$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Charleston Marriott

4 stars
View map of 170 Lockwood Boulevard, 170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
46 reviews
Great weekend get away

Great experience, decided to take a mini family get away, and stayed there for one night. Very... See full review

  • Colombia10
  • Jul 14, 2015
Great getaway

Every time we visit Charleston, we always stay at the Marriott. The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • Clara Patel
  • Apr 24, 2014
The Charleston Marriott provides supreme service and sophistication. It is just minutes from everything the city has to offer, from historic homes and museums to Charleston's best restaurants. Charleston's hospitals and medical centers are just a few blocks away. The Charleston Marriott also hosts weddings, conventions and business meetings.

 

Dining
There are three restaurants at the Charleston Marriott: Saffire Charleston's Oven serves innovative, American-fusion cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Aqua Terrace, a rooftop lounge, is open for dinner and offers cocktails with brilliant views of the Ashley River. The Daily Grind is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner and features Starbucks coffee and light fare. Room service is available 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.
Rooms
All rooms at the 14-floor Charleston Marriott feature wired and wireless Internet access (fees apply), dual-head shower massager and granite vanity. Some rooms have views of the Ashley River, while some have balconies. Some of the 341 rooms and six suites have kitchenettes and dining areas.
Property features
Charleston Marriott guests have free use of the outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and a bright and sunny state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Parking on site is free, plus valet parking is available (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Three on-site restaurants, two of which are open for breakfast
  • Rooms have LCD TVs and digital connectivity panels
  • Landscaped courtyard
  • Business center with computer, printer, Internet

Nearby attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Charleston Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (9.7 mi/15.6 km)

Business
  • Nearly 50,000 square feet of event space including the 9,680-square-foot Crystal Ballroom
  • 15 meeting rooms totaling 20,547 square feet
Transportation
  • Charleston airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Just off U.S. 17
  • Transportation available to historic downtown Charleston (fees apply)
Policies
No pets. No smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.2 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.5 mi
  • Theater99: 1.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.8 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.2 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.5 mi
  • Theater99: 1.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 1.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1.8 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1.9 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Port Charleston: 1.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2.1 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 7.4 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.1 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 9.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 13 mi

Dining

Saffire Restaurant & Bar
No need to search along the Charleston waterfront for a memorable dining experience - just step into Saffire Restaurant & Bar, right here in the hotel. Sample eclectic cuisine, complemented by a glass of wine from our extensive collection.
Aqua Terrace Roof-Top Bar
If watching the sun set over Charleston, SC while dining on delicious American fare appeals to you, then you'll love Aqua Terrace. Our rooftop restaurant and bar features creative cocktails and cuisine. It's a great place to gather with friends.
Daily Grind
Sip a cup of Starbucks® coffee and enjoy wireless Internet access at our casual coffee house. Daily Grind is open all day - drop in and stay for a while.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Marriott

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rke1254
Harrisburg, NC
Aug 1, 2012

Beach and Sumter trip

We had the best time. The staff was so helpful in giving us info on how to get to where we wanted to go. Loved the hotel. I'll be going there again on future visits to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colombia10
Business
lyman
Jul 14, 2015

Great weekend get away

Great experience, decided to take a mini family get away, and stayed there for one night. Very child and adult friendly, the pool was amazing, great breakfast buffet, very clean spacious rooms. Would definitely recommend, and stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
broke and tired
Business
herndon, va
Aug 23, 2014

hot charleston

The hotel was beautiful and in a good location. Downtown Charleston is too congested. We got to Charleston way before check-in and the staff let us in our room anyway. We had time to go on two tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fashionista Beachbum
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 28, 2014

Romantic Couples Weekend

The staff was so welcoming and helpful! We arrived at 10am and requested early check in. Within 10 minutes, the front desk manager called me to say our room was ready! They gym was well equipped and provided water, apples and complimentary earbuds in case you forgot your own. Parking was easy and safe. As soon as you pull out of the hotel, you are right by the bridge to Folly and a mere mile away from Market square. Our hotel room was super clean. Due to a rain shower, we spent a few hours in the room and were pleased to find the alarm/radio with cell phone hookup to play our own music. All of the furnishings and amenities on site were an a plus in my books. Would have used the pool and rooftop bar if we could have stayed longer. Will definitely be going back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pearlz Oyster Bar! Phenomenal food.

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vrhodes
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 20, 2014

Great Stay

Really liked this hotel! Great staff, wonderful room and nice amenities! The free fireworks show from the pool and jacuzzi area was a bonus!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Broneil
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 20, 2014

Fulfilled my expectations

Everything was above average. The main complaint that I have is that I could hear the people in the room next door pretty easily in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randi Lee
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Jun 20, 2014

Quiet, Updated, roomy

The hotel staff was great! The hotel was very new and had updated features which were great! I particularly loved the saltwater pool. I do wish it was located in downtown Charleston but is only a 3 to 4 minute drive in. I believe they should provide free shuttle service to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nitrouspete
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 16, 2014

Good stuff

Great trip, good hotel for the price. Rooftop bar was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clara Patel
Business
Concord, NC
Apr 24, 2014

Great getaway

Every time we visit Charleston, we always stay at the Marriott. The staff is very friendly and professional. The resort is beautiful and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Green Bay Greg
Business
Green Bay, WI
Feb 26, 2014

Great Hotel

Everyone is very nice, and bend over backwards to assist with any needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charleston Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casey Jo
Business
Sumter, SC
Feb 19, 2014

difficulty with room

Room stuffy, no shower it was broke apparently before we checked in. We did not use it prior to Sunday. Faucet was broke had to move to another room to clean up before check out. Maybe stay again not sure. Stayed there many times before no incident

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top