$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
View map of 40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
86 reviews
Wonderful short trip with my son

Staff was amazing. Location perfect. Clean beautiful inn. See full review

  • Manju S.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Christmas Eve

I stayed at the Andrew Pinckney Inn for the first time this past Christmas Eve. Upon arrival I... See full review

  • patrick k.
  • Jan 5, 2015
West Indies style in Charleston boutique hotel
The Andrew Pinckney Inn offers many different types of rooms, each with its own character. The 37 rooms and four suites are decorated West Indies style. The hotel has free wireless Internet access, a state-of-the-art business center and a free continental breakfast served on the rooftop terrace. The three townhouse suites are two floors and have refrigerators. All rooms have flat-screen TVs. Many tours pick up guests right from the Andrew Pinckney Inn's lobby.
Highlights
  • Located in downtown historic district; walking distance to many attractions
  • Three-story, plant-filled atrium
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • St. Philips Suite has a view of the church through the suite's arched glass doors, private balcony and Jacuzzi
Rooms
Rooms at the Andrew Pinckney Inn are decorated in the West Indies style and all have 32-inch flat-screen TVs. The townhouse suites are two stories and the St. Philips Suite has a view of church steeple, a private balcony and a double Jacuzzi tub.

 

Features
Taxi, carriage and rickshaw tours pick up guests right outside the Andrew Pinckney Inn, which has an outdoor courtyard with a lion's head fountain. Guests have complimentary access to Eco Fitness (0.3 mi/0.5 km). There is off-street parking (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8 mi/12.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruise (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Park (including USS Yorktown) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation and Gardens (17 mi/27.4 km)

Business
Business center with high speed internet access, computer, copier and fax

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrew Pinckney Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Andrew Pinckney Inn Rooms

Queen Guestroom
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Queen Guestroom (Accessible)
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (Double Beds)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature two double beds. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (King)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature one king bed. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Junior Suite
Our spacious Junior Suites are beautifully appointed with an oversized sitting area complete with sleeper sofa, writing desk, and plush king bed. Located in the three story atrium of the Church Street Building, these Charleston accommodations feature a colorful birds eye view of the rooftops of Charleston. Each Junior Suite is appointed with modern in-room conveniences and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Cotesworth Suite
The Cotesworth Suite features a king bed and expansive sitting area boasting a comfortable sleeper sofa and chairs. Additional rich wood furnishings, including a separate wring desk, complement the traditional British West Indies color palate of light blues and soothing greens. Sun drenched windows fill the suite with an abundance of natural light and afford views overlooking historic Pinckney Street. The bathroom features a whirlpool tub, granite countertop, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
St. Philips Suite
This St. Philips Suite features magnificent views of the Market Street area and St. Philips steeple from the arched glass doors and Juliet balcony. Wrapped in the soothing light blues, sage greens and accented with exposed brick, the one-of-a-kind St. Philips suite abundantly provides both historic and romantic charm. The luxurious bathroom is enhanced with hand-laid Italian Travertine tile, granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures, and a soaking tub with spa-like shower combination. The suite offers premium in-room comforts and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Townhouse Suite
Our two story Townhouse Suites feature a downstairs separate living area which boasts a comfortable pullout sleeper sofa, half bath, and wet bar area - complete with mini-refrigerator and microwave. The upstairs master bedroom offers a king size bed and sitting area with writing desk. The full size bath, encased in hand-laid Italian Travertine porcelain tile, features granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames amenities. The Townhouse Suites are outfitted with a host of modern in-room comforts and amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.7 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 86
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Parry
Business
France
Feb 21, 2012

Nice location, bit dated

Its a nice place with a nice roof top breakfast. Jut the rooms are a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmarmie
Business
Austin, Texas
Mar 19, 2011

Lovely room, great breakfast!!

Great location for restaurants, sightseeing, church,and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Jul 12, 2010

Great Hotel

We stayed in room 301, it was a very cute corner room with a king size bed and lots of windows to let the light in. The roof top veranda was very nice at night and during breakfast! The Inn is conveniently located right next to the open air market and carriage tours. I highly reccommend checking out both and staying at the Inn. My boyfriend and I will be staying there again if and when we go to Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Carriage Tours give you a look at the city with loads of information to go with it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jumpint
Business
North Carolina
Jan 27, 2010

Wonderful location and filling breakfast

A great place to stay. We parked the car and it never moved until we left Charleston. Breakfast on the terrace saved us money from eating out every morning. This is a comfortable place to stay. It is welcoming and more casual than others like Frances Marion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Toast on Meeting St. We dined there twice for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, SC
Aug 16, 2009

"great locations and friendly staff"

Traveled to Charleston for a girls night out. Could not ask for a closer place to everything. Appreciated the complimentary soaps and shampoos(bath & body works). Great stay for the money. Would definetly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hymans seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradenton Florida
Jul 14, 2009

Lovely hotel -cold desk staff

The hotel is lovely and very well kept. Like a walk back in time to match lovely Charleston. The rooms were clean but a tiny bathroom (toilet/bathtub-shower)with the sink outside the bathroom. We had a two dbl bed room. The location is fantastic within walking distance of the market, shops, restaurants and the trolley stops. The desk staff was less than friendly (actually a bit rude)but overall the stay was quite nice. Price was good. A pool would have been a delight in the hot, muggy July weather but it was just as good without one. The desk/chair furniture was too big for the room and would have made it roomier with a small desk and chair. The placement made the room tight to move around in with our suitcases and purchases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Sticky Fingers and had no wait at all. Service was excellent and food was quite good. Just down the street people waited for a long time to eat seafood and sat out on the HOT sidewalk for their tables. Too hot for us. Lots of places to eat though within easy walking distance down near the market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lite Weight
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 13, 2009

Ultimate Boutique Hotel Experience

Excellent hotel, perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 9, 2009

I can't wait to go back

Fantastic location. Walk to famous attractions, shops, and restaurants. Close to carriage tour station. Rooftop terrace where breakfast is served has view of the cruise ship harbor. Beds were exceptionally comfortable. We had to leave at 5:15 am to catch our plane, and even then,the lobby had fresh hot coffee in disposable travel cups available for us. Efficient and effective air conditioning with individual room controls. We appreciated the small business center with on-line service which we used to print boarding passes for our return flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport News, VA
Aug 2, 2007

Fantastic Fun in Charleston

The Andrew Pinckney Inn was very quaint and nicely decorated and clean. The British Colonial furniture was so tasteful, and I felt like I was in a much more expensive hotel. We enjoyed the cookies and tea in the afternoon. On the deck where a daily continental breakfast is served, we went with our glasses of wine to play Scrabble and enjoy the late afternoon breeze. The Inn is so convenient to everything that we didn't even need a car. I look forward to visiting again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The horse and carriage tours is just down the block as well as the market where local crafts are sold. Restaurants, coffee shops and pubs galore are all within walking distance. Shopping is all around the hotel-- from art galleries to The Pottery Barn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top