$193 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
View map of 40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
88 reviews
Wonderful short trip with my son

Staff was amazing. Location perfect. Clean beautiful inn. See full review

  • Manju S.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Christmas Eve

I stayed at the Andrew Pinckney Inn for the first time this past Christmas Eve. Upon arrival I... See full review

  • patrick k.
  • Jan 5, 2015
West Indies style in Charleston boutique hotel
The Andrew Pinckney Inn offers many different types of rooms, each with its own character. The 37 rooms and four suites are decorated West Indies style. The hotel has free wireless Internet access, a state-of-the-art business center and a free continental breakfast served on the rooftop terrace. The three townhouse suites are two floors and have refrigerators. All rooms have flat-screen TVs. Many tours pick up guests right from the Andrew Pinckney Inn's lobby.
Highlights
  • Located in downtown historic district; walking distance to many attractions
  • Three-story, plant-filled atrium
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • St. Philips Suite has a view of the church through the suite's arched glass doors, private balcony and Jacuzzi
Rooms
Rooms at the Andrew Pinckney Inn are decorated in the West Indies style and all have 32-inch flat-screen TVs. The townhouse suites are two stories and the St. Philips Suite has a view of church steeple, a private balcony and a double Jacuzzi tub.

 

Features
Taxi, carriage and rickshaw tours pick up guests right outside the Andrew Pinckney Inn, which has an outdoor courtyard with a lion's head fountain. Guests have complimentary access to Eco Fitness (0.3 mi/0.5 km). There is off-street parking (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8 mi/12.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruise (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Park (including USS Yorktown) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation and Gardens (17 mi/27.4 km)

Business
Business center with high speed internet access, computer, copier and fax

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrew Pinckney Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Andrew Pinckney Inn Rooms

Queen Guestroom (Accessible)
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (Double Beds)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature two double beds. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (King)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature one king bed. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Junior Suite
Our spacious Junior Suites are beautifully appointed with an oversized sitting area complete with sleeper sofa, writing desk, and plush king bed. Located in the three story atrium of the Church Street Building, these Charleston accommodations feature a colorful birds eye view of the rooftops of Charleston. Each Junior Suite is appointed with modern in-room conveniences and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Cotesworth Suite
The Cotesworth Suite features a king bed and expansive sitting area boasting a comfortable sleeper sofa and chairs. Additional rich wood furnishings, including a separate wring desk, complement the traditional British West Indies color palate of light blues and soothing greens. Sun drenched windows fill the suite with an abundance of natural light and afford views overlooking historic Pinckney Street. The bathroom features a whirlpool tub, granite countertop, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
St. Philips Suite
This St. Philips Suite features magnificent views of the Market Street area and St. Philips steeple from the arched glass doors and Juliet balcony. Wrapped in the soothing light blues, sage greens and accented with exposed brick, the one-of-a-kind St. Philips suite abundantly provides both historic and romantic charm. The luxurious bathroom is enhanced with hand-laid Italian Travertine tile, granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures, and a soaking tub with spa-like shower combination. The suite offers premium in-room comforts and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Townhouse Suite
Our two story Townhouse Suites feature a downstairs separate living area which boasts a comfortable pullout sleeper sofa, half bath, and wet bar area - complete with mini-refrigerator and microwave. The upstairs master bedroom offers a king size bed and sitting area with writing desk. The full size bath, encased in hand-laid Italian Travertine porcelain tile, features granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames amenities. The Townhouse Suites are outfitted with a host of modern in-room comforts and amenities.
Queen Guestroom
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.7 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 88
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 4, 2009

Nice Location But Poor Service

The hotel (we were in the four-story building across the street from registration) was quiet...probably because few people were staying there. We won't stay there again, nor recommend it to anyone. Our room was casually maintained and visited by ants and palmetto bugs. BIG palmetto bugs. But, worse, the room smelled like fish for the entire three days we were there. When I mentioned that to the day manager he replied, "Huh. I haven't heard THAT one before." He did not investigate the smell at all...and I wasn't asking for any compensation for the inconvenience. But it sounded like he'd already been hearing complaints from other guests. Our flight on check-out day was at 5:55am, so we tried to set the alarm on the clock radio. It didn't work. When I mentioned THAT to the front desk, the reply was, "Well, you can request an automated wake-up call." I did, and, because we couldn't afford to miss our plane, I requested a human call at 3:30am to make sure. I was assured the night manager would do so, and I was assured we'd have a statement under our door by the time we checked out at 4am. Not only was there no bill (apparently we don't need one if we've prepaid through Orbitz...which the night manager didn't know), but the night manager forgot to make that wake-up call. (Fortunately I had an alarm program on my laptop.) When I entered the lobby to check out, the night manager looked up and said, "Oh, I was a bad person. I forgot to call you." Speaking of computers, the free WiFi is fine...if you can work with dial-up speed. It was slow enough to be useless for anything but short emails. We were only two blocks from Meeting Street or the marketplace, which was great, so I guess we were paying the high price for location and not for service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The town shuts down after 6pm, so shop early or get a good meal. Stickey BBQ is as good as Colbert says. Don't miss the first and only MoonPie General Store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nickname No
Business
Virgina
Dec 28, 2012

