$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
View map of 40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shealy
Couples
Philadelphia
Jun 14, 2010

Charleston Gem

We loved this hotel! It's right in the middle of everything so it's accessible to pretty much anything you would want to do while staying in Charleston. The room wasn't overwhelmingly large but the quality of the restoration was great! Also, the rooftop terrace was really nice for enjoying the expanded continental breakfast in the mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Lexington, SC
Aug 16, 2009

"great locations and friendly staff"

Traveled to Charleston for a girls night out. Could not ask for a closer place to everything. Appreciated the complimentary soaps and shampoos(bath & body works). Great stay for the money. Would definetly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hymans seafood

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Charlotte, NC
Jul 6, 2009

Nice, but street noise.

The hotel has a good location in the historic district. The only downside was hearing street noise - not just people walking by, but a bar(?) dumping class periodically through the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
May 2, 2010

3 day getaway

It was a great trip. The location was perfect because it's close to everything downtown so we didn't have to drive except when we went to the beach. There were great restaurants, bars and fun things to do just outside our hotel doors. The only thing was the breakfast was good for the average person but I have celiac's disease so carbs are not my friend and almost everything on the breakfast buffet was bread related. Everthing else was great. I would go back and stay again at the Andrew Pickney Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hanks is right beside the hotel and we had a delicious meal there. There is a rooftop bar (market inn?) around the corner from the hotel which is great to sit outside have a cocktail and enjoy the view of the city.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
columbus, ohio
Aug 2, 2011

Very Good

Very nice place with a great location. Far enough off from the main noisy area, but very walkable. Close to everything. Service was very good. When we arrived we realized that the building we were in did not have an elevator, which is a problem for my wife who has two new kness. They moved upgraded our room and moved us to the bulding with the elevator. The entire staff couldn't do enough for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghost chasers
Couples
Richmond, VA
Mar 30, 2010

Old Charleston charm

Stayed in Charleston one night on the way to Kiawah. Found this place online and it looked like a good value and nice atmosphere. It exceded my expectations. It was different than I thought from the photos as it is made up of two buildings across the street from each other. We stayed on the first floor on the side with the registration office. The room was beautifully renovated and very nicely appointed. The bed was so comfortable that my wife jotted down the manufacturer so we could order one when we got home. The staff was wonderful and accomodating. The location was central to the areas we planned to visit (Market Streets, etc). The only drawbacks were that it was a little difficult to find if you aren't used to one way, old city streets. Don't trust your navigation system. Our room was on the street level which was fine until about 7AM when the street sweeper came by several times and traffic picked up. The continental breakfast is modest but held on a rooftop cafe area in the building opposite from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

East Bay Street is a short walk (3-5 blocks) and loaded with great dining. We ate at Cypress at the recommendation of a local friend and it was fabulous (pricey but worth it). Everyone in our party raved about their food. The atmosphere is a great mix of old warehouse and Manhattan chic. The wine cellar rises 3 stories and is something to behold. The waiter was extraordinary. After dinner we stopped by Social, a wine bar for the younger crowd. Their wine list is made of many unique wines that aren't found in most big box stores. The Rooftop Bar near Cypress was also a great place for a pre-dinner drink with a rooftop view of the city.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Aug 17, 2007

Great place for relaxing!!!!!

The Andrew Pinckney Inn is a great place to stay. The staff extremely friendly and acommodating. The room was nice. I would recommend them paying more attention to top bed linen. There were spots on decorative pillow cases. Spots on fabric chairs. The room smelled old. I had to purchase room deordorizer. Hotel was very close to shopping, dining, and the Harbor. The streets the Inn is on are was very quiet and very clean. Any time of the day, there was several beverages in the check-in area for the guest. Great staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but there are many located in walking distance. The Harbor is a few blocks away. Many historic places to visit within walking distance. And there is a sense of security. The people are very helpful and friendly. Transportation is easy. I enjoyed riding the trolley.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmarmie
Friends
Austin, Texas
Mar 19, 2011

Lovely room, great breakfast!!

Great location for restaurants, sightseeing, church,and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

My review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

AP was well located. Great rooftop deck. Breakfast too lacking and crowded. Dio not have enough seating. The toilet was so tight that I kept knocking the Tpaper in the bowl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Some good things

Hotel very convenient for walking downtown. However, hotel is really split into two buildings, one across the road from the main building, which we were in and had no atmosphere which we were looking for in a small hotel.A good free continental breakfast available on the 4th floor terrace of this building Rooms quite small but adequate for a short stay.Bathroom small Ask for a coffee machine if one is not in the room. There is some tight parking available on site for $12.00 per night and if that is full a convenient multi story only 50 yards away. A little pricey for the accomadation......but again convenient location especially if you dont have a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and good food short walk

Back to menu Return to top