Saffire Charleston's Oven serves innovative, American-fusion cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Aqua Terrace, a rooftop lounge, is open for dinner and offers cocktails with brilliant views of the Ashley River. The Daily Grind is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner and features Starbucks coffee and light fare. Room service is available 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.
Transportation
  • Charleston airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Just off U.S. 17
  • Transportation available to historic downtown Charleston (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Charleston Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (9.7 mi/15.6 km)

Business
  • Nearly 50,000 square feet of event space including the 9,680-square-foot Crystal Ballroom
  • 15 meeting rooms totaling 20,547 square feet
Policies and fees
No pets. No smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7874 -79.9585
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Marriott also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.2 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.5 mi
  • Theater99: 1.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.8 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.2 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.5 mi
  • Theater99: 1.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 1.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1.9 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Port Charleston: 1.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2.1 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 7.4 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 9.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 13 mi

Dining

Saffire Restaurant & Bar
Enjoy the finest in healthy, fresh dining at Saffire Restaurant & Bar, located in our waterfront hotel. Pair your meal with a glass of wine from our superb collection. A meal at our restaurant is sure to be one of the highlights of your Charleston visit!
Aqua Terrace Roof-Top Bar
Gather with friends at Aqua Terrace and enjoy the sunset from our rooftop bar. We offer handcrafted cocktails, tempting dining, and a magnificent view of the Charleston, SC waterfront. You'll soon see why this rooftop restaurant is so popular.
Daily Grind
Make friends and get your caffeine fix at the same time. Daily Grind at the Charleston Marriott proudly brews Starbucks coffee and offers wireless Internet access for business travelers and social surfers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Marriott

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Green Traveler
Alexandria, VA
Aug 11, 2013

One Night Stay

No complaints except price was too high for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Virginia's on King is a good solid restaurant.

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicobella
Atlanta, GA
Aug 5, 2013

Fabulous weekend getaway

Wonderful staff, clean, comfortable room, excellent amenities. The Marriott is a great place to stay for a weekend getaway in Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't drive. Take the hotel shuttle--for $6, it'll drop you in the heart of downtown.

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Daddy MGB
Charleston SC.
Jul 29, 2013

The mold room

The room had mold on the ceilings and throughout the bathroom. My wife is highly allergic to mold and mildew. The manager was called to inspect the room and he agreed that the room had mold in it where we showed him. He moved us to another room with a balcony and offered us a $50 credit. We thought we should been more compensated for our troubles. My wife's allergies are still bothering her from the mold in our room. Because of this I can't give a good rating for this so called four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S Leigh
Richmond, Va
Jul 15, 2013

WONDERFUL STAY!

This hotel was wonderful. It is not located in the heart of the market and therefore the daily rate was affordable and rooms were larger than those found more conveniently located to the market. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was great, offering a variety and quality of foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosette
Charlotte, North Carolina
Jul 9, 2013

Very nice place to spend time inside the hotel and close to the city amenities

The staff was professional and nice. We enjoyed our time in the hotel and it was close to other locations like the beach and downtown. We recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LastMinuteBooker6
Greenville, SC
Jun 24, 2013

Great Hotel and only a couple of miles from Downtown

My friend and I did a last minute booking (booked the night before we drove to Charleston). It's only a couple of miles from downtownt, as well as a 15 minute drive to the beach. We usually would walk downtown for dinner (nice little 45 minute stroll), and took a cab back to the hotel. Cab only ran $5 or $6. The hotel was very clean, and staff friendly. Highly recommend it, and will consider it again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fleahair
West Columbia, SC
Jun 24, 2013

Fun Girls Weekend

Our stay was wonderful, the online reviews I looked at before our stay did not do this hotel justice. The inside of the hotel is georgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pazzo
SC
May 29, 2013

Marriott Rocks!

My stay at the Marriott near the marina was just about perfect. Nice beds with huge fluffy pillows, TV only gets a few stations and they charge $10.00 for internet access which they need to offer free in the future. There's also a bottle of sparkling water on the bathroom counter which they'd love to sell you for $3.00- no thank you. The room rates are fairly high, so I believe that the internet should be no charge, and throw in the water, too. Great place to stay although it's away from the historic district, but only a few minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ducktor Dan
north central Ohio
May 6, 2013

Business and pleasure

I chose this hotel based on its location to the MUSC and pool/fitness center. Pool looked nice and fitness center was pretty decent. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Hallway carpet was in very bad shape. Water pressure in the shower was a joke. Coffee shop was decent and bartenders were friendly. I will try a different hotel on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charleston Fan 9
Washington, DC
Jan 22, 2013

Room was good for the price, but a number of inconveniences

The room was spacious and clean, and the hotel lobby looks really pretty. It's also nice that parking is free. However, the hotel itself is a bit out of the way from downtown Charleston, and they charged $10 for internet PER DEVICE. I found the latter to be particularly annoying in this day and age, where free wifi is pretty much expected at hotels. My fiance and I had to pay $20 to use internet just for a day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top