This may be our last stay with Andrew Pinckney

First of all, the Inn changed to "valet" parking and added a $20 fee per day to its overall charges, something that those of us who've stayed with them before were not expecting. Secondly, we got to our room and the staff was still in it, so we had to wait for a few minutes, even though the Lobby/Front Desk staff told us the room was ready. Then, I found that there was sand in the bed on the fitted sheet and that it was stained, which indicated the sheets had not been changed! Once reported, they moved us immediately, but the room we got had its issues as well. They told us we'd have a window, which was true, but the faux wood blinds were broken, so you couldn't open them properly to see out. The bathroom tiles were cracked and the grout was dirty. The carpet was dirty. No extra pillows. No where to plug in anything other than the bathroom because the outlets were hidden. I suppose that I could go on and on, but I just wish that the management would overhaul the Inn, make repairs, and alert the staff that going through the motions is not enough. I hope that the Andrew Pinckney will revive that "special something" that made them a great place to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
votantonio
Business
Luxembourg
Oct 1, 2009

sleeping on a B747: same soundtrack

Noise from outside fan/motor all the nigth Nice terrace for the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 15, 2008

The room was small and ...

The room was small and noisy........the a/c was difficult to adjust properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Also, close to the historic district and waterfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 26, 2007

Great location

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. Our only complaints were the tardiness of room's readiness at check-in and the continental breakfast was dissapointing. After checking-in after 3p, our room was open and only half cleaned. We had to kill more time to allow for the staff to finish cleaning and making the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jbp1998
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 15, 2014

Perfect location, poor customer service.

We had booked a regular room, but they placed us in a handicap accessible room with no windows and it was extremely small. It was awful!!! Even though our room stated it was a standard room, they still refused to move us or let us cancel our room. They claimed it was because we didn't book directly through them. Our online company on the other hand, had amazing customer service and worked with us to quickly get a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wedding tripper
Business
georgia
Jul 1, 2012

Great Location

Service was great, especially the woman who checked us in, gave us good information on where to go. Couldn't have asked for a better location, walking distance to the market and all the shopping and restaurants. As noted in other reviews, rooms and bathroom were small, not as bothersome as the low water pressure, which was a little frustrating. Walls were thin, you could hear people coming and going & I would recommend your own ambient-noise maker or something similar if you are AT ALL a light sleeper. The rooftop area was awesome for an evening drink if you have your own beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Let the front desk staff know what you're doing! They have tons of coupons for restaurants and tours that they can give you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Small hotel

A nice little hotel, but the rooms are small with no closests. The insulation was poor and there was a lot of street noise and some from other guests when they came back to the hotel late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyman's Seafood. Very good food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 19, 2009

Great if the bathrooms were clean!

the hotel itself was pretty nice. Our bathroom smelled like old urine, maybe it hadn't been cleaned well? Or maybe it was in the carpet, I don't know. The rest of the room was small but nice. The breakfast was simple, fruit, bagels, hard boiled eggs, coffee, cereal, etc. The front desk staff was a little rude; when I was asked for my credit card to put on file, I was told that it was just in case I was planning on trashing the room or stealing a lamp. Maybe he was just having a bad day, who knows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bowen's Island Restaurant was a great little spot for fish. It's on James Island, at the VERY end of Bowen's Island Road off of 171. A short drive from the hotel, but completely worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapin, SC
Jul 28, 2008

Interesting downtown location

This hotel is in the oldest part of charleston, sc and has been built out of an old stable owned by the Pinckney's back in the 1800's. Parking is with very small slots through a small opening in the hotel, so this can be difficult if you have a larger vehicle. Breakfast is on the top floor of this small hotel with a good view of the harbor. The one big asset was the ability to walk around the market in charleston to all the shops and not drive. We also enjoyed walking over the cooper river bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top